We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly place to stay”
Review of Panda Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sihanoukville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Panda Guesthouse
Ranked #72 of 233 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Warm and friendly place to stay”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

A friend and I stayed here for two nights and we found it very charming.
The price was great, the owner was very helpful and interesting to talk to. Patrick helped us find a cheap tuk tuk to the market, so we wouldn't get ripped off.

The rooms didn't have a window- so it made sleeping in really easy!

The shower head was a little leaky, but overall it is a great place to stay. Good value for money and very helpful owners.

I would stay here again if I come back to Sihanoukville.
Say hi to Wolfie for me!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandraphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    10
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
12
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Warm and friendly welcome on arrival, rooms clean and as shown in pitchers. Close to the beach (about 5 mins walk) Great breakfast.All the staff are helpful and the owner Patrick is very knowledgeable and happy to help. A very good place to stay for the price. :0)

I would recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phinn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potsdam, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I spent 3 nights in Panda Guesthouse and I enjoyed my stay. As I wrote in the headline it's a simple furnished guesthouse and I don't know every single room but my room, bed and bathroom were clean. Also I had the impression the rooms are save! I had a deluxe twin bed room with the benefit of aircon for 18,- $ per night and I think this is a little bit overcharged because unfortunately breakfast and pick up from the bus station are not included and no Wi-Fi in the rooms, only in the gound floor bar area... 12 - 14,- $ would be a better price.
The owner Patrick is a very nice, friendly and helpful english guy and animal lover. He has 2 very cute and gentle dogs... Wolf & Lockey! He took them from the street and gave them a new home. Also the team is very friendly, helpful and always willing to chat with you.
In the ground floor of the guesthouse you can find a nice bar with a pool table where you can buy a lot of beverages and good food.
If you're looking for a high-class-5-stars-guesthouse... go to another place!
If you're looking for a guesthouse with friendly and warm athmosphere check in at Panda Guesthouse.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed here for five nights. The rooms were basic and clean. AC didn't work well. The shower was really bad. There was big problems with electric, powercuts many times a day. The owner has two dogs and the another one was irritating. The dog barks almost all the time and jumping into your back and try to bite you, not so good! And i always like dogs. If you have guesthouse you can't keep free your dog if you aren't sure your dogs behavior! Sihanoukville was worse place!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trawellerit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

This place sucks.

From the horrible service on arrival, to the owner with a swastika tattooed on his arm, to the damp, dark smelly rooms, with damp smelly towels, an absence of sheets and cleaning this place has it all - where all refers to the basic tenets of horrible accommodation.

Yes it's cheap, but i'm not here to review the price.

This place sucks.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aidan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panda Guesthous... S, Owner at Panda Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
well I am suprised that you returned to a dark ,damp hole that you feared that you could not escape damanding to use the shower for free after your trip to the island .You had checked out 3 days before and had seemed quite happy and had not complaned about any thing.When you or your boyfreind did use the shower any way and flooded the recepton you were told to leave and that is why you have made a false review filled with lies.All beding is supplied and towless are changed as and when requsted as is the case with most hotels or guesthouses.As to the horrible service on arrivle was hat the fact that you were asked to pay as per terms and conditions?

And to close the tatoo that you refare to is a Hindu / Buddhist sign meaning peace and light which was revarsed by the SNP in Germany to become the Swastika'' but I fear your education seems rather poor but then some people see what they wish to see not what is in front of them
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We arrived during the busy new year season and enjoyed our stay here. The owners were very helpful with giving us advise about the town. The Rooms where clean and pleasant. the location is within walking distance from all the mane bats and restraints

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlonamersi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Booked our room in advance as many places had been fully booked in the other cities we had visited so didn't want to take the chance. Was obvious that the place had only recently opened so you have to excuse a few things like the door handle being taped up and paint job needing updating. However what cannot be excused was the horrible smell of damp in our room and the fact that it felt like you we're sitting in a rainforest.
However those where the only problems that we had. The owners where lovely and you could have a good old chat at the bar. The breakfast was lovely and the 2 resident dogs were adorable. One decided she wanted to join us in our room. Would defiantly stay there again would just insist we had a different room.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoebolto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.2 mi away
The Harbour Boutique Hotel
The Harbour Boutique Hotel
#12 of 74 in Sihanoukville
30 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Zentao
Villa Zentao
#19 of 74 in Sihanoukville
123 reviews
1.2 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 74 in Sihanoukville
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fitness Resort Sihanoukville
Fitness Resort Sihanoukville
#13 of 143 in Sihanoukville
39 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#9 of 74 in Sihanoukville
1,467 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Nataya Sihanoukville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panda Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panda Guesthouse

Property: Panda Guesthouse
Address: Golden Lions Circle, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 233 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the beaches, we are the ideal guesthouse, bar and restaurant from which to enjoy your stay in Sihanoukville. Panda Guesthouse is an ethical business, employing local staff and providing on the job training. We are adjoining 'Island Divers' so we especially welcome divers and those taking their PADI certificates. Our on-site bar and restaurant makes your stay complete. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing