We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Huge Mixed Bag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thaiyang Chhen Hotel
Ranked #30 of 74 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is one of the biggest mixed bags of a hotel I've ever stayed at. I'm just dumbfounded. Some things were incredible while others seriously lacked. And after my lengthy five day stay, I have a pretty good idea of how the hotel works. Oh, well, we have to start somewhere.

Let's start with food. The breakfast at the hotel was different every day, which was nice, but this meant that some days the food was better than others. It was mostly good, though, the standards; pancakes, bread, jam, eggs, etc.. However, some days, especially weekends, when there is high demands, the kitchen will clearly struggle to cope with the high demand of food, resulting in many empty dishes. Room service was a disaster. We called the front desk (during the time that the menu said room service was open) and asked for room service, and they said they were closed. We called again, a different person answered, and they told us to dial 777 to get the kitchen. We did, and all of a sudden, I was hung up on. After calling again, they asked us which room number we were and hung up. After calling again, I said I wanted to order before they could hang up. They said ok. Literally twenty minutes later (still on the phone) the guy says that ordering on the phone is too confusing and he will come up to our room to take our order. Keep in mind, we're ordering three scoops of ice cream. That's it. So he comes up, takes our order, and sure enough, ten minutes later, we get our ice cream after a 40 minute affair. Not to be overly dramatic, but I don't recommend ordering room service.

Rooms- our room was nice enough- spacious, large, a mini fridge, great bathroom, although hot water takes awhile, and OK beds. The rooms were spotlessly cleaned. And there was a jacuzzi BLAM! in the center of the room. I'm serious. In front of the TV. And it didn't work the first night, but after talking to the manager they fixed it.

Design- I usually don't write about this, because it really doesn't matter, but when you walk in this hotel, and then your room, for the first time, the first thing to pop into your head will be "wow, this is weird". And it is. It's like you gave someone with ADHD half of the money used to design a fancy hotel, and told him to design a fancy hotel.

Staff- All of the staff were extremely helpful, they honestly did their very best to ensure that you were having a pleasant stay, which is the only thing that solidified the rating as four stars instead of three. The staff were extremely nice, and they even put a surprise cake in our refrigerator because it was my birthday. Unfortunately, though, for some of them, their English was a bit poor. Anna is the front service manager, and she will do everything she can to make your stay better, but, like the other staff, will sometimes misinterpret or misunderstand what you're saying.

Location- this hotel is located on the main road just off serendipity beach, and it is only about a 10 minute walk away from the bustling downtown. Not a beachfront hotel, but still a good location.

Swimming- This, in itself, is a mixed bag. The hotel pool is lovely, and is a great spot to swim. There are free Tuk-Tuks to the hotel's own private property on Otres beach. The first day we went, the experience was fantastic; warm showers outside with soap and shampoo, and some of the softest towels I've ever used. The next day, however, was a different story. The showers had neither soap nor shampoo and after questioning the staff, all we got was "no have today". There were no towels, either. We asked the staff, and they said we'd have them in an hour. We left two and a half hours later, still without towels.

Value- at $120 a room, this is quite pricy. However, if you compare it to its boutique rivals, you'll find that it's actually a lot less then what the others are offering. But it still doesn't match up in terms of quality to the other fancy hotels.

Overall, this is one mixed bag, with some interesting results, and at the price point, it's your decision. Congratulations if you made it through this. Pat yourself on the back.

Room Tip: Room 301 is the "Superior Deluxe Suite", which is their version of a family room. It's...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cooldude10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCBoutiqueHotel F, Front Office Manager at Thaiyang Chhen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Customer,
is truly a pleasure to read detailed comments so because they are very useful for us to understand where we can improve and for future guests for choose our place!

We hope to see you again soon!

Happy New Year!

All the Staff OC Hotel & OC beach Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Thaiyang Chhen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013

The staff where friendly and very helpful. The rooms where modern, clean with floor to ceiling windows. The breakfast buffet was a nice change from most with a nice variety of both Asian and western items. The pool service was not great, with two staff behind the bar that did not look interested in helping serve. We found the prices here a little high for what seems to be normal for Sihanoukville..

Room Tip: the rooms over looking the pool are nice.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phen C, General Manager at Thaiyang Chhen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear

We are management from OC Boutique Hotel, I’m very happy that you was choosing OC Boutique Hotel, Sihanouk Ville for Your Holiday and Thanks so much for your nice review, we are sorry about our pool bar service that was not great and I’m very happy to get your comment and Thank you very much to you and I’m Appreciate to except to approved with my hotel and my service.

We wish you a Happy New Year to all your family good successful everything that you wish!

We hope to see you soon!

Best Regards


Hotel Management and Staff
OC Boutique Hotel & OC Beach Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed at the hotel with friends during my retreat through friend recommend. The hotel is in very good location just a few minutes walk to the beach. The room is spacious and very comfortable bed equip with modern bathroom amenities and very nice view looking to the big swimming pool and garden especially the stunning view to the sea and mountain on the roof top. The buffet breakfast is very good and we were very enjoy as many selections. I would recommend this hotel to those who is looking for a very convenience location and reasonable price and good atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMHeritage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phen C, General Manager at Thaiyang Chhen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear GMHeritage,

We are management and staff from OC Boutique Hotel, I’m very happy that you was choosing OC Boutique Hotel, Sihanouk Ville for Your Holiday and Thanks so much for your nice review and We wish you a Merry Christmas time in the beautiful Dublin and Happy New Year!

We hope to see you soon!

Best Regards


Hotel Management and Staff
OC Boutique Hotel & OC Beach Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Checked into this hotel and was pleasantly surprised at the clean room! Everything is gray stone or white painted. Just a bit small if you were staying more than a few days. Two short blocks to the beach on the Gulf of Thailand, easy walking distance. And along the beachfront, there must be hundreds of small restaurants and bars.

The hotel has an infinity pool just inside the entrance to the hotel. Breakfast is provided, and each room has a good wireless internet (free). The air conditioning in the rooms is a little inadequate for very hot days, they are small wall overhead units. Nice flat screen TV with about 30 or 40 channels, not many in English, but I didn't come to watch TV anyway! You should get out and explore this unique and more relaxed city.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a room on one of the lower floors, there is no elevator.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 70TucsonTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCBoutiqueHotel F, Front Office Manager at Thaiyang Chhen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Costumer,

Thanks for your constructive review about the long stay!
We work in progress!
Equally we are really happy that you have enjoyed the OC Hotel,
OC Beach Club in Otress and our beloved Sihanoukville.

From all the STAFF
Happy Christmas and Happy New Year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Beautiful rooms, friendly staff, high quality. Has it's own private beach club 6 mins away which the hotel provide private transport toad from.nice pool, plenty of sun loungers, nice bar.
Staff very friendly, good English speaking staff,deal with any issues very quickly. Close to bar and restaurant areas.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are really good,very large,ground floor rooms,pool side actually have direct access...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billylynch_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCBoutiqueHotel F, Front Office Manager at Thaiyang Chhen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Hy Billy,
the staff of OC Hotel think that you are a friendly and funny customer too.
Thanks so much for your nice review.
We wish you a Merry Christmas time in the beautiful Dublin and Happy New Year!

We hope to see you soon!

THE STAFF
OC Hotel & OC Beach Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I had a relaxing time close to everywhere. Beautiful pool & clean room. the area is a five minute walk to the beach. It also has nightlife within easy walking distance. Overall a nice place. Will defiantly stay there again. Also nice buffet breakfast...

Room Tip: Choose new or old part of hotel depending on budget....
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren7519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCBoutiqueHotel F, Front Office Manager at Thaiyang Chhen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Good morning Darren,

i'm Romy Front Office Manager of Oc Hotel,
just i want to say thanks for your directly and effective comment,
is really helpful and appreciated for us.

So we hope to see you soon!!!
By all staff from Oc Hotel & OC Beach Club...

Merry christmas and happy New year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Three of us spent a couple of days here last week and thoroughly enjoyed the place, the people, the pool and the breakfast. Very well designed, laid out and executed rooms which were spotlessly bright and clean. Close to the Golden a Lions, the beach scene and the bar scene you could walk almost anywhere if necessary, tuk tuks outside the door. Great pool and garden area, good mixed drinks and service. Only ate breakfast there which was excellent, try the pho. Would definitely stay here again. We shifted to Sokha as we had ladies joining us and it looked and was more romantic, not to mention more expensive.

Room Tip: Elevator nit working so get a low floor if you don't like stairs.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBOTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phen C, General Manager at Thaiyang Chhen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear JBOTR

I'm manager from OC Boutique Hotel, I’m very happy that you was choosing OC Boutique Hotel, Sihanouk Ville for Your Holiday and we are sorry about our elevator that not yet work and I’m very happy to get your comment and Thank you very much to you and I’m Appreciate to except to approved with my hotel and my service.

Best Regards


Hotel Management and Staff
OC Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#16 of 74 in Sihanoukville
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Miiya Hotel
Miiya Hotel
#23 of 74 in Sihanoukville
45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Villa Nataya Sihanoukville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#3 of 74 in Sihanoukville
377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coolabah Hotel
Coolabah Hotel
#18 of 74 in Sihanoukville
608 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#20 of 74 in Sihanoukville
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaiyang Chhen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaiyang Chhen Hotel

Address: Street 23 Tola, Sangkat 4 | Ocheuteal Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia (Formerly OC Boutique Hotel)
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 74 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Price Range: £35 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thaiyang Chhen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaiyang Chhen Hotel has 100 stylish designed guestrooms and suites. Our hotel interiors, rooms and suites are graced with a distinctive and contemporary style which successfully blends Khmer culture with understated elegance and fashion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Thaiyang Chhen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing