We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A tent stay on the beach”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sihanoukville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castaways Beach Bar & Bungalows
Ranked #84 of 228 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
uk
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A tent stay on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night. I was charged $5 for a tent, which I felt was a bit steep considering there were dorms further along for $6.

There aren't any showers, only big bowls of water, but it was fine for one night.
The menu is more expensive than the other restaurants and I ate in Footprints further along which was nice.

The staff were very friendly and lovely and I made use of the phone charging in the reception area.

Otres 2 is lovely, much more quiet and a night sleeping in a tent on my own was actually quite nice

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OukSreyka, Owner at Castaways Beach Bar & Bungalows, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
yes, there's a big bowl of water in the same room as the shower,but you should have asked and someone would have shown you the blue pipe with the faucet and shower head on the outside wall.

We're glad you had a nice stay at Castaways though. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    6
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
1
16
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

If you don't want to get robbed, then don't come to this place. Staff are thief's. Had my phone stolen right out of the bungalow when going for supper. Only people that knew we were going, and about the window that could not be locked properly, were the staff sitting ominously beside our place all night. When I reported it, the manager would not even look me in the eye, and said I probably lost it somewhere. Ohh and he also charged us $15 for a towel that was lost......

Room Tip: Just dont come here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radcona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OukSreyka, Owner at Castaways Beach Bar & Bungalows, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
You are accusing me and my family (who are my staff) of theft, but we are honest people and would never steal from a guess. I remember that you forgot your bags on the tuktuk that brought you here, and you forgot the towel (two, actually) on the island trip you booked. At the time you claim your phone was stolen (if not already lost with your forgotten bags), I remember this occasion, you were talking with my brother-in-law outside the bungalow, and I do not remember you going for dinner.


Guests leave us valuables for safekeeping all the time, and anything found or left around the grounds is safely kept and our guests' property respected.

We are sorry you had a bad time forgetting things on your trip. Blaming us is uncalled for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I booked a room at Castaways after reading about it here on TA - and to get away from all the tourists and noise for a couple of days.

Couldn't have been better. A driver picked me up from the bus station and I got a basic but comfortable upstairs room with mattress, fan and locker. Shared shower and toilet outside (no hot water). The bungalows were full. Even though I was really craving for some 'alone time', I enjoyed the atmosphere at Castaways. Ox and his family are really nice and make you feel at home immediately. So does the rest of the staff. In the evening they sometimes organize a BBQ for everybody or people just sit together at a bonfire. Food is a bit expensive though, but good.

It's about 15 minutes (by Tuk Tuk or motorbike) away from the crowded beaches close to Sihanoukville center. Nevertheless there are a couple of other guesthouses around, thus there are more people at the beach than I expected, but it's still ok ... a perfect place to relax for some days.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fhsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OukSreyka, Owner at Castaways Beach Bar & Bungalows, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Please come visit Castaways again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

I called Mr. Ox two days before we came down to Otres from Phnom Penh. He said he had two rooms available and would reserve them for us. But when we arrived he did not have the rooms. He is very disorganized with lots of books that he writes things in. He seems to be a bit confused most of the time. I would suggest not trusting a phone reservation; just show up and see if they have room.

We looked at a room in case we wanted to stay at a later date but we chose to find other accommodations. The whole place is a bit ramshackle. And the location is sandwiched in between two other guesthouses. I would give it a pass and look for something else on Otres.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BopperX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Lying at the far end of Otres Beach, they couldn't have picked a better spot to build their simple bungalows. The sunsets are amazing and the water is fantastic. Unfortunately they didn't put much effort into the construction of their buildings nor the maintenance of their property. The family who own and run the place are decent and the food was good. But, really, there's nothing special about this place other than the beach itself.

Room Tip: Don't bother getting an "ensuite" bungalow unless there aren't any others availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hpmatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OukSreyka, Owner at Castaways Beach Bar & Bungalows, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
It's no accident we couldn't have picked a better spot. Castaways was the first resort in this area of Otres, long before any other, so it's natural we would have picked the very best spot.


thank you for your review. Please come and visit us again. We have built some newer bungalows by the way; but still rustic and authentic like our original ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Had booked 5 days, extended to 7 for as long as possible to cach my flight home, and seriously considered to buy a new flight ticket to not having to leave.

Got a Bungalow 3 meters from the sea, spent the week mostly in a hammock, got the best home coocked Cambodian food and meeting the extremely friendly owner Ox and his family.

I'm doing a lot of travelling in my work around the world, mostly staying at 5 star hotels. Castaways is on top my list to stay.

Life really felt better at Castaways and can't wait to get back.

Thanks Ox.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OukSreyka, Owner at Castaways Beach Bar & Bungalows, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay here. We look forward to your next chance to visit, and long-term guests are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at Castaways for five nights, and wish we'd stayed longer. We loved it. First, about the actual bungalows. They're basic, very basic. You get a bed, some mosquito netting, and a very basic toilet, sink, and shower. It's "rustic" to say the least, but it's clean, it's right on the beach, and it works for this place. Mr. Ox and family will welcome you and make you feel at home. The food is excellent, and the family will have a BBQ every few nights for the guests. The beach is quiet, clean and beautiful, and Otres 2 is well removed from the mayhem of Serendipity beach. And you'll spend more on beers in the afternoon than you will on the price of the bungalow. You will be awakened by roosters, geese, cattle, and Mr. Ox's kids, but you'll feel like you're just one of the locals, far away both mentally and physically from whatever you're trying to escape... We will be back someday.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuggsyMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OukSreyka, Owner at Castaways Beach Bar & Bungalows, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
We thank you for the great review, and are looking forward to seeing you come again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
3.6 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#1 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
2.4 mi away
Otres Orchid
Otres Orchid
#37 of 138 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.5 mi away
Everythang
Everythang
#25 of 138 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Indigo on Otres
Indigo on Otres
#24 of 138 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pat Pat Guesthouse
Pat Pat Guesthouse
#8 of 228 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
3.5 mi away
Honeymoon Bungalows
Honeymoon Bungalows
#91 of 138 in Sihanoukville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Beach Bar & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Beach Bar & Bungalows

Property: Castaways Beach Bar & Bungalows
Address: Otres 2, Sihanoukville, Cambodia, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 228 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original bungalows on the southern end of Otres Beach (Otres 2), we have only ten simple units (three are doubles) but offer friendly family atmosphere right on the beach; some bungalows have en suite bathrooms. Amenities are restaurant and bar, pool table, cabana couches and hammocks and beach chairs, with other restaurants and bars nearby. Tuktuk service arrangeable from downtown Sihanoukville, bus tickets, boat tours and visa extension services, and kayak rentals. Long-term rates available. Free WIFI in large common area, works in some rooms but not all. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing