We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury it isn't” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Papillon d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Papillon d'Or
Ranked #137 of 231 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Bangkok
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Luxury it isn't”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

The hotel Le Papillon D'or aspires to the epithet boutique. The advertising blurb describes it thus, "Where Asian hospitality meets Western comfort" within a 'private, luxurious and exclusive environment'. Adhering to the accepted definitions of "boutique hotel" and the superlatives used to describe the place, one has to conclude, that the Belgian couple who run this place have failed comprehensively. This is not your 'gadget' boutique hotel, neither is it a 'stylish' boutique hotel. The nine roomed building housing this bed & breakfast is purportedly an ex governor's mansion which has been refurbished. Unfortunately it has been done in the 'modern' cambodian style, which translates as, everything is covered in tiles. The walls and the floors are tiled. Curiously enough, the ceilings are tongue and grooved in wood giving the impression that the room is upside down. In the bedrooms it feels as though you are sleeping in a kitchen or toilet. Easy to clean but not cosy and certainly not luxurious, either by asian or western standards. The wood fittings are fairly roughly and clumsily finished and overly lacquered. The furniture in our deluxe suite was cheap and sparse and the windows barred. It was in fact not a suite but a large room with bathroom: They don't have suites! Our air-con barely managed to maintain a reasonable temperature and this was in the winter season. The small restaurant is actually the bar housed in a compact and bijou belvedere, with a spill over area in a contiguous small arbor, both sharing a prime view over the adjacent equally compact swimming pool. Personally, I don't want to share my belgian steak tartare with a dripping wet, bulbous, swimming trunk clad Russian tourist! To house the bar and pool they have taken over and converted the small front courtyard between the main road and the house porch which originally would have been the driveway around a flower bed. Therefore, no parking, leaving your car vulnerable outside in the street. A claim could be made that a security guard will look after your car but we all know that they remain awake all night, don't we! At least most ex-pats in South East Asia understand this. The location also leaves a little to be desired as it is not really close to any of the beaches or to the entertainment and shopping areas. So, if you don't have your own transport this will involve continuous haggling over how many dollars you are prepared to part with to get practically anywhere. We walked to the nearest beach and arrived hot and sticky and most definitely would not wish to do it in either the hotter or hottest seasons. I have a tendency to dress down whilst on holiday and I noticed that the hosts at this establishment seemed hell-bent on making a competition of it. Jeans, shorts, and T-shirts are not a terribly stylish attire for waiters and bar staff, far less so for "Boutique" hotel management. Breakfast gave a choice of American, Continental or English. On this point I must be fair and concede that the management being Belgian may well never have seen an English breakfast although a luxury hotel team should do their homework before making such a poor offering. The single small sausage, two thin rashers of bacon and eggs were of good quality and tasty but there was no black pudding, tomatoes, mushrooms, beans, potato scones, hash browns or fried bread and so on! The (sweet) toast and watery jams were a disappointment. I cannot finnish without mentioning that they advertise a 'last person' bar, both in their literature and verbally in the welcome introduction. However, on the first night the bar was closed and mine host waltzed-off before midnight without even an offer of a final nightcap, explanation or apology. Poor show indeed! If you are used to staying in backpack hell then perhaps this place is your comfort zone as it is quiet and clean. To conclude; they may be confused in their terminology and actually be aiming for the "no frill chic' consumer fad, and in that alone they may just achieve!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanuman-Haa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    8
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Absolutely loved this place, was just perfect.
Was great value for money we got the deluxe suite. There was only one other couple there during our stay, so for us was perfect. Was so private, away for the backpacker tourist area, but only short tuk tuk ride. Is about 5-10 min walk to victory beach, which had few little beach side shacks to eat, beach was nice and clean.
Food at the restaurant was great we ate both breakfast lunch and dinner there.
Staff were fantastic both husband and wife helped when some urgent work back in aus needed to be done and let us use there laptop.
Also had a wonderful relaxing massage by the pool. Am booking to go back next year.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjobergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

If you are not on a budget and wishing to have a pleasant stay at Sihanoukville I would highly recommend this charming place run by couple from Belgium. I had wonderful stay for 2 nights and willing to come back.
This is definitely a nice place, from the beginnig when you enter you have a feeling like visiting old friends at nice mansion.
And the building is really nice with huge wooden staircase.
The building by itself is big but only 8 rooms available.
Although Le Papillon D'Or is located on the Victory hill - if you can drive motorbike you can reach any place within short time.
About the room I must say that it's spacious and spottless clean with very comfortable bed and new sheets and towels.
Decoration - is something like in an old mansion with nice Buddha face at the entrance.
Very comfortable veranda on the second floor where you can sit and relax in the evening listening to the noice of palms moving from the wind.
Swimming pool is refreshing after a long day exploring Sihanoukville.
The breakfast is very good with freshly squezeed juice, everything is served on nice porcelain.
Staff is very attentive and polite.
Disliked the grilles on the windows - but it's everywhere in Cambodia. Anyway I had a nice sea view from the window.
So I recommend this place if you are not on a tight budget and can pay an extra.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yar007700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed in le papillon during the cambodia low season. So we were almost the only guests in the hotel. But that didn't matter anything to the staff and owner, restuarant and bar were open and the food and drinks where deliscious. Andries you have a beatiful , quiet and perfect place to stay a few nights.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoogie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

This hotel / guesthouse has the potential be be really good, set in an old colonial mansion, with a great pool and bar area.
My wife and i stayed for just two nights, on arrival we found we where the only guests in the hotel, (quiet season) this is not a problem, but it does ensure there is little or no atmosphere in the hotel.
The proprieters did not help in this area, on arrival we felt as though we where imposing on them, and did not feel very welcome.
We booked the most expensive suite, and the bedroom was fine, the bathroom could have been in a $10 a night hotel, the toilet did not match the rest of the bathroom, the 'hot' shower worked some times and not others, the toilet leaked onto the bathroom floor, the hotels solution was to put a towel around it. Considering we where the only guests in the hotel it would have been helpful to have been offered another room, but no mention.
On our arrival we where informed that breakfsat is served between 8 and 10am, if it was my hotel and just tow guests i would have asked them what time they prefered breakfast.
In summary not worth the money , and with different owners has some real potential, at this time i would say there are far better choices in the area for less money - not good value.

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hubbleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

This is a great place to relax by the pool in a garden setting. We enjoyed our few days here. I can also recommend the massage.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lalunahinsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

We arrived late after a long journey from Siem Reap and were welcomed by Andries and Lien, the Belgian owner /managers. We were offered our choice of complimentary welcome drink. - Good start! There was a slight problem with our room, but this was resolved with no fuss, by a free upgrade. The hotel is a converted old Cambodian town house with wooden floors and a stunning staircase. Our room was huge, with a comfortable bed, air con and a flat screen TV. The spacious ensuite also had a bath - a welcome change from showers after a month of travelling. However there were only 5 hangers in the wardrobe. The bar, adjacent to the pool, was lovely, but I suggest that a few more comfy chairs / sofas would be an improvement. The meals and service were of extremely high standard, the local staff were well trained, courteous and helpful. I was surprised they didn't have a "tip box".
Andries booked our overnight coach back to Bangkok which saved us lots of time. We didnt realise that he was also happy to book/ arrange tours at no extra charge.
This small, comfortable hotel is situated in a quiet area at the top of Ekareach Street towards Victory Hill beach and is not yet well known. If you need some beach culture and night life, is only a 10 min tuktuk ride down to the lively areas of Serendipity and Ocheuteal beaches.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indochinatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.0 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#7 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#2 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Backpacker Heaven
Backpacker Heaven
#7 of 139 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le D'Artagnan
Le D'Artagnan
#3 of 231 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#1 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#3 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Papillon d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Papillon d'Or

Property: Le Papillon d'Or
Address: # 402 Ekareach Street, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Le Papillon D’or is a place full of serenity where travelers feel at home and feel like reborn after a cultural trip in Cambodia. The villa has 8 spacious rooms and a restaurant with Belgian specialties and Belgian beers. Spoil yourself with a relaxing massage next to the swimming pool and let all your stress go away. We warmly welcome you to have a pleasant stay in our hotel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing