We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't really want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queenco Hotel & Casino
Ranked #27 of 74 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Don't really want to leave”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Whilst there is still a bit of renovation work to do we have absolutely enjoyed our stay at the Queenco hotel and Casino.real value for the little we paid for our weeks stay.Every member of staff from the room cleaner to the door staff have made us so very welcome and are a credit to the new manager whom has only been here for a few weeks.beautiful views from the beach area especially at sunset the outdoor restaurant appropriately named The Sunset restaurant.Cant really comment on the Casino part as didn't use but looks impressive.breakfast buffet superb and a big thank you to the lovely smiling chefs for their ever delicious omlettes.hotel gift shop a bit dull however recommend a few trips to Sihanoukville market which is a lot cheaper than the Russian market in Phnom Penh.highlight of our trip the wonderful Xmas tree in reception and I don't think anything can beat listening to Xmas carols on the beach quite magical!!!!!thanks everyone for a fantastic stay and we really do look forward to returning in the very near future.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lesleyallan2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    37
    15
    13
    14
See reviews for
15
61
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I really don't get this place. the hotel is at a right angle to the beach giving only the end 4 rooms a decent view.. The beds are old and sagging in the middle.... the furniture is old, stained and discoloured.. the rooms smell of mould. the AC never worked properly during our stay. the reception diden't care about our complaints, the beach out front is small and dirty, it got very noisy at 6 in the morning with all the fishing boats coming out of the port.. The service in the restaurant is terrible.. the list goes on and on but i think you get the gist. The owners have started renovations but the building itself is in such a bad way they might as well knock it down and start again..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reclamationman h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We booked 2 rooms at Queenco (late June) as it is located right on Victory Beach. GOOD POINTS: Location, large rooms, great chef, beach front. BAD POINTS: Uninviting car park entry, no cold drink or towel upon arrival for hot & tired guests, A/C's not working & mould in both rooms - hotel 70% empty but had to wait 30 minutes for room change, annoying mechanical hum vibrating through room, no room telephone (which meant trudging down 2 flights of stairs to ask for anything), no coffee sachets available only tea in rooms. The restaurant serves only Coca Cola - no Sprite/Fanta etc. There is no swimming pool.

The hotel appeared to have run out of money whilst upgrading. The stairs to rooms are located in an out of the way spot some distance from the lobby and you had to ask where to go. Some reception staff had no idea about customer service and no offers to carry bags were forthcoming. We had far better service at $13/night guesthouses. The lobby has one computer for guest use which is good but there is not much in the way of tour information and little help or advice from reception staff.

If the hotel is aiming for the Western market they need to lift their service level and provide a better range of basic services.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SMW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The location of this hotel was excellent and the restaurant manager was very friendly and efficient - she kept the staff working efficiently and made sure we were well looked after. The desk staff were also helpful and arranged boat trips and other activities for us. Unfortunately that's where the positives ended. The hotel was undergoing renovations to a large number of rooms. The accommodation floors were constantly covered with dust and debris. There was loud banging and power tools from 7:30 in the morning, despite being assured that the noise would only start at 10am. When we asked to go to another room away form the noise we were told non was available even through we say other rooms being vacated during our stay.
The other annoyance was the casino because the normal bar closed early in an effort to make you move into the casino.
Food is very good but more expensive than the other parts of town, its worth getting a Tuk Tuk up to Victory hill for the prices but also the variety of local food.

Room Tip: If this is still a building site - look elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShuggieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We would never return to this town. If they think they have any pride in presenting a town to tourists they get it really wrong here. The town is a disgrace with rubbish everywhere especially in the beach areas. Thankfully we took the advice on tripadvisor and stayed at Victory Beach - clean beach, no hawkers and a clean well managed hotel with attentive and ever-cheerful staff. Yes it is out of town but only 10mins by tuk tuk so no big deal. Great food, wonderful sunsets made up for the rubbish dump which is Sihanoukville. If you come to this town for a break make sure you do your research as I am too old and fussy to stay anywhere near the trash heaps that pretend to be beaches. Sorry to sound so negative but i see so much potential wasted by those in authority in this beautiful country.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dasher3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I stayed here with a G Adventure (formerly GAP Adventures) tour group which probably got some deal. The tour leader was horrible and I heard from others that this is common for the Cambodia/Vietnam tour leaders. Our leader didn't get as drunk here as other places because his drinks weren't free. He took us down the beach to another place where he got smashed.

Good: seaside view if you can get it with a little balcony. Only one side faces the beach. Right on the beach with warm water. Beach was pretty clean (not always). The rooms are spacious.

Bad: far from town and nothing to do except eat and sit on the beach. Lots of construction inside the hotel going on during the visit, especially on my floor. Like most other hotels in this region, no lift so you carry your bags up several flights of stairs. The hall was a dusty mess. The food was acceptable but again, no competition close by. The hummus plate was a total joke. The hummus was watered down with no lemon or tahini in it. The olives were canned American junk instead of kalamata.

Ugly: the manager. One of the staff came in a few minutes late one morning and she dressed him down in front of the staff and customers. Her behavior would be considered intolerable in any civilized environment but a total nightmare in an Asian nation. With that type of management, she can only expect to keep the most unpleasant staff since everyone else will move on.

I definitely would not recommend this to anyone

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view on the upper floor if you can manage your bag on the stairs.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank JourneyDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Came here as a part of a G adventure group.

This is a wonderful beach hotel on a quiet beach in Sihanoukville. We had a room on the second floor with a terrible view. There was a lot of construction work going on during our stay, but it was not to noisy.

The hotel restaurant was cheap, they had cheap laundry, wifi was included and it was great value for money. A bit of luxury on a budget tour.

The staff was more than helpful, and they speak good english.

If you a love a nice sunset or sunrise on the beach this is the place. Takes about ten minutes with tuktuk to get to the more part areas of Sihanoukville.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holter-Nilsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
1.5 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 74 in Sihanoukville
642 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#9 of 74 in Sihanoukville
1,481 reviews
2.2 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#2 of 74 in Sihanoukville
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Zentao
Villa Zentao
#21 of 74 in Sihanoukville
124 reviews
6.5 mi away
White Boutique Hotel
White Boutique Hotel
#7 of 74 in Sihanoukville
172 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#1 of 74 in Sihanoukville
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queenco Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queenco Hotel & Casino

Property: Queenco Hotel & Casino
Address: | Victory Beach, Mohavithey Krong, District 3, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia (Formerly Victory Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 74 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Queenco Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queenco Hotel & Casino is your seaside retreat located along the white powdery sands of Victory Beach in Sihanoukville, Cambodia. Soak up the sun and take pleasure in the pristine waters of the beach or enjoy your favourite wine on the beachfront terrace whilst watching the sunset. Queenco Hotel & Casino is located amidst sparkling blue water and soft sand on the beautiful beach in Sihanoukville. It is a good choice for those who are looking for lucky combination of entertainment and a picturesque beach setting. Queenco Hotel and Casino is 17 km from Sihanouk Vile Airport and approximately 204 km from Phnom Penh International Airport. Queenco Hotel & Casino has two buildings that boast 200 luxuriously appointed rooms and suites together with resort-style facilities such as: - Bago Restaurant serving authentic Khmer, Chinese and Western cuisines, - An Nam Vietnamese Restaurant serving authentic Vietnamese specialties, - Marcopolo - an authentic Italian Pizzeria known for its brick oven, designer pizzas and handmade pasta; - Boudoir Night Club with highly crafted cocktails and nightly entertainment; - Kerem Taskin Beauty Studio & Spa offering massages and spa treatments; - Q Boutique with various gift and souvenir items to choose from, and finally our glamorous. - Queenco Casino. The most intense and thrilling experiences await both novice gamers and experienced high rollers at Queenco Casino. 24 hours every day in Sihanoukville Queenco Casino is abuzz with excitement radiating from its gaming floor — all equipped with the range of exciting 12 table games including Baccarat, Blackjack and Roulette, premium Poker room, 138 Slot machines and entertainment bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queenco Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing