We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd stay at this hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Makara Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Makara Bungalows
Ranked #31 of 231 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2nd stay at this hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Decided after flying from Hong Kong and needing to arrange my Vietnam visa to come straight to sihanoukville from Phnom Penh for some r and r time. We checked in at 7ish and no problem. Chilled in the pool. Quick dinner before bed.

Over the next few days Myself and my Khmer wife have managed to relax. Being close enough to Ochuteal beach to walk there short tuk tuk ride to otres or downtown Sihanoukville but quiet where you can sleep through the night no problem.

Owner is attentive to our needs and friendly.

2nd time herevand would stay a 3rd.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cybernator_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    33
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
43
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Actually!!! my wife and i went there for some meals and we knew nearly everything about it. one of their staffs told us about the bosses ,the managers and the wages. We didn't expect to know this but when we know it so bad. They're not happy to work with them salary either working times too long(start 7am until 10:30pm with salary $50 for one month and no day off) unbelievable...Avoid this place believe me if you want to wast your money with very bad services.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niederlenz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I was staying one night there (on my way to Kep): nice complex with only, if I remember right, 14 rooms placed around the pool.
Rooms are nice. I did not have breakfast, so I can not judge this.
Within one minute you're down at the ocean.
I'd rather not stay again in Sihanoukville. But if so, Makara Bungalow would be a nice, quiet place.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a good pool view with the exception of, if I'm not mistaken 106, 107, 206...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaDu13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

The owner and staff are quite friendly, and its a short tuk tuk ride away from the center of town ($1 consistently for the 1km ride if your good at negotiating... $3-5 if your not). You can hire a scooter from the reception for $5 for 24hrs. I wouldn't exactly say the place resembles my idea of being bungalows, and they are about 40 metres away from the beach. The pool is clean and looks quite nice at night, and all the rooms surround it. Not a bad budget choice

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BigKeVvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Been travelling for two weeks now through out Cambodia (many great reviews to come once we are home) however this is being written so others may not make the simple mistakes we have over the last week!

We began our stay in Otres beach which was lovely however quite basic so for 3 days of our stay we moved- one of the biggest reasons was for aircon in the evenings.

This place seemed pretty good so we checked in. The rooms are clean with great aircon, there's a tv which we never used. There is hot water available for a shower which was another bonus to us however the water pressure is very low.

The problems- location: either stay at otres if you want a nice relaxing time away from the crowds with a nice beach, or if you want to be in the action get a hotel in town. This "guest house" is neither here nor there, not on the beach, not really close to any where.

Laundry- do not do your laundry here, it's usual to pay 1 dollar a kilo everywhere here however we made the mistake of not asking for the price (granted out fault) however we only had a couple of items. The laundry took two days before we got it back (some places have a 3 hour turnaround) with an 8 dollar charge for just a few items!

Scooter rental- cheap at 5 dollars and after hearing the horror stories rented from the hotel- tyres needed pumping and the needle was bent round the empty gauge. Again I would expect this from a random stall but not from our relatively pricey guesthouse.

Staff- quite abrupt at times, certainly no where near as good as every where else we stayed.

Pool- not sure on reviews of pool it's badly positioned in the middle of all the rooms, we didn't see it used once in our stay. It's not much bigger than your average paddling pool and why bother when there's a beautiful beach a tuk tuk ride away.

To summarise, this place for Cambodia is expensive, there are plenty of charming places to stay along the beach in Otres or in town if you want to be close to the action. Oh and finally a late check out is not an option. Forced to sit in the bar area for two hours as apparently the place was full. This would have been fine if it wasn't a blatant lie!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I wasn't too keen on Sihanoukville as a place as it's so noisy and busy- not really my kind of holiday destination- I was here on the way to the islands, Makara however is situated perfectly so that you are near enough the action to be able to benefit from the great restaurants and nightlife if you want it- also a quick moto journey to the quieter prettier beaches of otres. The pool is amazing, the staff are so friendly and helpful they can't do enough to make your stay perfect. The layout of the hotel is really intimate yet private, the rooms are well serviced and quiet. I only stayed for a night as we were going to Koh Thmei the next day - but I would definitely have stayed longer despite not really liking the town that much- it was just so relaxing and good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessieso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

After staying at a horrid bungalow by Otres beach, decided to come here. In high season, managed to get a bungalow no issue. After an hour here the missus decided she wanted to stay a 2nd night rather than head to Phnom Penh. The owener accomodated us without any hassle.

He asked many times if the boss was happy. Made us feel very welcome. The food is nice, restaurant is plush and about what you'd pay if you went somewhere else in town.

Rooms have flatscreens tv with Satalite aircon, warm water, two beds and a window. Really cosy

Wish I'd known about this place before but will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cybernator_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.0 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#18 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Zentao
Villa Zentao
#21 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eolia Beach Bungalows Resort
Eolia Beach Bungalows Resort
#74 of 139 in Sihanoukville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chochi Garden Guest House
Chochi Garden Guest House
#9 of 231 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le D'Artagnan
Le D'Artagnan
#4 of 231 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Don Bosco Hotel School
Don Bosco Hotel School
#3 of 231 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makara Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makara Bungalows

Property: Makara Bungalows
Address: Preah Lumhei Phumin Street | Ochheuteal Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Makara Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Makara Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing