We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sihanoukville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ochheuteal Guesthouse
Ranked #33 of 233 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I just stayed 3 nights there with my son for a fishing trip. I chose Ochheuteal guesthouse because of the high rating at trip advisor, but my overall experience was not positive. I wonder how my experience was so different from those who rated so high. Maybe my expectation was too high?
Pros: close to beach, spacious front area to park cars, relatively quiet, the old lady with nice smile (I think she lives there).
Cons: smelly dark room (twin beds), mosquitos, not so clean bathroom (toilet), no drinking water, no aircon remote in the room (needed to be brought in from another room and I had to figure out how to get it work which was not an easy task).
I paid $20 per night. I think it's overpriced for the not-so-well maintained room. I stayed much better room before with lower price. I know $10 more could have enabled me and my son to stay at a much nicer place with breakfast included, which I should have done.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank revfish10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    5
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
12
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed here after meeting the owner Mike on the first night we got to Sihanoukville. It may have been more expensive than the GBT which is where most Tuk Tuk drivers will drop you off but it was definitely worth it, we ended up staying for 2 weeks (after one horrendous night at the over rated Mushroom Point, Otres Beach we went back for more) We really felt welcome and Mike and his staff were brilliant. The food was great and the rooms were excellent for the price. The guest house is quiet at night and clean throughout. Really can't recommend enough, we loved it here!
Thanks Mike - get in touch - we need to catch up!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieAndDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Checked out today and would have to say this was the best value lodging I have ever had. Rooms have been recently renovated. Comfortable bed. If I had to be critical I'd say the rooms need a bar fridge for guests to keep drinks as Cambodia is always hot and a cold drink is always a positive. Mike the owner a very helpful and knowledgable man. Will definitely be back again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
194 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for over a week. The owner, Mike, is a super nice and helpful guy. It is quiet and only a few minute walk to the beach, restaurants and everything else. The rooms are new clean and spacious. Great staff too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJ_Can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 days & found it to be a friendly clean guest house. The rooms are fairly big & bathroom is quite adequate although floor mats would be an advantage so your not walking into main room with wet feet but not that big a problem. The fan & aircon worked well so room temp is always comfortable. Mike the owner is mostly on hand for any advise & any help you need & we found him very friendly & a happy person. We only ate there a couple of times & found the food excellent & reasonably priced. Your only a 2 minute walk to the beach & lots of bars & restaurants all very reasonably priced with good food & cold cheap beer. The staff at Ochheuteal are mostly friendly but found their English not so good but if you needed extra towel or toilet paper they would gladly give it to you. For $15 a night you can't go wrong at this guest house. As we where checking out early on last morning & waiting for our bus Mike even supplied us with 2 cups of hot coffee. We felt welcome & safe at this guest house.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rouen, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

A very welcoming place, rooms are very clean and spacious. The owner is particularly available for its customers and attentive to our well being, at any time of the day ! The staff is also very friendly. The location of the guesthouse is very convenient: 2 minutes from the beach !

Don't hesitate, book there !!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieESCSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

OVERVIEW: Mike's place is a fantastic stop in Sihanoukville. The rooms are simple, comfortable and immaculate. The bar is fun and food is delicious. It is a mere 1/2 a block from the beach but just far away enough to avoid the noise of the busy areas. Mike is an awesome host and the cast of friendly local characters who patronize the bar will make you feel at home and entertained for days. The property is quiet and very safe as there is a 24-hour guard. Ochheuteal Guesthouse is a more than solid choice for Sihanoukville. Clean, safe, fun.

LOCATION: The beach areas of Sihanoukville are heavily laden with bars, clubs and restaurants. When you check the reviews of other guesthouses and hotels in the area, a common complaint is that it is impossible to sleep because of the late-night noise. This property has the best of both worlds - close enough to walk to the action, but far enough away to avoid the noise. We did not hear a peep in our room and slept soundly through the nights. The guesthouse is right off the main road, just down the street from the golden lion monument.

ROOMS: The rooms are immaculate and simple. Fans and A/C are available. The bed was comfortable. There are not many extra frills - but the safety, comfort and space were right up our alley. Plenty of room for luggage. TV in room. Bathroom was fine, water pressure was good and WiFi signal was strong. Though basic, everything is very well taken care of and it is clear Mike takes pride in ownership.

LINENS & AMENITIES: Towels were large and soft and the bed linens were white, fresh and clean. There are a few amenities - toothbrush with toothpaste, bar soap, packet shampoo. Being female travelers, we come prepared with our own sundries but the very basics are provided for.

SERVICE: Mike is always around when you need him. His staff reflects his personality - really nice people. Everyone welcomes you right into the fold. The bar has a bunch of locals who will readily share any and every story you want to hear. They have great advice on the area and will be more than happy to give you pointers. Quite frankly, we loved spending our evenings at Mike's bar chatting it up with his friends and patrons. They were hilarious! Good people attract good people - and you will feel you have made friends by the end of your stay. The staff is very attentive and will always predict or meet your needs.

BAR/RESTAURANT: The food is GREAT here with a local and international menu. Drinks are likewise well priced and poured. We loved the bar!

At the end of your journeys, you typically will remember the people you met along the way more than anything else. Though Ochheateal Guesthouse is not a lavish indulgence, Mike will take good care of you for a great price. Cheers and happy travelling!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.1 mi away
Bao Mai Resort
Bao Mai Resort
#33 of 74 in Sihanoukville
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coolabah Hotel
Coolabah Hotel
#18 of 74 in Sihanoukville
599 reviews
0.3 mi away
French Garden Resort
French Garden Resort
#6 of 233 in Sihanoukville
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
@home
@home
#38 of 233 in Sihanoukville
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tranquility Guesthouse
Tranquility Guesthouse
#68 of 233 in Sihanoukville
77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chochi Garden Guest House
Chochi Garden Guest House
#8 of 233 in Sihanoukville
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ochheuteal Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ochheuteal Guesthouse

Property: Ochheuteal Guesthouse
Address: Ochheuteal Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 233 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 25 rooms with a choice of fan and aircon. The rooms are cleaned daily. We have 24 hour friendly staff. We also have a fantastic restaurant serving both International and Cambodian food. The guesthouse is situated at Ochheuteal Beach and all amenities are 5 mins away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing