We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downmarket and overpriced”
Review of AQUA family Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AQUA family Resort
Ranked #46 of 236 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Avoid this one. Basic, almost depressing rooms. Our bedroom (106) smelt of raw sewage during our stay & the water in the washbasin and toilet was brown. We found a bar of used soap in the shower, 3 dead cockroaches under the bed, and pubic hair on the floor (!!!)
For the price (25$), you can do much, much better.
Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaResortCambodia, Director of Sales at AQUA family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Sorry to hear your room was not as you expected. Our cleaning staff sweep and mop rooms every day. I have been in Sihanoukville a long time, and one of the positives is that there are no cockroaches around anywhere. I am not sure why, maybe its the weather conditions. I am happy that the only three sighted recently were dead.

As for room pricing, after govt taxes, exorbitantly priced electricity in Sihanoukville (30% higher than Siem Reap and Phnom Penh), cleaning, maintenance, staff costs, swimming pool upkeep, free wifi, there is very little meat left on the bone for us after selling a room for $25. Independence Beach Resort and Sokha Beach Resort have well equipped rooms for those looking for something more, but expect to pay $160+ per night.

Our aim is to provide a western managed hotel where you can relax and unwind in a peaceful and relaxing environment. Spend a day around the pool/bar area and escape the outside world and feel safe, secure and comfortable. All this for $25 per night is not over priced, especially considering the costs of providing these facilities and services. Many come to stay with as at Aqua for one night and end up staying a week. Please enjoy your holiday in Cambodia, but please be a little realistic about costs and pricing, where else in the world can you get comfortable hotel rooms, swimming pool, friendly service at these prices, Burma???

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for AQUA family Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2012

I am just winding up my visit to Sihanoukville and this is the fourth time I have stayed at Aqua Resort. I have been regularly visiting Sihanoukville for a dozen years and this has become my go to place to stay.

Bob, the owner is a very gracious and welcoming host....and his staff are lovely. I had the first poolside room right next to the kitchen. I was worried that it would be noisy, but it was so quiet that I did not bother moving rooms even when they became available.

The staff is terrific and they were extremely helpful assisting us with our young son, arranging tickets or a moto, and the food service was prompt and friendly.

There are now many hotel options at this price in Sihanoukville, but I keep returning to the Aqua because of the warm hospitality and value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camboforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We booked this Hotel online for 2 nights. Reception and welcome were quite friendly. However, from then on it was downhill. The hotel located in a quiet side street gets the full blast nightly from a nearby Karaoke Bar, starting around 19.00 - 24.00. Unfortunately there were power cuts during our stay at the hotel but not at the Karaoke Bar, One lasted about 6 hrs, the second from 18.00 until we fled at 09.00 next morning.We realize that power cuts here are quite normal but the hotel did little to alleviate the situation. Their generator could not start and apart from this there was no further explanation or attempt to rectify the unbearable situation. Furthermore because of the oppressive heat we had to keep the windows open. This allowed the noise in from 2 swimmers in the pool at 04.00 AM (pool closes 21.00) and the music coming now from a wedding - full blast again, commencing at 05.00 AM. Some of this may have been beyond the hotel's control. However a kind word or apology would have gone a long way.
The amenities were satisfactory but the bed sheets were threadbare, one could see the pattern of the mattress as there were no mattress savers.

Room Tip: Avoid it as there are plenty and less expensive accomodations all over the area
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelseale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

i stayed 4 night at aqua resort on new year ... the staff are friendly ,they give me a good holiday ,i will go back again on water festival .
the room nice on pool side but one thing i don't like is a cleaner very rude with her friend .
at the morning the swimming pool very nice ,i very in join it with my breakfast.
oh a bout the food ,don't forget to taste fried chili with beef .

Room Tip: pool side room number 110
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kez_egg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed one night at The Aqua Resort???? and left as our room was very smelly and the air con was on but it was cooler outside than in. The room was dirty - cigarette ash near the toilet and the cupboard for clothes was literally falling to pieces. We moved to the Serendipity beach Resort for a few dollars more per night and had a clean room, great air con and a 25 metre pool.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

According the reviews on TripAdvisor which are always very helpful we decided to spend three nights in Aqua Resort. After wonderful stay in Siem Reap we expected much more in Sihoukville. When we arrived there were no electricity in hotel, but it is normal in Cambodia. When we entered our room the smell of molds was so strong as we just left our bags and run away. We thought maybe when air condition will start working the situation will change. Unfortunately, the smell did not go anywhere and I couldn't sleep at all. After two nights we packed our bags and moved to Kept.
There were a lot of staff in Aqua resort but they didn't pay attention and Bob as an owner didn't seem customer oriented.
Just to good things can tell about Aqua: breakfast (for additional price) and location.

Room Tip: our room with molds was near the pool, probably they have better rooms on the second flour
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asvilnius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren W, Director of Sales at AQUA family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Power supply in Sihanoukville has become so unreliable recently that Aqua Resort has invested in a back-up generator to supply the hotel with electricity during city blackouts. We hoped the cities investment in a direct power line from Vietnam would secure a reliable power supply, but alas, this was not the the case. Our generator now ensures electricity 100% of the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I checked this place out on my last visit to Sihanoukville and it seemed alright. Nothing glorious or fancy, but certainly average/acceptable. The pool was relatively clean. The location is quite good and I was planning on staying here on my next trip (Khmer New Year) so I called to reserve a room. Their website clearly states the Low-Season price (March 1st - Dec 19th) is $25/night. Another review mentions this price as well

When I called to book a room the woman at Aqua said "Now Khmer New Year we raise price $5 so price your room $35 a night"

When I asked for a simple explanation as to why a $5 increase led to $35 when the website clearly lists the price as $25/night she replied "I don't know about Internet, you book there." Obviously they are just trying to squeeze an additional $10 out of customers. Granted that $10 is not a big deal, Aqua is also just barley average and not worth $35/night.

I understand that while it is short-sighted with regard to customer service, this tacky last minute price gauging is a part of Khmer culture. I had hoped however that a "Western" owner/manager would not have stooped so low and would honor prices on their website like the would be expected to do in any "Western" country. Shame on them.

Having stayed at: Golden Sands, White Beach, Coolabah, and Beach Road (all similar price ranges with pools), I would recommend all of them over this place for better value for money and customer service. Don't let the overly fluffy/nonsense reviews fool you, there are far better options available.

Room Tip: Give this place a miss and try Beach Road, Coolabah, or Golden Sands hotels for identical pricing an...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren W, Director of Sales at AQUA family Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

We are sorry this potential customer missed this important statement on our web-site "Long term discounts may apply and special rates may apply to public holidays."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.1 mi away
Miiya Hotel
Miiya Hotel
#23 of 74 in Sihanoukville
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moon Julie Hotel
Moon Julie Hotel
#31 of 74 in Sihanoukville
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bao Mai Resort
Bao Mai Resort
#33 of 74 in Sihanoukville
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Zana Beach Guesthouse
Zana Beach Guesthouse
#23 of 236 in Sihanoukville
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mick and Craig's Guesthouse
Mick and Craig's Guesthouse
#25 of 236 in Sihanoukville
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tranquility Guesthouse
Tranquility Guesthouse
#73 of 236 in Sihanoukville
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AQUA family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AQUA family Resort

Address: Kanda Street, Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 236 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Hotel Class:3 star — AQUA family Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AQUA family Resort is Cambodia's first family focussed boutique resort/hotel. Located just a couple of blocks from Ochheateal Beach in Sihanoukville. Some great value casinos are located nearby. We offer services such as free laundry and tuk-tuk transport around town and to the beach. We have a full bar and restaurant with pizza and a kids menu. Our large pool have a very large shallow end perfect for the little ones. Other services include child care so Mum and Dad can go out at a very reasonable rate. AQUA family Resort - Your Family Our Focus! Note Formerly the Aqua Resort, the property is under new management as of October 2014 with a family focus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your AQUA family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing