We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Minimalist haven tucked away at far end of Otres Beach”
Review of Tamu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tamu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Minimalist haven tucked away at far end of Otres Beach”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

After having been to Sihanoukville several times and always ignored Otres beach I now made the effort to investigate what other members of Trip Advisor had to say about this beach and the Boutique Hotel Tamu.

- what we found was sheer bliss on the very far end of Otres beach and named '' Tamu Hotel ''.
Whilst checking in we were greeted by a very charming French Lady and handed a welcome drink and asked to pay up-front. For unbeknown reasons my wife's Chinese credit card was rejected so I paid in cash.

- the superior ground floor room was spacy, clean and sufficiently appointed.
Their beach side open Restaurant airy and blessed with ocean breezes. The included breakfast was laid out with a fast array of all what one could wish to have in the morning and if that was not enough for some guests they could order a la carte such as eggs scrambled or in any other way with bacon, tomatoes and/or other dishes listed on the breakfast menu.

At lunch and/or dinner we liked their grilled Barracuda very much but had other dishes as well.
- and also no problem with the Hotels speedy room delivery as well.

Beach is spotlessly clean and ample chairs and other lay-down amenities are provided for reading or just to chill out and take the scene in.

A special mention deserve its smiling and attentive staff always more than willing to appease the clientele of this splendid abode.

I also had the opportunity to speak to the Hotels charming French (Paris) owners at great length and hear their story how it all came about

Last but not least I must mention that on our last night the Lady of this establishment ask me if we would like to have dinner on a specially set table on the beach. As a special treat she arranged with the Chef to have Pork rips, mash potatoes and vegetables prepared for 7pm.
- when we arrived the table was set with candles, tropical flower blooms and also proper table cloth napkins were laid out!

(there is also a 17 meter long in-ground swimming pool on this property)


In concluding I can truly recommend this establishment to the discerning traveler, honeymooning couples and/or anyone who wants peace and quite at a pristine beach setting away from all the noise of Sihanoukville's other beaches.
Gerard

Room Tip: away from the side where current building activities take place. We had a ground floor superior room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicoboyBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre T, Owner at Tamu Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Gerard,

Thank you so much for writing this lovely review and for describing your whole TAMU experience!
It was a real pleasure to have you and your wife as guests and to have a chat and your feedbacks.
Be sure that i will share your very nice words to our staff.

We are glad that you appreciated the features of our hotel, of our restaurant and beach.

On behalf of the TAMU team, we thank you very much for recommending us.

We hope to welcome you again!

very best regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    135
    47
    5
    4
See reviews for
105
406
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I don't usually write reviews however me and my fiancé have just recently stayed at Tamu and WOW what an amazing hotel in a gorgeous location. I'm usually really fussy about cleanliness and only usually stay In 5 star hotels but I can not fault this hotel at all. We booked to stay here for 4 nights then moved to Borei Angkor resort (5*) for the last 2 nights of our stay and to be honest with you we wished we hadn't bothered.. Tamu is a small, friendly resort with the most amazing views. The rooms are very basic but ultra modern. The outdoor shower is lovely.. (I mean come on how often do you get to shower outside). The breakfast, lunch and dinner is to die for with a great choice.
The downtown is about 15 mins but to be honest with you once you get to Tamu you won't want to leave. It's the paradise of Sihanoukville.
I would also like to say a massive thank you to Vy and Sami the waiters who took the time out of their morning off to take us to a few places near Tamu.

I would highly recommend this hotel.. If it was not too far for us we would defiantly go back..

Many thanks

Jenna and Tom

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre T, Owner at Tamu Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Jenna,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review,
We are very pleased to know that you had such an enjoyable stay in our hotel.
Your comment is very important to us and we will make sure to share it with our team.
We'll share your special thanks to Sami and Vy for sure..

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

very best regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Simple lines, simple rooms, but luxurious and spacious. Staff friendly and helpful. Good showers, comfy beds and right on beach and pool. Quite, relaxing and great restaurant with handsome, friendly waiters. Took 5 hours from phenom penh because of roads with trucks to overtake. Massage and pedi on beach, watch out for gorgeous little boy who will rip u off with double prices. Building next door, but not too noisy, can't hear at all from beach or restaurant . Would definitely return

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank megan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre T, Owner at Tamu Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Megan S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip advisor.
We are really delighted that you enjoyed the rooms, the restaurant and our lovely staff. It was a pleasure to welcome you and having you stay in our hotel.

Very best regards

alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A nice bespoke hotel. A way out from centre but there is not much to see in the town which can't be done on a day break via scooter.
Lovely Cambodian staff and 2 french apprentices who couldn't help enough.
The restaurant was great, and the hotel had lovely rooms although the outside shower and bathroom wasn't to my liking.
However, I would not recommend this hotel until the French Mangeress "Jessica" receives customer relations training. Not only was she rude, hostile and unhelpful, she was exceptionally arrogant and I WILL not use this hotel again until she is supported in dealing with customers appropriately. My husband and I, as well as 2 other customers had to also witness her berate a local supplier for 6 minutes publicly. Extremely unprofessional as well as uncomfortable for us. This was on top of her being snappy and unhelpful, even suggesting, after we had booked an additional night at the hotel but had to change oohs, we sit in the restaurant to vacate the room during an extremely heavy downpour. The restaurant was located outside and is not indoors-I don't expect this treatment for the cost of staying at the hotel. Please change her or address her exceptionally poor behaviour.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank shazloren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre T, Owner at Tamu Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Shazloren,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your TAMU experience with us. It is always important for us the receive feedback from our guests, whether positive or negative.

We deeply regret to hear that your stay was disturbed and ruined by the attitude of our manager. I would like to express personally my sincere apologizes for this attitude that it is definitely not acceptable. It is not the feeling that we want to share with our guests and it is not the state of mind of the property. Be sure that we will do everything so that it will never happen again.

We are happy that you appreciated our rooms, our restaurant and the hospitality of our staff.

We would be glad to welcome you again,

very best regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My girlfriend & I recently had the pleasure to stay 4 days in this perfectly located Boutique Hotel with an incredibly nice & helpful staff. As soon as we arrived we knew we'd be in for a treat: the first views of the "design swimming pool", Beach Bar & sea swept s off our feet and made us feel instantly relaxed & happy. We were welcomed with a refreshing welcome cocktail, while the staff helped us with our bags and installed us in our rooms. The rooms are spacious and comfortable which was well appreciated after days of backpacking. On our first evening, the staff had prepared us a special table all the the way at the sea to create a romantic atmosphere. Big compliment to the kitchen-staff as well who are doing an excellent job, with a fresh, daily updated menu (we literally tried every dish on the menu and all were as good). We have seen some of our most amazing sunsets ever from our design long chairs on the private beach with a nice glass of champagne...holidays quoi :)! Hotel Tamu over-delivered on all our expectations and we truly recommend to everybody who wants to enjoy a laid-back holiday in a classy, fresh and hip Boutique Hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dimitriruyssers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre T, Owner at Tamu Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to recommend us on Trip advisor.
We are so happy that your TAMU experience has been over your expectations and it is a great award to read it from you.
We are also delighted that you enjoyed the Romantic diner set for you on the Beach on your first night with candles (that can be requested by all the guests to the reception or to the restaurant).

Be sure that i will share your words to our staff.

Very best regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I spent a week at the Tamu Cambodia and it was Pure Happiness!!!
1. Beautiful design boutique hotel on a beautiful beach - Just the way we like it!
2. Super relaxing - the perfect break out of the city
3. Nicest Staff ever - a hotel called friendship
4. Sun sun sun - all we want is sun
5. Delightful sea and swimming pool and good cocktail - what else?
6. Yummy & healthy food - miam miam

Room Tip: And if the whole perfect experience at the Tamu is not enough…. Don't miss the morning you at 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maudy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre T, Owner at Tamu Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Maudy S,

On behalf of all the TAMU team, we would like to thank you very much for your amazing review.
We are amazed that you totally enjoyed your experience in TAMU: our rooms, facilities, restaurant and the service.

We would be happy to welcome you again.

Wish you the best,

very best regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

A beautifully designed hotel. Simple and luxurious at the same time. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here. The hotel is designed around beach living. It's easy and enjoyable to wander around with bare feet and there are wash bowls to keep the sand at bay.

We really enjoyed the outdoor style bathroom and the simple and elegant design of the rooms. In fact I took lots of photos of decor because I was inspired by it!

It was so awesome to sit at a restaurant on the beach for all of our meals. It's so rare to sit on the sand and eat meals. This was part of what made our time here so awesome and relaxing. The restaurant service was excellent and the staff were very attentive. The meals are great and there's lots of fresh local seafood.

The hotel staff were very attentive and helpful. Email communication before we got there was fast and efficient. They helped us get an airport pick up and booking a bus to Phnom Penh. They made our stay very easy.

There is some construction going on next door. Mostly during working hours so wasn't a problem at all. We hardly noticed it but I saw that another review mentioned it so wanted to cover it off. It's honestly up to you as an individual how you would react to this. For us it wasn't a problem at all. In fact we liked hearing local voices during the day and it'll probably be finished by the time you read my review and book this hotel :)

We loved our time here and didn't want to leave. We're a couple in our 30's who like clean places with great design, at a fair price. I can definitely say that Tamu is all of these things.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre T, Owner at Tamu Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Rachel T,

I would like to thank you very much for sharing your experience on Trip advisor and for your lovely review.
We are delighted that you had a lovely stay in our hotel and that you appreciated the design, the facilities of the hotel and the restaurant. We are honored that the outdoor bathrooms inspired you.
I will share your nice comments to the staff regarding their work.

Thank you again for recommending us!

Very best regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
4.6 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#2 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#3 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#10 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#4 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sahaa Beach Resort
Sahaa Beach Resort
#5 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Boutique Hotel
White Boutique Hotel
#8 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamu Hotel

Property: Tamu Hotel
Address: Far End of Otres Beach 2 | Marina road, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamu hotel was inspired to be a chic haven with style and sophistication to enjoy the end of Otres Beach redefining the "barefoot chic" spirit. We offer our guests an affordable luxury and a charming retreat on one of the most beautiful beaches of Cambodia. Unwind, discover and enjoy valued leisure time. Escape to paradise islands just off the coast. Amaze your friends and family with your khmer cooking by joining traditional cuisine classes in Sihanoukville (downtown). Start your day peacefully with yoga along the beach with our yoga instructor and much more In our Beach restaurant: For non-resident hotel guests, please be informed that our sunbeds are reserved for our hotel resident guests during high season. Thank you for your understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tamu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing