We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good budget place on a gorgeous beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Everythang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Everythang
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good budget place on a gorgeous beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We had a pleasant 3 night stay in our bungalow here. It was a bit basic but it did have everything we needed - mosquito net, plug sockets, working wifi etc. The bed was very comfortable and it was clean. The only thing was that the light was a bit dim and our window was stuck so it wasn't that easy to see around - fine if you pack with the door open though! The staff were very friendly whilst we were there and let us have clean towels every day. The bathrooms were fine too, not luxurious but clean, always stacked with toilet paper and with working locks.

The best thing about this place is it's location though. It was wonderful waking up and eating breakfast on the beach which was never too crowded. The bar/restaurant area was spacious, airy and had really comfy seats to relax in with a book. The food was good in our experience too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrierheasmith, Owner at Everythang, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thanks for the review, Lydia! Please come back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    34
    24
    17
    23
See reviews for
2
55
45
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

On arrival the place seems perfect. Great bar leading directly onto a beautiful (if busy) beach. Stayed in the dorms which were ok and directly above the bar so seemed fairly secure to leave bag etc in there. Bathroom was very basic but that is to be expected from any accommodation on Otres beach. The staff seemed nice enough once you got talking to them but were not very approachable with the exception of the American owner. One in particular tended to stand at the bar with her iPod plugged in and her eyes closed. Food either came very fast or very slow; once I think the girl at the bar had forgotten to tell the kitchen staff we had ordered and when it finally came (after us reminding her) We were told that we would appreciate it more now. Unfortunately I got very bad food poisoning from a chicken lok lak dish that I bought at Everythang and spent one of the nights being sick in the not-so-pleasant toilet. I got very dehydrated and needed lots of water but the girl on the bar would only let my girlfriend, who explained my situation, buy one bottle as the rest were in the kitchen which she said she didn't want to open because it was too late. I would still argue Everythang has one of the nicest bars on Otres beach (we visited them all) and the dorm itself is certainly no worse than any of the others on the beach. At $6-7 for beach accom, basic facilities are to be expected but I just feel the place could be vastly improved with very little work - mainly by keeping the bathrooms clean (emptying the bins more often) and employing more welcoming and helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LongLiveJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrierheasmith, Owner at Everythang, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hey there,

Staffing is always the hardest part and unfortunately it seems you experienced some particularly rude staff. Sorry for that.

Regarding your food poisoning, it wasn't from us as we don't serve chicken lok lak and follow all western and practical health and cleanliness standards. Comments about food poisoning should really be made with 100% confidence. Please get your facts straight before putting harmful information like that on the internet.

Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megamondo
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

My friend and I stayed here for three nights. The location on Otres beach was fantastic, the standard of the accomodation was not.

I had someone try to enter my room while I was in there, I have no idea why!

The staff were really helpful, but when we ordered food it was like they were on lithium... they were begrudging and slow.

I'd recommend this place for people who want a no-frills, place to stay on a really beautiful beach. It's not very quiet, and it's not very fancy, but the beach more than compensates for this.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megamondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrierheasmith, Owner at Everythang, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi There,

Thanks for the review. Our staff try their best to help everyone, which can sometimes take a little patience (for the customer as well as staff). Not sure what to say about the lithium comment, except that its kind of funny but not really. Who does lithium anymore?

Hope you found an equally cheap, friendly hostel along your travels that lives up to your expectations.

Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Budget room next to the sea- I would have been happy with that and I am no snob when it comes to backpacker accommodation. This place kind sucked however.
Toilets didn't flush, were really gross and dirty, didn't have bog roll and holes in the doors/celing floor boards/ didn't have locks. Generally a really horrible experience. Some attempt at fixing it appeared to happen in the morning but after 3pm it was minging. Shower water/sink and toilet water is orange and smelly (because it comes from a well, I get that, that's fine) but nextdoor at Indigo they had hot water and the bogs were fine.
Room was ok- no mirror and only a bed and a stick to hang stuff (yeah I get it budget).
Landlady was really friendly on the phone but when I was there she was really rude to me and I wasn't entirely sure what I had done wrong.
If you want to stay somewhere go to Indigo (next door). I ate there for breakfast and they seemed really friendly and pretty cool. I was disappointed at Everythang- a flushing bog and a bit of friendliness would have been nice.

Room Tip: Bring toilet roll
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thatgirlher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrierheasmith, Owner at Everythang, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi there,

Unfortunately there is no good time for 2 out of 3 toilets to clog. It took less than 24 hours to sort out, though.

Regarding your comments about friendliness, if you read our other reviews we've never had a problem with hospitality before. Maybe you were confusing us with somewhere else...

Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Walked up and down Otres trying to find somewhere to stay when we finally went in to Everythang. The staff here were the loveliest people who let us rent the Treehouse which was a beautiful place to sleep and wake up to the sunrise and sound of the waves. Literally 2 metres from the beach, great vibe, played great music and the bar is in this huge high-roofed cabana. Didn't get to see the rooms. Not seedy, just very chilled and friendly people!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChloeSimpAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrierheasmith, Owner at Everythang, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thanks guys! Hope you enjoyed Otres. Come back any time!

Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saigon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Our backpacking days of South East Asia finished a quarter of a century ago and this is certainly not the sort of place we were looking for, but there was only one room left in town so we took it.

The accommodation was basic - a beachside hut, double bed, mozzi net, shared toilet and bathroom and that's about it. Cleanliness not great but what to expect from a ramshackle wooden hut on the beach for $15 a night.

When I say on-the-beach, I mean the sand comes up to the bungalow door, the sound of the waves lapping can be heard above the funky music played in the bar and the pine and palm trees cast welcoming shade over the choice of sun loungers and comfy chairs lined up just feet from the bungalow door.

The American owner, Kerri, offered us a warm and inviting welcome; the food is good and the beer is cheap and cold. Other guests were a mixed crowd of mainly young backpackers and those holidaying for a short while.

Whilst there is certainly higher end accommodation along the beach, we decided to stay another night and enjoyed the chilled funky and relaxed vibe the place offers and the memories of earlier years spent on SEA beaches with nothing more strenuous to do than order another beer and roll another fat one.

If you remember backpacking around the South East Asian beaches 25 years ago, and fancy re-living the experience, then this is as good a sport as any!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroSaigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrierheasmith, Owner at Everythang, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thanks for the awesome review, Peter! Hope you and the misses made it home without too many more "adventures". Please come back sometime!

Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Everythang has a laid back atmosphere, the staff is fun and friendly, food is good and the beach is literally right outside the bungalows. It was exactly what we needed because we came for the beach, the sun, and the ocean. There's papasan chairs, cushioned couches and beach chairs to relax in. Otres Beach is beautiful and the sunsets are gorgeous. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dardar_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrierheasmith, Owner at Everythang, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thanks for the awesome review, Darlene. Come back soon!

Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.3 mi away
Good Time Resort
Good Time Resort
#22 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pat Pat Guesthouse
Pat Pat Guesthouse
#8 of 231 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otres Orchid
Otres Orchid
#30 of 139 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Otres Lodge
Otres Lodge
#9 of 139 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eolia Beach Bungalows Resort
Eolia Beach Bungalows Resort
#74 of 139 in Sihanoukville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chez Paou
Chez Paou
#25 of 139 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everythang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everythang

Property: Everythang
Address: 4 Sangkat | Mittakpheap, Otres Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia (Formerly Everything Is Everything)
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on the sands of beautiful Otres Beach, Everythang is a small casual guesthouse with 6 comfy beach bungalows, a penthouse that sleeps 3 (with a killer view!) and a mixed dorm room for 6; all spaced around a huge geodesic dome which houses the bar and restaurant. Everythang's menu consists of a little bit of, well, everythang. Top notch Chef Ta does the standard Khmer fare to your tastes, as well as some specials you won't find at most places. A small sample of the western fare, that she has perfected, includes pancakes, eggs benedict, hummus, fried chicken, a range of salads, and the biggest hits - the taco and burrito. Once a week, we spice things up with a Spanish Tapas menu (mmmm Sangria!). Everythang's bar is a great place to have a 50 cent Happy Hour draft and tell your travel tales. Later on you can get loose with some of our custom cocktails. Like to sing and dance, you say? Well get up on your pedestal, we've got the mic! If you're a little sick of the beach (what?!), shoot some hoops out back, go for a bike ride, play some chess, or motivate one of us to lead a yoga class. Boat trips, day trips to Ream National Park or the waterfalls, bus tickets and visas can all be arranged by our travel agent just out back. So come stay with us, cause life is a beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Everythang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing