We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too bad!”
Review of Done Right

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Done Right
Ranked #27 of 234 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Too bad!”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival we were greeted by a farm of ants in our bed, a broken toilet, and a non-functioning fan. Put in one sentence: the bungalows are dirty. Althougt the people working there are nice, it's more like they are renting out bungalows in their own private social club. They have little, if any, interest in custumer service, but all the more interest in talking to their friends. This is a place you go to sit in the bar and make new friends, not a place to stay if you care about hygiene. We've stayed at places wich are far more primitive, but this was unfortunately just filthy.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Missmorell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    37
    18
    22
    21
See reviews for
3
45
46
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I loved Done Right! Its really close to the beach, the rooms are clean, and the stuff was always friendly, willing to help with anything. We got some great travel tips also. And the food is just amazing: both the Cambodian and Western food were relly tasty. We had great time at Done Right, hope to have the chance to go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noémi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Apart from the initial welcome the staff seemed much more interested in socialising with each other than serving guests. My order was forgotten on several occasions. All the stools at the bar seemed to be occupied by staff, and it was never clear who was working and who was not.
The restaurant area was rarely cleaned, ashtrays non existent or overflowing. Six puppies were allowed free rein and did what untrained puppies do.....
I stayed in one of the geodesic domes which was well designed and clean enough, but the plumbing was awful - toilet didn't flush and stank, shower little more than a dribble. The under bed safe was a good idea but instead of being a secure box merely opened out into the (never cleaned) under bed space and could easily be accessed without a key.
They have a "fluid" pricing system - charging whatever the market will bear. I paid $18 but was lucky as the price increased to $20 and (reading later reviews) $30.
The food was very good, but the kitchen was run by locals rather than the motley crew of westerners who dealt with front of house.
This place could be "done right", probably was when it opened, but it needs to replace its casual staff and their attitude towards guests' needs and do some maintenance.
And finally thee was a sign offering a free beer to anyone who writes a TripAdvisor review...... maybe I'll go back to claim mine!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank propercupoftea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at mushroom point for 4 nights and then done right for 1 night. Mushroom point was spotless and far far cleaner than Done Right. However you get much more space at Done Right and the staff are much friendlier!
They have a pool table and a gym area.
Bungalows at Otres beach are expensive. Done Right was $30 which seems to be average price.
Bring mosquito coils!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller10205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

I arrived to Otres beach with no accommodation. Once I've been to a third sold out guesthouse someone told me to try Done Right across the street. I was welcomed by Angie who was pleasant. She showed me a couple rooms and I decided to splurge on the bungalow at $30/night. My bungalow was clean but I do think it was overpriced.... $15 is more like it. The food there was great, esp the Cambodia curry.

Why the 2 stars? Because besides Angie I didn't feel welcomed by any of the other staff. Several of the staff would just sit and talk and not bother with the customers. I wanted to order breakfast so I went to the bar only to realize that the girl whose shift it was was just talking to her friends about a new bikini she bought. When I looked over she gave an eyeroll, got up from the chair and then asked what I wanted. Sorry to ruin your workshift. At night I also wasn't into the vibe... felt more like an outsider while all the cool high school kids hung out. Maybe it was just the people staying there at the time.

Was planning on staying two nights but only stayed one.... because of the staff and the high cost. There is cheaper accommodation but I personally wanted my own bathroom.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank cats77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The environment and friendliness of the plus is amazing. Couldn't be happier with such great bar staff as well. Highly recommended for a chilled time by the beach. It's got such a great feel to the place with a large room space and a great bathroom!! Thank you!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brougham6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Out of the hustle of the main town, Done Right is directly across the road from the beach which makes for an amazing location. The restaurant at the venue serves sumptuous food and the service is great. Ripper place all round

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Campbell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.0 mi away
Amazing Sunrise Guesthouse
Amazing Sunrise Guesthouse
#107 of 234 in Sihanoukville
2 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mien Mien
Mien Mien
#73 of 234 in Sihanoukville
96 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Sam's Beach Bar & Bungalows
#139 of 234 in Sihanoukville
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Penguin Pablo
Penguin Pablo
#11 of 146 in Sihanoukville
59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chez Paou
Chez Paou
#36 of 146 in Sihanoukville
130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Everythang
Everythang
#23 of 146 in Sihanoukville
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Done Right? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Done Right

Property: Done Right
Address: Otres Beach | Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Done Right is a chilled out backpacker hangout. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing