We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean rooms and very helpful staff, but bring your ear plugs.......”
Review of Coolabah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coolabah Hotel
Ranked #19 of 80 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Spotless modern room with great bathroom, something you would expect in a European hotel. Minimal styling with limited Khmer influence means once inside, you could really be anywhere in the world.

The Aussie owners could not be more helpful, with maps, good advice, good tuk tuk drivers and really helpful with onward travel plans. We didn't eat at the Restaraunt, but was always busy and the lounge a relaxing place to hang out.

Whilst in a great location, the downside is the noise. The doors would stop a rhino but the windows are normal, which doesn't help with sound proofing. The nightclub next door really cranks the music out (although does turn it down later) and we had swarms of kids in the central pool early in the morning, so no early nights or sleep in's to be had. Ear plugs are a must!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellin-youngies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

478 - 484 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2010

We stayed her in October which is the rainy season and yes it rained often.
The hotel has a nice pool, small and not a lot of chairs. All the rooms overlook the pool.
A point that drove us mad and has nothing to do with actual hotel was the family with little girls that got up every day at 7 am and the kids got in the pool and screamed (no exaggeration ear piercing screams) for hours. Just a consideration since all rooms face the pool.
Food was good but service was extremely slow.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingcanadians14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Great place, great location, negotiable prices, very helpful staff!

We were going door-to-door looking for a reasonable place to stay in this location and this was the oasis in amongst some cheap, but not so cheerful, other options. More than happy. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dOT_Ozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

.All staff and management were really friendly and helpful. Food was good too. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Pool had a great swimming workout machine. Douglas and Tim (owner/manager) very knowledgeable about the area and give great advice on where to go.

There was noise from local club late evening, but come midnight the music stops (but the bars stay open) - so good for a quiet night (for people like us) and good for those who want to stay out late.

The beach we went to (a 5 min tuk tuk drive away) was amazing. beautiful and only 4 people on the whole beach, but is was just before tourist season)

In summary we had a great time there and would stay at coolabah again as first choice.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuRich2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Had a great time here. Lovely owners, Verona and Douglas who went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and fun. Tim their right hand man who makes everyone feel comfortable and at home. (sometimes too much!) we came for 2 nights and stayed 7. Delightful staff, hi Ken, Tre and all. The food is very good, try the Kep soft shell crab with green pepper sauce. All seafood hand picked at the market by Verona herself. Room, bathroom very clean, fresh and new also a new swimming pool. Monday trivia night great fun even if rigged with local trivia sharks! ("just jokin"). Go to Otres beach by tuk tuk much quieter and nice cafes on beach also.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madamasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

After travelling around Cambodia for over 2 weeks we arrived at the Coolibah for 2 nights. Ended up staying around 8 nights. What a great little resort. A special thanks to v and douglas for making us so welcome. Their staff are excellent, and our stay was so memorable. Great food (although portions for entrees were a little big). Excellent value for money compared with anything else in town. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone. Once again, thanks a lot for a memorable stay. Cherers Tony Hendy. Ballarat. Australia.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAFFYBallarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

My husband and I stayed here with our son and his mate in August.We new what to expect as on a previous visit to Sihanoukville my husband and I had checked the Coolabah out. We usually travel around S.E.Asia a couple of times per year and mostly stay in 5 star hotels where possible. We chose to stay at the Coolabah because we thought it was great value for money especially for the boys who were on a budget. I can not understand people who complain about this place. No- it is not a 5 star resort. If you want 5 star stay at Sokha Beach resort and pay 5 or 6 times the price.The rooms are clean and comfortable. The food at the restaurant is delicious and very inexpensive. As for the staff we found them to be all extremely friendly and helpful. There was construction work going on but that was no problem as it was during the day. Someone commented that for the same money you could stay at an elegant resort down the coast. I would like to know what it is called and where it is? Our son thought it was a great place to stay. It is in an excellent location ,close to the beach and other nightlife. But if you are feeling a little tired or hungover you can stay at the hotel and play pool, watch T.V. on one of the 84 or so channels, just chill in the lounge/restaurant or have a massage or facial at the spa. It is a no frills, clean,comfortable and great value for money hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
2 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 80 in Sihanoukville
709 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#23 of 80 in Sihanoukville
372 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sok Sabay Resort
Sok Sabay Resort
#6 of 80 in Sihanoukville
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#8 of 80 in Sihanoukville
1,623 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#2 of 80 in Sihanoukville
574 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sahaa Beach Resort
Sahaa Beach Resort
#5 of 80 in Sihanoukville
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolabah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolabah Hotel

Address: 14 Mithona St, Ochheuteal Beach Road, Sihanoukville SHV1, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 80 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Price Range: £38 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coolabah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new international standard hotel by Ochheuteal Beach offering well-appointed stylish rooms with luxury bathrooms and quality fixtures. Famous Seafood Terrace specializing in fresh seafood and Australian steaks including their own Aussie Meat Pies. Their air-conditioned Outback Bar/Lounge is great with live music throughout the week and a popular Pub Quiz on Monday Nights. The Jacuzzi Plunge Pool is a fabulous addition with massages and beauty treatments available. Well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coolabah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing