We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely beach and hotel”
Review of Sokha Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sokha Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The hotel is located outside the city and has a private lovely beach. The breakfast is delicious - really great!!! Everything else that can be bought on the premises is extremely expensive.

The only thing partially negative I can say about the place is that the lagoon part of the hotel (which we stayed at) is placed so the parking lot and the tennis courts are blocking the sea view.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CecilieC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

842 - 848 of 1,513 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed here during the wet season so of coarse it rained. The staff were amazing and jumped at the chance to help you! They would drive us around the resort in golf carts or walk with us with umbrellas.
The resort is huge! They are doing renovations at the moment in one area but all the guests are staying in another area far away so you don't even notice.
The beach is fantastic! So clean and quiet!
All the food at the resort is fantastic! We really enjoyed the buffet breakfast and the deck- tapas bar.
The rooms are really 5 star with huge beds, bathrooms etc. very nice!!!
The jasmine spa is fantastic and well worth a visit for a bit of luxury!
The only negative was the wifi wasn't good in the rooms or around the resort, only I the newer resteraunt. Also the power went out a lot during our stay. These two things could of been because of the rennovations though.
I would Definately cone back here again!
An amazing 5 star resort that will no doubt be more amazing once finished!
Also the new chalets looked great!
We got a room in a deluxe ocean view in low season for $133 us dollars a night!!!
Very cheap for 5 star!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachgirlfromaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed at the Sokha Beach Resort in June 2012, lovely hotel, beautiful beach and pool area. The private beach is definitely a plus point as you have no interruption’s from beggars or people selling things, but you pay the price as its not cheap compared to other hotels.

We stayed in the main building near reception, great room very spacious with a power shower. We were moved to the building near the water bungalows after a power cut, the room was nicer but far away from the main reception, breakfast area and the nicer pool. The pool by the water bungalows was not as nice as the one nearer the main reception. Would definitely recommend staying near the main reception. Staff were very friendly and recommended places to eat near by the hotel. They were very helpful.
Wide selection of food for breakfast both international and oriental. Every thing you would expect for a 5 star hotel

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank milso14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The hotel very nice with private Beach. staff friendly good service. good beach...... the room is nice with belcony. the swiming pool is pretty......... the food in Champa is a bit slow but still good. Lemongrass is good location and fantatic seafood with seaview open air.
the first attractive is Front Desk with warm welcome . all my family are great with SOKHA beach. the waiter are nice with helpful. room cleaning is on time and nice job. I was helpfull from Duty Manager Mr. keansin who give full hand assist with my room problem and my request and my MOM, I'm so appreciated that. my parent would like to say "thank you for your assist, Mr. keansin'. My family return trip to SOKHA beach in next year hope will have a great time like that. I like that.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Raymond T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

Service was good as the staff there were very fluent with English. They have shuttle service in and out of Sokha. The reception helped us to purchase tickets back to Phnom Penh.

All the other bad stuff below.
Wi-Fi: seriously, it didn't work as the connection always dropped in the room.

Room: We had 2 or more mosquitoes in the room. They had a good meal of us. We experience 2 blackouts one night and the TV lost its satellite connection when it rains.

Price of meal: The MOST expensive in the entire sihanoukville.

Breakfast: Only the noodle soup is good. The juice are not freshly made. It is cordial juice.

Facilities: The jacuzzi closed earlier than it supposed to be on the day I visited. Disappointed.
The place is awfully quiet with not much patrons. Also, I have never seen an empty casino filled with only staff below until I visited Sokha.

It's truly not a 5-star resort at all....

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wilfred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We spent the last three nights of our stay at the Sokha in hopes of getting some relaxation time before heading home. We expected a lot more for the price considering how expensive it is for Cambodian standards. The resort itself is lovely. Very beautiful grounds, nice beach, clean rooms and decent restaurants. When we arrived the first thing we noticed was the sound of jack hammers and constuction work going on. The main pool was empty and everything around it was being torn up! They explained they were doing maintance but it wouldn't last long! A very sweet girl took us to our room which had a great view of the beach and yes a great veiw of the empty pool and constuction work. We went ahead took the rooom thinking we would just deal with it since we woulnd't be in our room most of the daytime anyways. We were told the construction work would end at 5:00pm. The first thing we noticed was that there was very poor internet access! Which for us was a problem since that was our main source of communitcation back home. Called down to the office and they said they had their IT working on it...ya right! We left for the day and came back to our room about 6:00 pm to shower and get ready for dinner. Came back to no hot water in the room and lots of jack hammering outside our balcony and still no interent! So after my cold shower we marched dowstairs and asked to be moved. I explained that we paid full price for a room and were not warned of the constuction going on and that the other issues were not going to work either. They said they would move us to the new hotel area. So packed up and took a shuttle for quite a distance to the new building. Everything seemed to be okay. It didn't take long to realize that our AC was not working properly, our phone wouldn't call out and we still had no internet. My husband walked about 5 blocks back to the front office to inform them of the issues, They said they would send people to work on the issues! We left for the evening and came back to the same issues. Next morning we spoke with manager who was nice about it but offered very little help. He compted a dinner and told us they were working on the issues. The other problem with being on the newer side of the hotel was that it's dark and pretty much a ghost town. They turn all the lights off outside at night and hardly anyone is around. Also, the front desk and security are far in location. It just doesn't seem safe. Next day, an IT guy brought us our own router for interent access (which was very helpful). We dealt with the AC and phone not working correctly. Last little complaint we have is that the Sokha is pretty far from town. So you have to take a shuttle of Tuk Tuk if you want to go anywhere. We like to go out, so for us it was more of a hassle. The breakfast was great at the Sokha, waitstaff was very friendly at all restaurants. Don't expect to spend much less than $50 for dinner at the Lemongrass. The food was okay, however the atmosphere was awesome! There were good and bad things about this place. It really depends on what matters most to you. If you are just wanting quiet time on the beach, can overlook room issues and have money to spend then this is a good place. If you are looking for five star perfection save your money. Overall not happy with our stay. We were happier at the guesthouse in town we stayed at for $40 a night. Super clean, frendly staff and great location (Orchidee Guesthouse).




and

Room Tip: Make sure construction is over before staying anywhere at the Sokha. The older side of the hotel se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jengirl6023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

After visiting Angkhor Wat and Phnom Phen we were happy to relax at Sihanoukville´s most beautiful beach of the Sokha Beach Resort. This is really the place to be as my family and I felt like beeing in a little paradies. The staff was extraordinary friendly and helpful and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. The food including the breakfast was excellent and everything was super organized. The Resort´s Lemon Grass Restaurant was the best restaurant we ´ve ever been. I met a few european couples who used to spend several month during the wintertime at this lovely resort - that´s what I´m going to do when I´m retired.

Room Tip: Contact the reort directly to get the best price and room. It´s so easy to make the reservation by y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
1.4 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 75 in Sihanoukville
658 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#1 of 75 in Sihanoukville
500 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#2 of 75 in Sihanoukville
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#3 of 75 in Sihanoukville
385 reviews
4.4 mi away
White Boutique Hotel
White Boutique Hotel
#8 of 75 in Sihanoukville
189 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#4 of 75 in Sihanoukville
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokha Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokha Beach Resort

Address: Street 2 Thnou, Sangkat 4, Mittapheap Dist., Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Sihanoukville
#2 Spa Hotel in Sihanoukville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sihanoukville
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range: £62 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sokha Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokha Beach Resort is set amidst 23.5 hectares of beautifully landscaped beachfront and garden with its own 1.5 kilometer pristine white sandy beach. Voted amongst the Best New Hotels in the World in Condé Nast Traveler Magazine's Ninth Annual Hot List 2005, this resort is certainly a top choice when vacationing in South East Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sokha Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokha Beach Hotel Sihanoukville
Sokha Beach Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing