We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really neat hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Nice bungalows, good pool and restaurant with a lounge directly on beautiful otres beach. Really good food and very nice and well trained staff. The only negative point was that the bungalow that we were staying in was in the back and got all the noise from the neighboring company which started work at 6 am every day.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

My family and friends stayed here at the Secret Garden in Otres Beach, on Aug 1st for a weekend break. The service was very good, especially Saron -their manager, and Chhun - in the restaurant!
Saron always said yes...to every request we had! He is such a charming character there.
Otres beach has always been a favorite of mine and my family as there's not that many people and beach is always kept clean, especially infront of The Secret Garden.

To Sarah and Saron, keep up the good work! I hope you continue to keep this little beach as pristine as it is. I know it's not easy...

If you are in Phnom Penh, and looking for a nice weekend getaway... with good service and good amenities...stay at the Secret Garden!

- Anna

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Now with the construction on the right side, you would enjoy the oudoor shower w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Annapawlik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

It is quite a distance to get to Otres 2 where Secret Garden is located. Some form of transport such as their ‘tuk-tuks’ is needed to get in/out. But we personally didn’t mind it at all as there are less establishments at Otres 2 and hence more peace. To reach Secret Garden, after the main road, it is all mud track of short distance. Not too convenient during rainy season (which we were in) as there are puddles of muddy water. But we didn’t encounter much problems are their ‘super tuk-tuks’ can get across it or you can ask to get drop off at their back door which the main road has direct access to.

Room-wise, it was basic but had everything we need. Bed was a bit too hard though. Not comfortable if you tend to sleep on your sides. Shower area is under the starlight towards the back of the hut. Hut is of concrete with a thatched roof. We had a tokay gecko visiting us every night and it was a nice sight for people like us living in the city.

Overall, room is clean, air-con is working, staff are friendly & helpful and the food at their restaurant which is right on the beach front is good. No nasty smells which some reviewers experienced and the construction noise did not affect us much as it was minimal. We stayed in the Petunia room which was a single unit at the back of the resort. Try to request for this room.

Oh, and the owner has 5 dogs who are always roaming the restaurant. Lovely addition!

Room Tip: Get the Petunia room. Located at the back of the resort, hence perhaps less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank satinchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Secret Garden has a lot going for it, It's pretty, right on the beach and the individual cottages are spacious and nice. However, beware that there is major construction taking place next door at the moment. We stayed in Bamboo cottage which is right beside the construction. We went there for a rest and found that afternoon sleeps and even trying to go to sleep before 10pm was out of the question as the noisy construction went on til that time 2 of the 3 nights we were there.Our room also had a rather nasty sewerage type smell. The restaurant food is generally good but quite expensive. At the moment it is the rainy season and the muddy road to the hotel is a nightmare, particularly in a tuktuk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the construction as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank friendnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Amazing service with probably the best manager ever. Very good food at the restaurant. Still a great stay even if the weather isn't good. I highly recommend this place. Met some amazing people ! But try get one of the front rooms as the back ones have a little stench.

Room Tip: Try get the front rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kristi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

the welcome drink is any choice from the drinks menu. what a great start! Other reviews correctly highlight the location being quite an idyllic part of Otres beach, Best reached by car (10 mins) or tuk tuk.(15 mins). the final stretch of about 500m is very muddy and full of huge potholes. the restaurant is located right on the beach so can't go wrong there. the food is quite good although choices somewhat limited. it is a pity the kitchen is the other side of the road and staff carry food across the muddy road sometimes in pouring rain - okay with umbrella. the rooms are stand alone brick huts and quite basic with cheap bamboo furniture and jungle shower. each hut has its own verandah. be careful of the ankle-twisting pathways which look like they are made to save money rather than some funky tropical natural feature. My issue is price. about 4 years ago the rooms were about $40-50 in high season and now $86 in monsoon and $110+ in high season (at the time there was a promotion for stay 2 and get one free) . the business does well (staff say so and internet booking suggests (near) full occupancy)because there is little choice for the mid-range ideal locale, but in my opinion being a resident in Cambodia this is overpriced by about $20-30 per night.
and why have 3-4 quite large dogs in restaurant sometimes asleep on the chairs. I saw two chase after children running by on the road. fortunately they backed off when close but quite scary. I realize dogs are important for "night duty" but lets keep it to that only. so for me pros and cons balance for an "average" rating

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snapper-tales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dora m, Owner at The Secret Garden at Otres Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor!
We're happy that you enjoyed our restaurant. We work very hard to make sure that our food is served fresh and delicious, and many of the fruits, vegetables and herbs we use are grown in our own gardens.
Re. the dogs at Secret Garden, we do currently have a couple of rescue dogs, for which we are looking for good homes. The dogs are up to date with their shots. We are sorry if they caused you any upset.
You might have The Secret Garden confused with somewhere else, as we only opened only 2 years ago, in April 2012. Our opening rates, which coincided with the low season, were at a promotional rate. Since June 2012 our prices have remained the same, dependent on the season, although now we are obliged to charge VAT on our rooms. The rate is currently $79 per night - the same as last low season, and we have the same promotion we have had since 2012 - stay 2 nights, get a 3rd night free. This in fact works out at $52.67 per night!
Again, thanks for your review, and we do hope you will visit us again in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

A fab little restaurant right on the beach at Otres 2
There isn't a lot of eating places to choose from at this part of the beach, so once we found this place, we went there most days.
A well appointed restaurant overlooking the sea. Good for chill out drinks during the day and dining in the evening. Tasty Khmer cooking can be had here, particularly good was the Khmer end curry and the snapper in lemongrass. Staff are really friendly, and take the time of day to find out a bit about their customers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasPolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.1 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#3 of 76 in Sihanoukville
517 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#1 of 76 in Sihanoukville
744 reviews
6.0 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 76 in Sihanoukville
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#8 of 76 in Sihanoukville
1,532 reviews
4.6 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#2 of 76 in Sihanoukville
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Boutique Hotel
White Boutique Hotel
#9 of 76 in Sihanoukville
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Secret Garden at Otres Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Garden at Otres Beach

Address: Otres Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Price Range: £47 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Secret Garden is located at the secluded end of Otres Beach, Sihanoukville, Cambodia. Our resort is designed to maximise the privacy of our guests, with detached bungalows set among lush gardens. Our bungalows are all equipped with A/C, free Wifi, minibar, and in our double bungalows,an attached jungle shower. We also feature Otres Beach's most beautiful swimming pool with kids' pool attached. At our beach bar & restaurant, you can relax and enjoy one of our signature cocktails at sunset, and try our great selection of Asian and Western cuisine. Happy hour specials every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Secret Garden at Otres Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing