We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sihanoukville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ochheuteal Guesthouse
Ranked #35 of 234 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Rouen, France
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

A very welcoming place, rooms are very clean and spacious. The owner is particularly available for its customers and attentive to our well being, at any time of the day ! The staff is also very friendly. The location of the guesthouse is very convenient: 2 minutes from the beach !

Don't hesitate, book there !!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieESCSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    5
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
12
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

OVERVIEW: Mike's place is a fantastic stop in Sihanoukville. The rooms are simple, comfortable and immaculate. The bar is fun and food is delicious. It is a mere 1/2 a block from the beach but just far away enough to avoid the noise of the busy areas. Mike is an awesome host and the cast of friendly local characters who patronize the bar will make you feel at home and entertained for days. The property is quiet and very safe as there is a 24-hour guard. Ochheuteal Guesthouse is a more than solid choice for Sihanoukville. Clean, safe, fun.

LOCATION: The beach areas of Sihanoukville are heavily laden with bars, clubs and restaurants. When you check the reviews of other guesthouses and hotels in the area, a common complaint is that it is impossible to sleep because of the late-night noise. This property has the best of both worlds - close enough to walk to the action, but far enough away to avoid the noise. We did not hear a peep in our room and slept soundly through the nights. The guesthouse is right off the main road, just down the street from the golden lion monument.

ROOMS: The rooms are immaculate and simple. Fans and A/C are available. The bed was comfortable. There are not many extra frills - but the safety, comfort and space were right up our alley. Plenty of room for luggage. TV in room. Bathroom was fine, water pressure was good and WiFi signal was strong. Though basic, everything is very well taken care of and it is clear Mike takes pride in ownership.

LINENS & AMENITIES: Towels were large and soft and the bed linens were white, fresh and clean. There are a few amenities - toothbrush with toothpaste, bar soap, packet shampoo. Being female travelers, we come prepared with our own sundries but the very basics are provided for.

SERVICE: Mike is always around when you need him. His staff reflects his personality - really nice people. Everyone welcomes you right into the fold. The bar has a bunch of locals who will readily share any and every story you want to hear. They have great advice on the area and will be more than happy to give you pointers. Quite frankly, we loved spending our evenings at Mike's bar chatting it up with his friends and patrons. They were hilarious! Good people attract good people - and you will feel you have made friends by the end of your stay. The staff is very attentive and will always predict or meet your needs.

BAR/RESTAURANT: The food is GREAT here with a local and international menu. Drinks are likewise well priced and poured. We loved the bar!

At the end of your journeys, you typically will remember the people you met along the way more than anything else. Though Ochheateal Guesthouse is not a lavish indulgence, Mike will take good care of you for a great price. Cheers and happy travelling!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

They were fully booked first day we arrived and Mike, the owner drove around on his moped looking for a place for us, everywhere was booked up and as a last resort he asked his lovely daughter if she would mind us staying at her newly required apartment! A genuinely kind and very happy man who will make sure your stay is comfortable. We stayed the next 3 nights after at his guesthouse with large clean rooms with wifi and when our friend turned up he fit him into our room. Can't fault them.

Food, even though may seem a tiny bit more expensive at their restaurant, Smoky's Bar & Grill, is the best food you will find in Sihanoukville cooked by a top chef, seriously if you don't stay here, eat here!

Thank you Mike once again for all your help, you are a blessing to the world.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukeharmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The owner is a very warm hearted fellow be can not do enough for his guests. Any slight request he and his staff are there to help. The rooms are new clean aircon is fantastic and he has a generator that powers the street when most of the town has none. Which is rare in the town. It is located steps from the busiest beach shops within walking distance just a fantastic location. The rooms are reasonably priced for the standard it has a bar and restaurant attached which is well staffed lovely Khmer and western. The food is exquisite. The best I've had in Cambodia big meals well prepared and presented. Home baked bread. The British chef cures his own bacon. Homemade meat and potato pies. But the best I save till last. THE BBQ RIBS. WOW. best I've ever had! And I know my ribs. Very tender very tasty. The owner is happy to show you around guide you to the best spots he posted our post cards and even insisted on taking my friend to the Doctor when he had a nasty cut which got infected. Wish I'd have booked longer.
Highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 659HeidiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The owners and staff are very friendly and knowledgeable of the local area. The rooms have been recently renovated, there is parking, good water pressure, wifi, cable tv, comfortable beds and a great restaurant serving hearty meals for breakfast lunch and dinner. The location is in short walking distance to the beach and bars but far enough away to have some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baz870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms friendly staff and great food close to the beach .,This is a really nice place to stay long or short term ...British owner speaks Herman too ,British chef ,home baked bread and house cured bacon give this place a try

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burgermiester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.1 mi away
Bao Mai Resort
Bao Mai Resort
#33 of 74 in Sihanoukville
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
French Garden Resort
French Garden Resort
#5 of 234 in Sihanoukville
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tranquility Guesthouse
Tranquility Guesthouse
#69 of 234 in Sihanoukville
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Motel 7
Motel 7
#42 of 74 in Sihanoukville
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
8 Elemento
8 Elemento
#58 of 144 in Sihanoukville
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Landscape Boutique Hotel
Landscape Boutique Hotel
#30 of 144 in Sihanoukville
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ochheuteal Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ochheuteal Guesthouse

Property: Ochheuteal Guesthouse
Address: | Ochheuteal Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 25 rooms with a choice of fan and aircon. We have 24 hour friendly staff. We also have a fantastic restaurant serving both International and Cambodian food. The guesthouse is situated at Ochheuteal Beach and all amenities are 5 mins away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing