We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quietest around Sihanoukville”
Review of Otres Beach

Otres Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quietest around Sihanoukville”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

After spending a night on packed Serendipity Beach, we decided to go out and stay on the more secluded Otres Beach and we were definitely rewarded for our decision! Otres was a nice retreat from the more busy beaches in Sihanoukville. Most of the hotels/ bungalows on the beach were empty. Otres was also more geared towards the backpacking crowd as most of the people we met there were of the like. The only down side is the relatively long drive back into town for any supplies as there wasn't a a place to buy toiletries or groceries. So my advice would be to stock up before you go!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Devin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,849 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,452
    970
    302
    78
    47
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
victoria
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“awesome”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Clean pristine beach with gauranteed sun,Comfortable lounging in abundance

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank joecanadaVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Welcome escape from sleazy sinoukville”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

If you find yourself down on the beaches of Cambodia, this is where you want to be. Do yourself a favour and skip serendipity which is a loud, sleazy hole. The fact that it is a little 'out the way' (15mins $4-$5 from serendipity) down a dirt road is the reason why it still maintains it's dignity and natural beauty. Unfortunately there still is some rubbish creeping in on the beach which would be easily solved if the bungalow owners cleaned their section every day. But this place has the most beautiful beach overlooking the islands and some great basic bungalows. We stayed at zen which was $12 a night but had a great atmosphere and the food from the French chef was the best we'd had in Cambodia. You can hire kayaks and sail boats next door as well. It is on the southern end of otres which I would suggest if you really want some R&R, which I must say we really needed after 2 sleepless nights in dingy serendipity.
The beaches in Cambodia will never compare to Thailand or Bali but this place is worth the visit if your down this way and is the best by Cambodian standards, so check it out before the developers move in. I just pray for otres sake that the business owners here have more of a social conscience than on serendipity and ochietal, and leave the natural beauty as the main attraction. Without it this place is nothing.

Helpful?
1 Thank LuxeNomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
163 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A nice beach when it's clean”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This beach is quieter and cleaner than Serendipity but there are still plenty of bars.
The beach itself is lovely but it can be full of rubbish. The day I arrived I was pretty shocked at the state of it: bottles, plastic bags, straws etc strewn all along the seafront. The next few days it was cleaner and I did see some people cleaning it, so it's probably just luck if you're there when it's clean or not.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank stellalocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portugal
Level Contributor
241 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Less developed”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

At the Southern end of Ochheuteal Beach is Otres which is similar being long and sandy but far less developed with only a dozen or so bars and restaurants. After dark is can be difficult to get transport back to town.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank nickyportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Otres Beach also viewed

Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 

Been to Otres Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing