We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bungalows in Sihanoukville”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows
Ranked #26 of 233 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Oslo
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best bungalows in Sihanoukville”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is the best bungalows in Sihanoukville, with a nice view of the sea.

The rooms are clean and comfortable, Impeccable service, really nice staff and good value for money.

I will definitely be back there some day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beate-Kristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    38
    21
    16
    15
See reviews for
11
71
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We didn't stay here, but we did head to this bar almost every day for sunset drinks. It is a great spot on Serendipity beach with amazing breezes coming from the ocean, and the choice to sit right at the bar or on comfy chairs right on the ocean.

Their specialty would be fantastic cocktails, and they definitely put a lot of pride in making the best cocktails. Their bloody mary is by far one of the best I've had.

There isn't a kitchen at the bar, but they get their food from the Aquarium next door, which is great pub food, or, if you want, they will order you a pizza from outside.

Nick and Marie know what they're doing and it was not surprising that we saw people come back again and again over two weeks. They have happy hour prices all day on Wed and Sunday if you're looking for a deal!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EatnDrinknRoamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regenstauf, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Accommodation 4**** - 4 Bungalows. Spacious rooms with fridge, sitting area and verandah with beautiful views of the bay. It's on a hill but not too bad to climb - just a few steps. Mosquito nets provided. It's especially funny to view the booze cruise on Thursday afternoon. The boat is rumblin' and bouncing around and you might think it will fall apart every minute. :) If you are a light sleeper bring earplugs. Clubs next door can get loud until early morning.

Location 5***** - Resort sits on a hill and you can overlook the bay from your porch. It's located at Serendipity Beach and you can walk to Ochheuteal Beach. Restaurants, bars etc. are just a few steps away.Though it's a romantic setting if you're looking for a quiet and clean beach take a tuk tuk and go elsewhere.

Staff and Food 4**** - Staff is friendly and you can order everything at the bar which is right on the beach. We didn't try the food here. You have plenty of choice along the beach and in town itself.

Summary: It's a good choice to be right in the middle of the action. Resort is very nice. If you want seclusion better think twice. We liked it and we can recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan24f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Without doubt the most beautiful spot on Serendipity beach, bungalows with amazing views and we wasted away hours during the day just sitting and looking out from the balcony.
Also agree with other comments made about the bar/cocktails, superb and again no better spot on the whole beach to sit and enjoy your cocktail.
Now the negatives and I am going to be quite harsh as this was one of the most expensive places we stayed during our two weeks in Cambodia, I guess you pay for the view.
First is the unreasonable noise levels from other bars that neighbour the property, pointless base thumping from midnight till sunrise which vibrates through your body, do not stay here if you are a light sleeper, I fear for these bungalows as they are out of the price range of people who would enjoy the mad music and the mad music will put off the people who would want to stay in the bungalows.
The bungalows are pretty basic, the website sates they have been recently refurbished but the shower, TV and fridge were very much from the 1980's although they all worked fine, the drain in the shower room took a long time to drain away, left an unpleasant colour and the odour at times was not the sweetest.
No breakfast (which we knew about) but on reflection it would not take much effort for them to have offered something very basic or at least to have put tea and coffee making facilities in the room.
Location five stars, especially if you are deaf but accommodation and lack of attention to detail and the noise are considerably less.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne_kilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Very nice boutiquey rooms with nice balconies overlooking the beach. High straw ceilings/roofs. Two nice beds-rustic 4-posters with mosquito netting .. fairly romantic. Friendly helpful staff.

BUT be warned you are a quarter-mile from Serendipity Beach - a kind of Aussie Daytona Beach with loud blaring bone-ratteling base "music" from 10pm to 5am, when most people like to get a little shut-eye.

Although I'd give the Bungalows themselves 5-stars, the lack of any noise ordinance (not their fault) knocks it down to 2 stars.

Room Tip: The 4 seem to be all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnecticutPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Good friendly staff. Let us check out late. Had our own balcony and sitting area in it. It was noisy there but that's because you are staying on serdepitiy beach. Good for young people. If this place was cheaper it would have got 5 stars. Compared to other hotels in the area you can get better for your money. But it is still a nice place with a good sea bar.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ac4js
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Ok, the good stuff first. This place has the best cocktails in Cambodia. Maybe all of Asia! The location is quite beautiful and it's nice to be away from the craziness of the main part of Serendipity.

We were visiting at a busy time and accommodation was a little thin on the ground. We had been screwed over by one of the resorts on the island and needed to find a place to stay at the last minute and chose Above Us Only Sky as we'd had a drink there the previous night and the staff were friendly. The only available room was a twin and was $70 a night. That's A LOT in Sihanoukville. For that price we expected a bit of luxury but the room was basic. Nice, clean, but basic.

We then had the pleasure of a completely sleepless night as the beach-front nightclub a few doors down pumped out dance music at a billion decibels until 6AM. We moved hotels the next day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the night club as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reelouiseR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.1 mi away
Serendipity Beach Resort
Serendipity Beach Resort
#26 of 74 in Sihanoukville
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Villa Nataya Sihanoukville
0.2 mi away
Tranquility Guesthouse
Tranquility Guesthouse
#69 of 233 in Sihanoukville
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cloud9 Bungalows
Cloud9 Bungalows
#67 of 233 in Sihanoukville
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chochi Garden Guest House
Chochi Garden Guest House
#8 of 233 in Sihanoukville
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
8 Elemento
8 Elemento
#58 of 143 in Sihanoukville
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows

Property: Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows
Address: Serendipity Beach | 40meters From Boat Pier to Islands, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 233 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on Serendipity Beach, Sihanoukville, Cambodia. We have five detached deluxe beachfront bungalows with uninterrupted views of the sea and islands. Our bar serves beer in ice-chilled glasses, as well as an extensive range of the top cocktails we're famed for. Delicious local and Western cuisine can be enjoyed along with ocean views. Our bungalows have hot showers, fridge, fan or air-con, mosquito net, and free Wi-fi. There's also room to stretch out on the balcony for some chilled out days and nights, listening to the sound of the sea just below you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing