We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, great location, clean!”
Review of Don't tell Mama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Don't tell Mama
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights at Don't Tell Mama in a bungalow - the room and bathroom were very clean, beds had mosquito nets - and the best part - fans! The fan made all the difference and gave me a great night's sleep. The bed was comfortable, and the beach was only a minute walk away (Otres). And a beautiful beach it was, much more peaceful than anywhere else in Sihanoukville. A perfect balance between having a good selection of restaurants/bars, but without being overcrowded and roudy like the busier beaches in town. In my opinion, Don't Tell Mama looked cleaner than the other guesthouses/hostels right on the beach in Otres.

The owner/manager was a very nice German lady who was quite helpful. Overall a very pleasant place to stay in Otres.

Handy tip for the coffee lovers (& needers): The cafe/restaurant across the road from Don't Tell Mama, right on the beach called 'Papa Pippos' had the best coffee in Otres, hands down. And I tried most places in my few days there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diego G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Usually stay in dormant but thought I'd treat myself and I was very impressed! The lady who greeted me was very friendly and knew the bookings, my room was lovely and clean, as were the bathroom (of which I usually judge a place upon) had a easy nights sleep and everyone wvvru friendly in the morning. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank wanderingoptimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Otres Beach was my favourite stop in SouthEast Asia, and Don't Tell Mama was the perfect accommodation for our stay.

Our group stayed in both the private rooms at the back of the property, and in one of the bungalow. The rooms were very nice - very comfortable beds, mosquito netting, fans, and very clean. The bathroom was very clean as well - the only downfall was that there was no hot water. The wifi was strong everywhere on the property.

A fantastic option just steps away from a beautiful beach.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The staff of Don't tell Mama is very friendly! The rooms are small but cosy. Wifi is very fast if you compare it to surrounding hostels. The showers are nice and clean. The owners are from Germany and help you with everything you need. Go there and experience you're self!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkvMarrewyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed for just one night on our travels - and hired 2 bungalows. We arrived early (8am) after a long bus ride and were very impressed that our rooms were available as soon as we arrived. The owner was lovely and recommended places to eat etc. The Bungalows were lovely, very comfortable and clean. Wifi didn't work in the back few bungalows but worked well in the front few and in the reception area.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missljpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Recommended by a friend in Phnom Penh so decided to get a beach experience. Great location - back from the beach (by a few seconds) so not close to the noise of the bars. A number of well appointed bungalows facing a sandy space so very be achy. Rooms are comfortable and bathroom clean. Toilets are Cambodian style (scoop not flush) but well set up. Mosquito nets provided but not required. Lovely German couple who were very helpful. Looked after computer, camera, iPad so felt happy with that. Great wi fi speed, probably the best I have had in Laos and Cambodia. Verandahs lovely to sit on and watch the world go by. Would come again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Otres beach is supposed to be one of better beaches but is average compared with other beaches around the world eg in Australia. Water was rough and dirty while we were there. The whole beach complex was a bit grotty. Very much back packer style but food was surprisely good. We tried a number of places and Khmer food was good value. Pseudo Italian was average and expensive.
Don't tell mama was back from beach which was good as less noisy (less likelihood of being washed away in high surf!). Bungalows are new, clean and basic - small fan, subdued lighting, but fast wi fi. Floors concrete, bathroom clean but basic including Khmer style "flush" toilet ie scoop of water. There is no hot water in shower but was okay for us. Beds were surprisely comfortable as at first seemed hard. Mosquito nets provided but we didn't need them. Was expecting more insects/animals based on other reviews and openness of the bungalow but no problems. A cow did wander into complex to have a look around. Was worried about security based on other reviews but the German owners (who were delightful and helpful) looked after cameras, iPads etc in their living area for us. German lady makes fabulous coffee - freshly grind plunger coffee with real milk.
Overall okay for staying at a beach. Not much to do except swimming and going for long beach walks ,no shops except bars and restaurants. There are boats trips but too rough when we there so was cancelled.

Room Tip: Rooms at front more secure than down back of property. Sorry - accidentally hit fitess centre and po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 80 in Sihanoukville
694 reviews
0 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#8 of 80 in Sihanoukville
1,600 reviews
0 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#2 of 80 in Sihanoukville
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Otres Sea View Resort
Otres Sea View Resort
#48 of 80 in Sihanoukville
3 reviews
0 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#1 of 80 in Sihanoukville
766 reviews
0 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#23 of 80 in Sihanoukville
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don't tell Mama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don't tell Mama

Address: Otres Beach, Sihanoukville 2012, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 156 Speciality Lodging in Sihanoukville
Price Range: £5 - £10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don´t tell Mama is a new guesthouse, offering bungalows and rooms on the more relaxed Otres beach. We are situated 20 meters from the beach.We have built 4 spacious and comfortable bungalows with double bed and private bathroom. In the backside tower house we have designed four cosy rooms with double bed, shared bathroom and terrace or balcony.In our cafe you can enjoy a tasty breakfast and a range of snacks. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing