We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed our stay”
Review of Makara Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Makara Guesthouse
Ranked #87 of 237 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 June 2014

we usally stay at golden sand hotel but was booked out so we gave Makara a try, stayed nearly one week good service friendly staff and attentive ate most days there either for breakfast or dinner and food was great ,clean rooms and quiet will be back

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Nice and friendly staff.
Really helpful boss!
He was very polite and took care of many of my issues himself.
We felt welcomed at all points. Spacious and clean rooms.
Scooter rental was fair and good.

We can highly recommend this place but you will Need some vehicle to get to the beaches...

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Marian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights in total at the Macara Bungalows and felt really welcomed and treated well.
The Boss/owner himself took care of Mandy things, was really helpful and polite.
We only made very good experiences with the kindness of the staff, Scooter rental and our nice and clean room!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Nice place with a good pool but now over priced for Cambodia, pay this price at Otres beach but no here
Have stayed at this place a number of times but no more, the price has jumped from $20 a night to a ridicules $35 a night in six months,high season or not still a big jump in price for such an out of the way hotel. Staff at the front desk have changed now not very friendly (young guy and maybe his mother), stayed at a more user friendly hotel GBT3 on the beach
Room Tip: Will need a moto or a tuk tuk to get around
See more room tips

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Have stayed at this place a number of times but no more, the price has jumped from $20 a night to a ridicules $35 a night in six months, for such an out of the way hotel. Staff at the front desk have changed now not very friendly (young guy and maybe his mother), stayed at a more user friendly hotel GBT3 on the beach

Room Tip: Will need a moto or a tuk tuk to get around
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

This guest house is really nice. The rooms are comfortable with great air con. The pool is clean and the garden is gorgeous. It's a small and cosy guest house. The staff are lovely and very helpful. Hospitality is new to Cambodia and sometimes the staff don't know when to back off but at Makara they are the prefect balance of helpful and friendly! They even have us a little departure hand made scarf as a gift. It seems to be a family they are so kind! We also rented a motorbike for 5 bucks for 24 hours the bikes are great and in good nick. The restaurant has decent food with again lovely staff! The guest house is about 1km from down town but I assure you that's a good thing as it can be a bit seedy down there at night! This place was perfect for us as couple and I think great for singles and families!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Vanessab86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This is my third stay in Makara, first at the new location. It has improved a lot. The new rooms are much better, rooms are comfortable, they even have a pool nowadays! Rooms are cleaned everyday, you don't have to ask for it. The premises are cleaned several times a day. In all everything is very well kept.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kluckmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
2.0 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#9 of 75 in Sihanoukville
1,512 reviews
1.2 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 75 in Sihanoukville
658 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#1 of 75 in Sihanoukville
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#2 of 75 in Sihanoukville
731 reviews
6.7 mi away
Golden River Bungalows
Golden River Bungalows
#67 of 237 in Sihanoukville
134 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#23 of 75 in Sihanoukville
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makara Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makara Guesthouse

Address: Ochheuteal Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 237 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range: £20 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 41

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing