We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Got stuck here: Cheap and so Friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hacienda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Got stuck here: Cheap and so Friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

The staff here are awesome. The rooms cheap, beds comfy and bar constantly stocked. The only downer was the internet. No wifi and only one crappy laptop next to reception. They say it was because they want people to be social but it made it very hard to leave since you couldn't research where to go next! The place is quite a way from the beach and you'll have to get a yuk yuk every time you go to Otres or Shianoukville since none of the bicycles work! But I literally had THE BEST time here. I was there for Christmas 2013 and everyone there made the place like one big family. The best thing about this place is the FREE dorm. If you are a long term stayer you can literally sleep in a dorm free - they just make money off you from the bar and restaurant. The private rooms are gorgeous and super clean and the common area comfy and social. Eddie the owner is a legend :). TIP: If in the dorm don't leave valuable out as they might go missing (I had $50 stolen by a room mate while in the shower).

Room Tip: Free dorm for long term stayers. Private bungalows are super clean and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePoorExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    18
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
1
19
55
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

awesome atmosphere, awesome staff and awesome location. Close to the nice, clean Otres beach. Welcoming staff and atmosphere. Everyone there seemed to be having a great time and was really friendly. I would definitely recommend it to young travellers and couples looking for fun and bit of partying but still a relaxing time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rastabrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This is a wee gem of a place! Some friends who we we traveling with for a short time mentioned they were moving on to this place with a free dorm and we wondered what the catch was - there isn't one.
We arrived being unsure of what to expect and within minutes we were all chilling at the bar in big comfy sets, enjoying some good music smiling at each other saying " I like it here, I like it a lot! "
We ordered some food which was awesome! Even my 14 year old son who can be very fussy loved the food here, their chef is brilliant!
All in all I would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotsnow79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeju, South Korea
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

What an amazing place Eddie, Karina and staff have developed. As I am sure you have garnered from other reviews, people love it here and I am no different.

Our trip started out with a slight bump as one of our reserved rooms wasn't available but we rolled with it. I will say, having the same experience happen at our first destination, it was wonderful to have Eddie take a moment to explain the issue and be apologetic. Damn if that didn't go a LONG way.

I honestly don't even know where to start with my review. Maybe the best part...The Staff!! Started with Sammy and just kept getting better. We spent so much of our time at Hacienda relaxing, talking, drinking, eating and dancing in the bar area. Such a great spot to relax and meet people.

The food was amazing, the western and Khmer alike. The Lok lak was the tastiest I had all in Cambodia. and the mashed potatoes...um yeah!!

The location was a small, dusty walk away from Otres 2, a stretch of beach that I found to be highly enjoyable. It is very quiet with no restaurants/peddlers/bars, etc. Plenty of trees line the beach to provide shade. Otres 1 is just a walk down the beach and has plenty of restaurants/peddlers/bars, etc. On Saturday nights there is a market just across the way and it was quite an experience. Loud, live music, full of foreigners and western food. It was great.

The two rooms we stayed in were very clean and comfortable. I preferred the room with the bathroom that was on the "back" of the property, on the water. It was far enough from the bar that a good nights rest was easily obtained.

Thank you so very much for having my friends and I. I would love to come back some day! I absolutely recommend staying here (and have already done so with several friends who are planning trips)!

*With the free dorm stay, this is a "backpackers" paradise . They tended to be a loud, friendly and awesome crowd full of laughs and stories. If you are looking for a more reserved, quiet stay, this isn't the place.

Room Tip: If you can spare the extra monies, get a room with en-suite and towards the back of the property (aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theWorldisMyEggshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

As with most visitors to Hacienda I ended up staying a lot longer than planned. Nearly 4 weeks!!! I stayed over Xmas and new year and loved every minute of it. Definitely one of the best bars in the Otres area great music, great food and atmosphere, super cool staff and owners.
Be prepared to be charmed by Karina, Eddie, Sam Sarah Paige and Ruth and hang around for Otres Market every Sat.Although hacienda is not on the beach it's only a short walk to either Otres 1 or 2 . I stayed initially in a bungalow which was lovely then moved to the free dorm, yes you heard it right free dorm which is affectionately known as the Favella :) in short Hacienda is a special place and I will definitely go back. the clue is in the name ;)

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jeb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nowhere
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

A great place to stay a little out of the town's but a nice walk down the beach to either otres 1 or otres 2. The bungalows are really nice and they have a free dorm what more can you ask fir great bar and a good community vibe

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank briaino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

As most people who stay at Hacienda, I ended up staying much longer than I planned to, altogether 10 days. The food is really good and the drinks are strong. Some days I never left the bar! The staff, the people, and the animals hanging out at Hacienda are very friendly, and it's impossible not to make new friends. Loved this place!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.9 mi away
Sahaa Beach Resort
Sahaa Beach Resort
#5 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sok Sabay Resort
Sok Sabay Resort
#8 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#3 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#2 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#1 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
3.7 mi away
Onederz Sihanoukville
Onederz Sihanoukville
#1 of 138 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda

Property: Hacienda
Address: Otres Village, opposite Otres Market | Sangkat 4, Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 138 Speciality Lodging in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda is located in Otres Village – a scenic up and coming area 1-2km inland from Otres Beach with an estuary, lakes and abundant greenery. A night market, fishing lakes and paintball are just some of the activities available. Stunning Otres Beach is only a 5 minute walk from Hacienda. It is one of Cambodia’s cleanest and most beautiful beaches and offers lots of water activities, island hopping, great food and night life for all to enjoy - from live acoustic music to electronic parties. Hacienda has a bar and restaurant overlooking gardens and a lovely lake. Our food is cheap, filling and delicious, and our bar is a late night haven where backpackers and expats alike appreciate good stories, great music and loads of bargain Jagermeister shots! Every customer receives a Jaegershot upon arrival. Above the bar and restaurant is a massive movie and games lounge with thousands of new and classic movies and TV series. We are also hosting a Mario Kart Tournament every Sunday with four controllers on a Wii Console. Guests intending to stay a couple of days get stuck for months on end (longterm deals can be arranged). Our accommodation options from high to low end are listed below. All bungalows have fans and mosquito nets. Dorms all have fans and storage lockers. 2 Ensuite Bungalows with fan and double bed and private balcony 4 share bathroom Bungalows with fan an either twin or double be and private balcony 10 bed VIP dorm with fan each bed 10 bed Favela dorm which is free of charge after the first night Directions: If you are coming to us from Sihanoukville City or Serendipity Beach, get a tuk tuk or moto taxi and ask to be taken to Otres Village, Hacienda, opposite the Otres Market. If you are taking your own transport or walking from the Otres beach area go 1 kilometer past Otres 1 in the direction of Otres 2 and then turn left down the sealed road into Otres Village. Once in Otres Village turn right through a large metal gate and follow the Hacienda signs. If you or your moto/tuk tuk driver get lost on the way ask for directions from any local or give us a phone call so we can point you in the right direction. Hostel Conditions: 1. Check in is from 1pm and check out until 12 noon. 2. Cash (USD or KHR) payment only upon arrival. 3. Cancellation policy: At least a 2-day advance notice before the arrival date is required. 4. Age restriction: Hacienda is not suitable for children. No guests under the age of 16 will be checked in. 5. Our reception is open from 8am to at least 10pm every day. 6. Hacienda can be noisy at night time due to our bar and events held in Otres Village. 7. We have a dog and two cats who freely traverse the property. Any people with serious animal allergies should not stay here. 8. No outside pets are welcome. 9. Any guests who break Cambodian law will be evicted immediately and reported to the police. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing