We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely guest house walking distance from Serendipity Beach”
Review of Sakal Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sakal Bungalows
Ranked #164 of 240 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is nice cozy guest house very close to the most popular beach in Sihanouk Ville is good place to relax. The rooms are unbelievably big and comfortable with lot of space to keep your belongings. The Toilet and bathroom is also pretty big and clean. I would recommend this place to any budget tourist who prefer to stay close to the action and I would rate the rooms excellent for the price

Room Tip: If you can afford go for aircon room as fan rooms may be little warmer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank terryjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

We had looked online at a few prices and almost booked here before reviewing, which we don't normally do. We are 2 backpackers, have stayed in some cheap places, but this wasn't even worthy of one night! We were shown 2 rooms, both filthy, STUNK of damp, they were small, and a man was cleaning last nights dishes outside one of them. The location is a bit out of the way if you are looking for the nightlife too... This was for a fan bungalow, if you can afford the more expensive a/c rooms, may be worth a look, but otherwise go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophstar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We have stayed here a lot of times - because of the proximity to the beach and the ' french street' .
But it is not a great choice if you are looking for the ' niceties '.
The bar has a lot of atmosphere with a regular crowd of geriatric english expats.
That said- its the only year round 24 hours bar with reasonable prices on Victory-
The staff make up in good service for all the negatives here - besides the owner or his family is always around. The food is ok and pricier for a backpacker location.
The cons- the rooms - furniture, pillows and all bedding smell of mould.
Try to get a room in the new building at the back on the third floor.
Ask for fresh pillows. The laundry service is only good for your beach shorts and tees.
The one big plus is that it is safe and you can trust the staff to take care of your belongings.
Also they have a weekly quiz night. Not recommended if you are looking for a ' nice cushy place'. Just a tad better than a backpackers place.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the new block on the 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigboybah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

First I liked the place very much as they offered a free pick up from the bus station etc. So I stayed there for a couple of times by e-mail reservations. The rooms cost from $5 to 12 or up depending on the type of the room. A nice bar with a small pool which is not swimmable. The restaurant is good but pricy with some impolite waitor with menacing look sometimes if you don't tip him very much. Overall, it is close to the victory beach with a garden restaurnt. They charge for wifi and computer use, that you can get free at other guest houses. One time I arrived but they gave my room to someone else because I arrived late and didn't have my cell phone number.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank backpackmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We spent 3 nights in the dorm and in the beginning we thought that all the bites we got were from the mosquitos (and there were allot of them even do the dorm has nets over the windows).
On the third morning we woke up we found a mature bedbug crawling in our bed sheets, we caught it and photographed it. Then we took it over to the staff to talk to them about it and the women in the reception claimed she didn’t know what bedbugs were and she didn’t recognize the bug. She said she was going to call and talk to the manager and look it up, after we explained how bad bedbugs are. After 15 minutes we came back and she said that there weren’t a problem and that bedbugs are all over Cambodia and that everyone has them in their house and every hotel has them. And since we still wanted to talk to the manager she called and said that he would come in 15-20 minutes. Later she said he would not come because he didn’t have time. She said we could leave when we had paid our bill, otherwise we would not get our passports back, but they wouldn’t do anything about the bedbugs because it was no problem. We really tried to talk to them but they were very rude, wouldn´t listen to us and it almost seemed like it was our own fault. Yelling at your customers refusing to answer their questions, lying to their face and walking away when you try to speak to them is what we define rude behavior as.

This would not have been a problem if the staff and manager had handled it better than to say “It isn’t a problem in Cambodia” and did nothing to make the situation better for us. We had to pay full price for our stay and now we also have big expenses because we need to wash all our clothes and bags. This to get rid of the bugs and make sure they don’t follow us back home.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bibi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Sakal is a nice Guesthouse in Sihanoukville, Cambodia. Pleasant crew members, quite clean rooms, very nice accomodation for the price. Bar open 24 hours. The hotel is located close to the Russian Beach, the most quiet beach in town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank F D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Best place in the area to stay. I totally agree with the comments below made by another visitor. If you want all the nice things that you have at home, wifi, t.v. p.c etc then stay at home. If you want to get to know Cambodia and how people live, come over and stay at Sakal. If the hot water runs out, so what. It isn't the end of the world. Most Cambodians have cold showers every day because they can't afford hot water! Get with the real world. Great staff, great food and you get what you pay for. I will be back in a few weeks and will be staying again. It was hard to leave!

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms first! You get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
1.2 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 80 in Sihanoukville
695 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#8 of 80 in Sihanoukville
1,604 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#2 of 80 in Sihanoukville
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Otres Sea View Resort
Otres Sea View Resort
#48 of 80 in Sihanoukville
3 reviews
6.5 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#1 of 80 in Sihanoukville
768 reviews
2.4 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#23 of 80 in Sihanoukville
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakal Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakal Bungalows

Address: Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 240 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Sakal Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing