We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay at Otres”
Review of Mushroom Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mushroom Point
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best place to stay at Otres”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Ended up staying here twice as long as I had planned because I liked it so much! The beach huts have extremely comfortable beds, bug proof mosquito nets and fans. Beds are made up each day too.
Many many comfortable seats with big cushions to sit on at the beach. Brilliant cocktails made by Roman. Great food - a combination of Western favourites and traditional Cambodian meals available.
Have recommended this place to many travellers and will continue to do so.
Book in advance to avoid disappointment!
If I'm ever back in Sihanoukville I will stay here for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    109
    38
    8
    7
See reviews for
12
102
68
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Not a single bad word to say, amazing place, amazing staff, amazing food (chicken schnitzel baguette is a MUST) and lovely villas on the beach front. Wouldnt stay anywhere else and will be back. Staff will do anything to make your stay enjoyable, all speak good English and their cocktails are superb.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the beach front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

After being the first one mentioned in Lonely Planet for Otres, it appears its gone to their head a bit...

Yes the Mushrooms are a bit of a gimmick, and the place is 'ok' - but that's it. Just 'ok'...

But it's $30 a night for a private room, whereas you can get that for $15 anywhere else on Otres (and often to a higher spec). Dorm beds are $7 - so a bit more reasonable.

Everywhere on Otres has the same problems - dirty water from the lake, power cuts, etc , so that can't be held against them... But noisy at night, and random bits of building work during the day doesn't make for a 'chilled out' atmosphere...

Food is expensive too. Eat out.


So all-in-all, it's an ok place - but not worth the inflated prices (which I'm assuming top spot in Lonely Planet has triggered).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dimpster01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The Mushroom Point is a well located spot at the Otres Beach. Be prepared for an different holiday expirience. Otres has become very popular in last 3 years and some how no one knows where it's going. The Beach is clean and tide and the MP offers some bungalows right at the beach. Plain but clean.
The Food is Excellent and a great 'Bravo' to the Khmer Chef. Roman, the man in charge and all of the friendly Staff are allways there for any kind of question and support! Thumbs up!

Not that pleasent are the Ants and the fact that the water supply is very poor. Powercuts nearly every day. Muddy and filthy water unfortunately and please brush your teeth with tubed water (which is provided at the Main Bar) It's a bit noisy but come on it's a spot where you don't went to bed early evening. The Prices in the High season (whenever you ask there is a high season for the owners) are a bit salty.

If you decide Otres as your next destination, this is the place to be (Please notice that all criterias about water, ants, noise etc. count for all the accomodations at Otres Beach and please mind a place called Pappa Pippos!)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank historiker_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Mushroom Point is legitimately paradise. You sleep in these adorable little mushrooms on comfortable round beds in psuedo-open air since the air, sounds, etc. enter the room easily through the thatched roof and bamboo walls, which is extraordinarily peaceful when the birds are singing, etc. (but can be annoying when dogs start barking or people are talking loudly). The bar/restaurant is across the street immediately on THE BEACH and you can literally just spend the entire rest of your life there, alternating between swimming in the amazingly shallow, warm, calm, crystal-clear sea and drinking amazing fruit smoothies on the beach bar. The food is also AMAZING-- the best green curry I had my entire time in Cambodia! And the best fruit salad for breakfast (which is served all day, so I actually ate it twice in one day, it was that good!). The bartenders are also really nice and will gladly keep your valuables safe behind the bar while you're swimming. We spent two nights here and it was not long enough! If I ever decide to just "get away from it all" and run away to go live on some beach somewhere for the rest of my life, THIS is where I will be!

(Also, Otres Beach more generally is excellent. There are people and several hotels/hostels and stuff so it's active, but it is definitely less crowded and more subdued than other beaches in Sihanoukville. The mellow vibe just adds to the atmosphere of Paradise!)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Stayed here in a dorm (which costs $7/night) for a couple of nights. Dorm comes with quirky circular beds enclosed in mosquito netting. Mattress is likely to be small if you are over 6 feet tall. Electricity went out for between 5-30 minutes on both nights I was there (all properties on the beach seemed to be affected) so do be prepared. Walkway and steps leading to the dorm are narrow, less than ideal if you've got large luggage.

Given that you're likely to be spending most of the time on the beach, availability/unavailability of the rest of the facilities is unlikely to matter. The Sunshine Cafe located right across the road is probably the best option for meals (though there are quite a few other places worth trying), but the breakfast here was of decent value despite the service being slow. There is a travel/ticketing office located right next door manned by a really friendly local lady as well.

If you're leaving early in the morning, do remember to checkout the evening before. I hadn't been informed of this upon check-in, and there was a bit of a scramble to checkout as I had a 8am bus to catch heading out of Sihanoukville.

Though the facilities were basic, there was a really good feel about this place. A few friends of mine staying staying at adjacent properties and I chose to hang out here in the evenings at the bar/dining area. Do be wary of the dogs in the area if you are going to be returning really late at night. Otres Beach is also pretty far from the downtown area and the nearest ATM so do ensure that you're carrying adequate cash with you as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arbasith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2013

we stayed in a bungalow on the beach for 25$ per night, two adults, one child of four.
it was very nicely done, quite spacious. five bungalows share three toilets and bathrooms. a lot of the day there isn't any water running, so you can only shower a few hours of the day, in cold water. electricity only runs for a few hours in the evening.
staff is nice, food is fine.
at one of our two nights the neighbour bar had a very loud party until 6.30 in the morning. the other night was only until around midnight at mushroom's own bar.
otres beach itself is really made for backpacker culture, so if you're not into that, don't go.
as a family review would probably only give it 2, the extra point is for the bungalows being nicely done

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
1.5 mi away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#4 of 74 in Sihanoukville
390 reviews
3.1 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#3 of 74 in Sihanoukville
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sahaa Beach Resort
Sahaa Beach Resort
#5 of 74 in Sihanoukville
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#2 of 74 in Sihanoukville
699 reviews
1.2 mi away
White Boutique Hotel
White Boutique Hotel
#7 of 74 in Sihanoukville
164 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#9 of 74 in Sihanoukville
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mushroom Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mushroom Point

Property: Mushroom Point
Address: Otres Beach | Port de Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have created our own world here in Mushroom point! With unique design of bungalows, water tower and big reception area with restaurant, bar and chill out area we gave to the place more personality and charm. We care for quality, we keep it clean and green. Food coming out of our kitchen is always fresh and tasty! WiFi is available all around the property. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Mushroom Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mushroom Point Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing