We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and clean”
Review of Coolabah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coolabah Hotel
Ranked #18 of 74 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant and clean”
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Nice place. Huge breakfasts tho service is a bit erratic (I walked out one day after waiting for ages just to be acknowledged- the next day, super!). Mix of guests. Room spotless and well arranged. Great showers and beds. Disappointed in lack of WIFI (they said it was a temporary problem) and wouldn't recommend the rooms on the ground floor which face the pool. In the morning it was screaming children and in the evening it was folks in the bar. Never forget the earplugs.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    230
    99
    37
    17
See reviews for
51
252
90
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

I stayed at the Coolabah Hotel for two weeks and loved every minute. The rooms are well appointed and very clean.The bathrooms are really excellent, modern and spacious. The top two floors have lovely views over the ocean.
The Hotel is excellently situated just back off the beach area, close to supermarkets, nightclubs, resturaunts, casino's etc. Hotel TukTuks are available day and night to get you to the markets, temples etc. Seriously I cant think of anything lacking in my stay there and definately recommend the Coolabah to all travellers to Sihanoukville regardless of age or sex, group or single. Belive me you will love it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzannWatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, england
Level Contributor
171 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

This hotel appears as an oasis of quality and calm just off the busy main street approaching Occheutal Beach. Its welcoming, clean, has good sized rooms (we has a balcony room on the 3rd floor) and has an excellent restaurant. There are a couple of good restaurants on the main street (and following the hill down, we had some first rate and very cheap BBQ fish at the first shack we found). But generally the area seems focussed on backpackers with an emphasis on cheap beer in noisy bars and "western" food).The first 500 yards of the beach is hellish with wall to wall sunbeds and vendors - but beyond that idylic (if lacking shade). I suspect that the market is changing and in years to come will be much more mid-range. But I'm criticising the town not the hotel which, I repeat, was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taxdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We stayed in a superior room at the Coolabah hotel for 4 nights. The clean room had a modern bathroom and the bed was very comfortable! Also the staff was friendly and the food in the restaurant was good. Compared to other hotels we stayed at in Cambodia the Coolabah hotel was a bit overpriced, but the nice room made up for that.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingriddv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sechelt, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

We've been travelling for one month in Vietnam and Cambodia. We booked this hotel based on the reviews and they were right. The rooms and bathrooms are large, modern and spotless. The owners are visable and helpful as are all the staff. Room 29 and a few others have wonderful views of not only the pool but the ocean as well. The restaurant is also excellent. We were looking for down time and this place is perfect.

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 6917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Excellent hotel! Friendly staff with talent of English. the breakfast is excellent and good value. Our room was spacious and clean. Nothing really problem. Would book again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shuaiyuan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Great hotel! Owners were wonderful and very helpful. Visible every day and the father/son managing team were fantastic. Very attentive, very friendly... great food. Room was wonderful and the view from the roof was phenomenal. Can't wait to go back and see the finished place. Was finishing the pool when there. Highly recommend Coolabah!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiloideas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.4 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#3 of 74 in Sihanoukville
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Reef Resort
Reef Resort
#16 of 74 in Sihanoukville
449 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#9 of 74 in Sihanoukville
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Sok Sabay Resort
Sok Sabay Resort
#8 of 74 in Sihanoukville
90 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#17 of 74 in Sihanoukville
116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#21 of 74 in Sihanoukville
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolabah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolabah Hotel

Property: Coolabah Hotel
Address: 14 Mithona St, Ochheuteal Beach Road, Sihanoukville SHV1, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 74 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coolabah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new international standard hotel by Ochheuteal Beach offering well-appointed stylish rooms with luxury bathrooms and quality fixtures. Famous Seafood Terrace specializing in fresh seafood and Australian steaks including their own Aussie Meat Pies. Their air-conditioned Outback Bar/Lounge is great with live music throughout the week and a popular Pub Quiz on Monday Nights. The Jacuzzi Plunge Pool is a fabulous addition with massages and beauty treatments available. Well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coolabah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing