We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Benny's Boutique Hotel
Ranked #55 of 237 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I stayed for one night at Cheers during my recent trip to Cambodia and thoroughly enjoyed the time I spent there. If I was not running out of time on my holiday I would have stayed longer - next time I will certainly spend more nights as the rooms and facilities were excellent, as was the food and service. The well maintained swimming pool and well stocked bar were also great places in which to relax and unwind.

The hosts were also wonderful. Even if you are travelling by yourself, Les takes the time to introduce you to the other guests and makes everyone feel welcome so that by the time you leave you have made new friends. I look forward to returning sooner rather than later and meeting Les and his staff again. I also look forward to seeing one of the performances that I have heard so much about.

Sihanoukville was also a pleasant beach town to spend a few days of relaxing - and there is lots more to see aside from the beaches. The location of Cheers is also good as it is not right on the noisy hectic beach area so if you are looking for a quiet and secure place away from the crowds then Cheers is the place to be. To get anywhere in town, including any of the beaches, is only a short tuk tuk ride away and if you are arriving by bus then Cheers is also well placed for that too.

Overall I would recommend Cheers to anyone who wants somewhere quiet but where you know you'll have a great time and somewhere you look forward to getting back to in the evening after a day spent sightseeing.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlairW_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2013

Far from the beach and town center, this guest house is gay, but to be gay does not mean STUPID ...

All rooms are very spacious and very clean, when you call directly this hotel the price per night is between 80 / 90 $ without breakfast hotel without elevator sorry but is too expensive.

Why we can find better price on web site between 35/ 60 $ ?

ok friendly and charming staff , ok clean swimming pool

we can forget the distance and the price but tiles and concrete but is not cambodia

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Noguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheersCambodia, Owner at Benny's Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Whether straight or gay we at Cheers welcome all people who are honest & have integrity, which you obviously don’t have.

I think people will draw their own conclusions when they read your other reviews.

You phoned us numerous times during the day to confirm the booking (including the price) of our last 2 rooms at the very busy time of Chinese New Year. You seemed genuine (I was wrong) I am genuine & honest so I kept the rooms for you against my own policy (this won’t happen again) during the day I lost several other genuine bookings for those rooms.

You arrived much later than expected came in for 10 minutes & left without any remorse of losing us a great deal of money. Then you stayed in another place the same price as here or more expensive, depending on the room, just because it saved a 4 minutes drive (in your own car) looks like you really loved it there by your review (not really, ha ha)

At special holiday times ALL accommodation at ALL locations, prices go up, ours outside holiday’s range from $29-$69

Cambodia needs decent tourists to teach the correct values & standards in life to the local people, let’s hope you don’t come back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I returned to Cheers in January 2013. I previously posted a review last year and gave it top marks, but I thought I'd just update a few more observations.

The standards are still impeccable, the hotel spotless, the food great, and the staff most helpful.

There's a lovely guy called Steve now who manages the hotel in the mornings, so breakfast can be served earlier than last year. This enables Les to keep the bar open later in the evening if there are still guests requiring a drink.

There have been some changes to the other staff, but they're all great.

Again, this was the highlight of my holiday in Cambodia. I didn't want to leave and will probably be returning next year. If you're reading this and wondering if it's really worth the effort to include Sihanoukville in your trip...in my opinion it most definitely is. Fantastic place.

Additional -

If you find yourself eating out at the Italian over the road, then he now makes his own Limoncello and Orange equivalent which is absolutely delicious. He'll even sell you a bottle for $10.

I also ate out at a new restaurant called Niamh which is next to B-zone. They serve Asian food which I thought was exceptionally good. So good in fact that I did their cooking course the following morning, which was great. I think it was $25 and you do four courses. Recommended.

Thanks to Les, Steve and co for another wonderful holiday. Love the new ionised pool.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. I loved the room I had this time which was ground floor, facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andywlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheersCambodia, Owner at Benny's Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Thanks, it’s good to see in 2013 people still appreciate good standards, service & quality, looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

When planning our birthday trip to Cambodia, my partner and I stumbled upon the Cheers website. Even though it's scheduled debut wasn't until a week after our trip, they welcomed us with open arms and chilled champagne! This is but a hint at the hospitality and fabulousness that is Cheers Cambodia! Amidst all the craziness of the final construction, they still welcomed us into our immaculately clean room, with fresh fruit and flowers. This chic boutique hotel, with it's luxurious details and extravagant bar, is a destination in itself in the laid back atmosphere of Sihanoukville. Attentive staff, knowledgable concierge, on site security, and by the looks of the high-end kitchen being installed and it's decadent menu, Cheers Cambodia is a golden treasure at the end of any rainbow.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChaeAmando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheersCambodia, Owner at Benny's Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Hi,

Nice to see a review from you as you were our first customers / friends here at Cheers Cambodia, I know you are very busy & it’s very nice for you to find the time to give us a review, thanks.

I know you are planning to come back soon, you will see so many changes, including our fabulous chemical free swimming pool with 6 metre Jacuzzi & huge waterfall, many big improvements in many areas, in room safes, led lit shower heads, more gardens, changes to our huge bar with great drinks, music, music video’s & fabulous food, we are constantly improving & adding new features for the comfort of our guests, we are looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed only 1 night at Cheers but should have stayed longer. The hotel is very clean and the staff is very kind. The hotel has a large pool in front which was very enjoyable. The room rates are reasonable. If you are wanting to relax and have a good time, then Cheers may be the place. We enjoyed the bar and the staff was very friendly. Les, the owner, was very hospitable and kind to us during our stay. We would definitely stay at Cheers again. The breakfast was simple, fresh and satisfying. Thanks to everyone at Cheers for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Choose room 8 which is the room with a balcony and it overlooks the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Thanks for great time during the last night of the year 2012. Tons of fun in bar!!! It was my best New Years Eve in last decate! The accommodation is great, comfortable and clean. And our host Less simply unforbettable! Stay there, it is worth doint it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vaclav_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I stayed at this hotel during Xmas/New Year 2012/13 after hearing about the place from a friend.

I want to thank the wonderful host, Les and his staff for a great stay, I cannot think of anywhere better to spend Xmas/New Years Eve than Cheers. Travelling on my own, I thought it would be a bit of a lonely experience but I was mistaken. Les and his staff made me feel at home and a part of their family. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them.

The room was immaculate and deserving of a 5 star rating. The food available (Western) was fantastic and I would especially recommend their 'Super Burgers', Australian Black Angus Beef... Yummy! :-)

Great hotel aside, what makes a holiday really special is how you are made to feel as a guest.... and I have to give Les and all of the staff 110% on that score. I will definitely return to Cheers if I am in Sihanoukville again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.0 mi away
Coolabah Hotel
Coolabah Hotel
#17 of 76 in Sihanoukville
620 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#2 of 76 in Sihanoukville
389 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#9 of 76 in Sihanoukville
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#10 of 76 in Sihanoukville
668 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#21 of 76 in Sihanoukville
354 reviews
0.0 mi away
Whitemoon Bungalows
Whitemoon Bungalows
#11 of 237 in Sihanoukville
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benny's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benny's Boutique Hotel

Address: # 129 Street Borey Kamakor | Sangkat 3, Preah Sihanouk Province, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia (Formerly Cheers Boutique Hotel, Restaurant and Bar)
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 237 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range: £32 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Benny's Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benny's Hotel was formerly known as Cheers Cambodia, gay friendly resort. Now under new ownership, Benny's is not specifically marketed to Gay tourists. However you will be welcome to stay regardless of sexuality. Benny's Resort, Restaurant and Bar, where everyone is welcome. It is a short tuk tuk ride to the beach, about eight minutes to the main beach. With eight rooms, this property contains all the amenities and services you would expect from a 3.5-Star hotel. All rooms have Wi-Fi, LCD TV, in-room safe, as well as other amenities. Guests seeking exercise will find an Elliptical Cross Trainer upstairs. Our large swimming pool & Jacuzzi is chemical free, we are using the latest Ionizer which kills bacteria and algae giving superior water quality. No more red itchy eyes. No more dried out skin or bleached swimming costumes. Our system also has a Magna-Wrap which naturally produces silky clean clear water. Enjoy your swim in our large black tiled pool, with a 6 metre Jacuzzi, 4 metre high waterfall. Our bar is 15 metres long, surrounded by palm trees & gardens the bar is located behind the Hotel so it is very private, the bar is tastefully lit by led lights & we have a large music collection & music video's to suite every taste, the bar is made from marble & blue glass shelves, we have a wide choice of drinks, great food & freshly made coffee from our automatic Italian coffee machine which makes each cup freshly from coffee beans. A convenient location, a dedicated staff & owner, first-rate facilities make Cheers Cambodia Resort a favorite among travelers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Benny's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing