We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getaway place”
Review of Otres Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Otres Beach Resort
Ranked #104 of 237 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 May 2013

its a basic wooden hut, very affordable, you have your own bathroom, a fan, mosquito net covering the bed, balcony, and is just 30 sec. away from the beach. There was no closed locker just an open shelf. But we had no problems with thefts or anything.

Don't get scared if u find a tokay gecko around your hut, we had one in ours for a night, it's very harmless, just leave it alone and don't try to touch it or scare it away, might bite you!

You need to take a tuk tuk or rent a bike if you want to buy anything from the nearest market. If you are travelling on a really tight budget you might find food a bit expensive in this area because it is a bit isolated.

Over all, it is a great place to stay near otres 2 beach which was amazing! and friendly staff!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights at Strawberry Resort in early May 2013.

The resort is fine if all you need is a room to stay in, and that's it. The bungalows are made of wood and are aesthetically pleasing but very basic, consisting of a bed with mosquito net, small table, wall mounted fan, wicker storage unit and an ensuite shower/ wet room. They each have a verrander with a table and 2 chairs too. For the price the simplicity of the rooms was obviously expected but we did have a couple of issues with the design of the bungalows:
1-they had numerous holes in the walls, particularly between the tops of the walls and the roofing. This invited lots of bugs which is fine when you're in your bed with the mosquito net over you, but a little frustrating when your getting ready for dinner in the evenings, etc;
2-given the holes, I did wonder how secure the bungalows actually were?

A couple of other points of note, the area outside the bungalows within the resort is very poorly lit and the wifi didn't work the whole time we were there which was very disappointing.

Location-wise, the bungalows are on the opposite side of the road from the beach but only about a 30 second walk away. Otres beach is absolutely stunning, quiet with only a handful of hawkers and some great beachside eating spots including Elephant Garden (fantastic dinners) and Tamu (awesome sunbeds, food, etc, serving breakfast and lunch only). It is around 20 minutes from central Sihanoukville.

We were not told about any "restaurant" when we checked in but from some of the other reviews on here, it seems there was one, but unfortunately I can't comment on that. We didn't get to know the staff at all really but any time we did need assistance they were very polite and spoke reasonable English. They kindly accommodated our request to move rooms one evening following one of our inconsiderate neighbours choosing to play his guitar and sing at the top of his voice at 11pm at night. Why do these people exist?!

I think to sum up, Strawberry Bungalows is ok, average accommodation which probably seems better to lots of people because of where it is (Otres Beach really is lovely). It's great if you're on a budget. But cheap or otherwise, there are still a few areas where they could easily improve in my opinion.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jpw222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay. Even with just a fan was ok but aircon wud be better.
Our room was great tho an the resort looks amazing.
Great service for washing clothes also.
The location is unbelievable down at otres 2 beach. Great atmosphere here and great people. So relaxing here. Easy place to get to the islands also.
The power does cut out from time to time but it's fine. Me and my girlfriend loved it here.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OisinHennessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I really wanted to stay in a traditional style, simple wooden hut with the convenience of my own bathroom, near a beautiful, quiet, non-touristy tropical beach. And Strawberry Resort was exactly that!

Strawberry Resort is on Otres 2 which is the far end of Otres beach, and far away from the other much touristy beaches of Sihanouk Ville. The bungalows are set in two rows surrounded by a pretty garden, each has its own little terrance and a clean simple bathroom. The bed was comfy and came with the obligatory mosquito net and ceiling fan. The beach is literally a few seconds across the road and is stunning.

It has a little restaurant that serves decent enough food, though there are a half a dozen or more great places to try along the beach - Sam's Place was a firm beach side favourite.

As with many places in Cambodia there were issues with power cuts and the management tried their best to balance the need for power with the noisy generator. I think they got it about right.

All in all I had a lovely relaxing 6 nights here and wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarthaBoggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Stayed here for three days really enjoyed the place is clean and huts are fine really enjoyed food a bit expensive but go across to SAMs bar best in otres two really good vibe great fun place the beach is by far the best in cambodia even better than some islands

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dariandoreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This is a clean and quiet place to stay near the Otres 2 beach in Sihanoukville. It is not right on the beach but it takes you about 30 sec to reach the beach from the resort (you can see it from the restaurant). Very good value for a beach stay with your private bathroom and hot water. The family that runs the place are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helmi00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

The bungalows are basic but have all you would need with en suite bathroom and your own little balcony. It's a great place to stay due to its location on the quieter side of otres so it's not too noisy at all.

The only problem we had whilst there was the generator which because we were the last bungalow (number 15) it rattled the hut and was extremely loud. Thankfully they turned it off around 10pm so we just had to wait until it stopped to fall asleep. Therefore my only advice would be to ask for a hut away from the generator an closer to the beach to avoid that as the power quite regularly cuts out here!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.2 mi away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#4 of 75 in Sihanoukville
411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Otres Resort
Otres Resort
#10 of 75 in Sihanoukville
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Boutique Hotel
White Boutique Hotel
#8 of 75 in Sihanoukville
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ananas Beach Bungalows
Ananas Beach Bungalows
#21 of 237 in Sihanoukville
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden River Bungalows
Golden River Bungalows
#68 of 237 in Sihanoukville
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harmony Home
Harmony Home
#15 of 237 in Sihanoukville
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otres Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otres Beach Resort

Address: 2 Marina Road, Otres Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia (Formerly Strawberry Resort)
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 237 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range: £8 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Otres Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OBR is a tradition Khmer bungalow resort set in a beautiful garden 20m from the sealine. Each bungalow is en-suite with hot water shower. We have a restaurant with excellent food at a fair price. A small bar with all your cocktails and cold cold beer. We are located in the tranquil end of Otres beach. If you want to party a 5 minute tuk tuk or a 15 minute walk can take you there. We can arrange bus tickets to all destinations including Thailand and Vietnam. We can also organise trips to the Islands and national parks and a taxi service to your required destination. We also rent motorbikes. Hope to see you soon. ps. We now have a full resort directly on the beach including hobie catamarans, paddle boards and canoes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Otres Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing