We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed here longer!”
Review of The Small Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Small Hotel
Ranked #9 of 242 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Summary
Swedish run - the team here are really geared up for westerners, yet offer a different aspect on hotel-keeping, which is relaxed and refreshing, yet personal and comfortable.

Pros
GREAT food, reasonably priced. We ate dinner, and breakfast in the hotel (because it was convenient) - but breakfast was definitely a result of dinner being so good!
It's been around a long time, and has a good reputation locally - this makes it a landmark for taxis & tuk-tuks

Cons
Tin roofs in this part of town, make the (at times) heavy rains echo incredibly loud into the hard surfaces of the hotel, which carry the sound all round the hotel interior. It's all part of the experience.
Our budget room had a window which looked at a wall of a neighbouring property, the TV/Radio of which was on, and loud, from 5am - 1am.

Top Tips
Eat here. Sleep here. Be friendly, and make the most of the super staff in the family-run business.

Room Tip: If there is availability, try to be choosy. It's a small hotel (pun intended), and a popular one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyP_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is far from 5 star luxury but a simple, clean and efficient experience at the right price. The staff are well trained and very friendly and helpful (hi Chanda) - if your accommodation need is simply somewhere to rest your head in the midst of your travels rather than a travel experience in itself, then look no further.Decent restaurants in the hotel and at the beach add further value. Sihanoukville market and supermarkets within walking distance. Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JGJSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here just one night before heading out to Ko Rong. Good food in the restaurant. Was worried the bar might keep me awake but actually it did not at all - had a very good night's sleep here. The staff were all helpful and friendly too so that was nice.

Stayed: January 2557, travelled with friends
Thank Mat1lda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here for one night while waiting for a boat to Koh Rong Samloem. It's in the town centre which means it's a few kilometres from the main Serendipity Beach area. This could be seen as a blessing or a curse, depending on how keen you are on Cambodia's answer to Benidorm.
The rooms are very nice and good value for money and the reception area is very pleasant with a seating area and a large bookshelf. It also has a bar.
The hotel has a small beach restaurant at Victory beach and runs a free tuk tuk service there at 9am, which I would recommend. We went down there and got breakfast, which gave us a base for the rest of the day. The beach is much cleaner than Serendipity, less crowded and generally a more pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsLox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Only stayed one night, noise from the bar kept me awake, hard to sleep. To top it off woken at around 6am with deafening noise from machines doing road construction at the front of the hotel. Bed was OK, nice fluffy towels

Room Tip: Don't have a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Sihanoukville is probably not my first choice for a place to stay in Cambodia. It's generally catering for the younger back packer with it's huge number of bars etc. Nothing wrong with that, it's just not my thing. Not needing or wanting to be near the beach area, the Small Hotel is a good choice. It's also walking distance to where most of the bus companies drop off and pick up.

If you do want to go to the beach then I recommend taking the free tuk tuk that leaves the hotel at 9am everyday. It goes to the hotel's beach bar at Independence beach which is quite pleasant and not so crowded. It costs about 4$ to take a tuk tuk to the main beach area.

The rooms are pretty decent. The door on our bathroom didn't close but apart from that it was clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbie4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We are for here for I don't know which time, but we always come back to this Hotel. Mainly it is because of the staff, who are all so friendly and helpsome, but also for the excellent food. The portions are rather big and and the athmosphere are peaceful with many guests that are talking to each other, even if you don't know them before. This time we stayed at another hotel downtown, but had a number of meals at the Hotel in town or at the Small Beach restaurant on Independece Beach run by Mom and her staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ubbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
3.6 mi away
Don Bosco Hotel School
Don Bosco Hotel School
#10 of 80 in Sihanoukville
277 reviews
3 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#24 of 80 in Sihanoukville
371 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mama Clares
Mama Clares
#10 of 242 in Sihanoukville
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#22 of 80 in Sihanoukville
399 reviews
4.3 mi away
Spayhiti Guesthouse
Spayhiti Guesthouse
#1 of 242 in Sihanoukville
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Divers Hotel
Divers Hotel
#26 of 242 in Sihanoukville
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Small Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Small Hotel

Address: Downtown | Downtown, Behind the Caltex Station, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 242 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range: £13 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Small Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Small Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing