We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Makara Bungalows
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$42
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Don Bosco Hotel School(Sihanoukville)
US$26
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sahaa Beach Resort(Sihanoukville)
US$98
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ren Resort(Sihanoukville)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Club Resort(Sihanoukville)
US$26
US$20
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamu Hotel(Sihanoukville)
US$93
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$78
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sok Sabay Resort(Sihanoukville)
US$28
US$26
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deluxx Boutique Hotel(Sihanoukville)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
34
35
8
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
35
8
6
6
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

The owner and staff are quite friendly, and its a short tuk tuk ride away from the center of town ($1 consistently for the 1km ride if your good at negotiating... $3-5 if your not). You can hire a scooter from the reception for $5 for 24hrs. I wouldn't exactly say the place resembles my idea of being bungalows, and they are about 40 metres away from the beach. The pool is clean and looks quite nice at night, and all the rooms surround it. Not a bad budget choice

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BigKeVvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Been travelling for two weeks now through out Cambodia (many great reviews to come once we are home) however this is being written so others may not make the simple mistakes we have over the last week!

We began our stay in Otres beach which was lovely however quite basic so for 3 days of our stay we moved- one of the biggest reasons was for aircon in the evenings.

This place seemed pretty good so we checked in. The rooms are clean with great aircon, there's a tv which we never used. There is hot water available for a shower which was another bonus to us however the water pressure is very low.

The problems- location: either stay at otres if you want a nice relaxing time away from the crowds with a nice beach, or if you want to be in the action get a hotel in town. This "guest house" is neither here nor there, not on the beach, not really close to any where.

Laundry- do not do your laundry here, it's usual to pay 1 dollar a kilo everywhere here however we made the mistake of not asking for the price (granted out fault) however we only had a couple of items. The laundry took two days before we got it back (some places have a 3 hour turnaround) with an 8 dollar charge for just a few items!

Scooter rental- cheap at 5 dollars and after hearing the horror stories rented from the hotel- tyres needed pumping and the needle was bent round the empty gauge. Again I would expect this from a random stall but not from our relatively pricey guesthouse.

Staff- quite abrupt at times, certainly no where near as good as every where else we stayed.

Pool- not sure on reviews of pool it's badly positioned in the middle of all the rooms, we didn't see it used once in our stay. It's not much bigger than your average paddling pool and why bother when there's a beautiful beach a tuk tuk ride away.

To summarise, this place for Cambodia is expensive, there are plenty of charming places to stay along the beach in Otres or in town if you want to be close to the action. Oh and finally a late check out is not an option. Forced to sit in the bar area for two hours as apparently the place was full. This would have been fine if it wasn't a blatant lie!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I wasn't too keen on Sihanoukville as a place as it's so noisy and busy- not really my kind of holiday destination- I was here on the way to the islands, Makara however is situated perfectly so that you are near enough the action to be able to benefit from the great restaurants and nightlife if you want it- also a quick moto journey to the quieter prettier beaches of otres. The pool is amazing, the staff are so friendly and helpful they can't do enough to make your stay perfect. The layout of the hotel is really intimate yet private, the rooms are well serviced and quiet. I only stayed for a night as we were going to Koh Thmei the next day - but I would definitely have stayed longer despite not really liking the town that much- it was just so relaxing and good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessieso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

After staying at a horrid bungalow by Otres beach, decided to come here. In high season, managed to get a bungalow no issue. After an hour here the missus decided she wanted to stay a 2nd night rather than head to Phnom Penh. The owener accomodated us without any hassle.

He asked many times if the boss was happy. Made us feel very welcome. The food is nice, restaurant is plush and about what you'd pay if you went somewhere else in town.

Rooms have flatscreens tv with Satalite aircon, warm water, two beds and a window. Really cosy

Wish I'd known about this place before but will stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cybernator_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

The staff and manager are very friendly and helpful. The rooms have twin beds. We had an issue with the blankets: I found some stains. On our request they changed them immediately. The bathroom seemed to be clean although the mirror had stains like after brushing one's teeth.
The restaurant is good. And for breakfast you get also yoghurt (although sweetened) which is not common in Seanoukville.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Marzia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews