We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, smart rooms and lovely almost-private hotel beach”
Review of Sokha Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sokha Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean, smart rooms and lovely almost-private hotel beach”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Clean rooms. Good room amenities - very comfortable bed, TV, fridge, nice bathroom. Nice hotel facilities - pool, gym, restaurant. Lovely sandy beach, which seems to be used only by hotel guests. Friendly, helpful staff. More 4 star rather than 5 star. It is a bit pricey, so look out for one of their special deals. You can sometimes get a room and dinner for two for around USD 115 per night. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RupertBAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    549
    290
    122
    56
See reviews for
303
693
76
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a night last week, it has a nice private beach with white sands, the rooms are clean, bathroom works fine but internet connectivity is of poor quality.

The breakfast buffet is OK and the coffee is surprisingly good in my opinion.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Khairur_Azhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

View and location: Fantastic!
The Deck: perfect food and service! Romantic dinner was wonderful! Afternoon tapas and drinks and view were a highlight!
The spa: not worth the overpriced menu. Stuffy, you can hear people and children in the halls outside of treatment rooms. Atmosphere is totally lacking considering price and other 4 star spas in this country. We tried to book treatments two times and arrived and they had did not have us written in. The "surprise" massage that my husband had tried to get for my birthday was no longer a surprise when they called two times to confirm it with me.
Rooms: decent. Clean. Bathroom was tired and a bit worn out.
Breakfast was NOT good.
Pool side and ocean front food and bar service was great, however. Pricey for Cambodia for sure, but we were satisfied.
Staff was friendly and pleasant.
Interesting that you can pay $10 per person for hotel bus to pick you up from airport, but they do not take you back. We had to rely on someone calling their friend to get us a deal on a taxi that charged $30 instead.
Incredibly clean beach and perfect place to relax.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MM5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
250 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 577 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Honestly, most of the hotels in Sihanoukville are dreadful, so I was trying to keep it in mind when reviewing Sokha Beach. But even so, it is a 4* property, no matter what they tell you at travel agencies or elsewhere. Nevertheless, it's the best available option, if you want a beach vacation but don't want to pay ridiculous amount of money (to stay at Song Saa). So don't be put off by negatives, just be aware what you might get.

+ best beach (of those where there is a hotel or even a hut). 3 km stretch of white sand, soft like a powder. No hawkers and vendors, everything is private and quiet. Left part of the beach is more crowded, but has a bar; right side is more quiet and serene.
+ nice dining at The Deck/Lemongrass restaurants (right end of the beach) - perhaps, the only more or less nice and "formal" restaurant in the area. Average bill can be 30-40$/pp, but everyday from 3 to 6 PM there's a happy hour promotion: 50% off cocktails, 20% off tapas (which is great). There's no upscale places in town, so this may be the best option for a nice dinner.
+ free wi-fi everywhere (to be honest, there's free wi-fi everywhere in Sihanoukville, even in the brothels on Ochhuteal beach).

- the rooms are old (in the Ocean wing). Be it superior or deluxe, the only difference is the view ("garden", i.e a parking lot - or "sea", i.e pool). First of all, check if everything works - air condition, shower etc. Check if there is hot water. I've had to switch two rooms to get it fixed, and even the third room had a non-working a/c (but at least there were no mould stains in the bathtub).
The next thing is that the in-room lighting is unbelievably low. It's always dark, especially in the bathroom (I have no idea how one could shave or put on the make-up). Sihanoukville is also dark, but there is an excuse for poor country, not for a five star property.
Don't upgrade to villas, it does not worth it. These are the cottages in the center of the resort, and you get the same old problems with mould, dim lighting and -more important - insects. The better accomodation can be either Deluxe in the Lakeside wing, which is newer than Ocean, or so called Moha Mohori overwater villas (very nice design inside, but probably not worth the money).
- breakfast is worse than in Sokha Angkor and worse than in any 5* property in Vietnam, Thailand or China. Maybe things are generally worse in Cambodia hence the quality is lower, but I still can't think of a reason why there are no freshly squeezed juices (pineapple, papaya, mango or guava are literally free at any local market; it is considered as a food for the poor), no choice of tea (at least Lipton), no pastry (except for tiny croissants), no pancakes, very limited selection of cheese and ham (that said, there is one of each) etc.
And if that wasn't enough - a horrible coffee, served only half-cold. Waiters - unattentive (not ignorant, just poorly trained).
- Room service is also poor - both in quality and price. 9$ steak sandwich was cold as if it came from a fridge; you can have a three-course meal in any local restaurant for that money. I'm not saying that it's overpriced, but it must be cooked and served proper to its price.
- language skills (my favourite part when it comes to "luxury" hotels). First: I do understand that european languages are very difficult to asian people because of the fundamental differences in pronounciation and so on. Second: I do believe that an intense training and/or practice is all it takes to improve your skills to an appropriate level (best example is the taxi driver or local salesman who speak a fluent, if slightly limited, English). Third: when you pay for 5* service, it also includes the possibility of being understood and taken care of every need.
Now, what I don't get is why some hotels pay so little attention to language abilities of their staff. They seem to think that reception and guest relations are the only areas where the multilingual staff is needed. But most of the time you communicate with waiters, bartenders, bellboys and other "lesser" staff - and this is important to understand each other. I don't get why the waitress in The Deck doesn't understand the expression "how big is this, and is it enough for one person". I don't get why it takes 3 different staff members and 1 hour to have my luggage sent from one room to another. Sometimes, when I address these issues to the management, I keep hearing that "we should all take it easy, this is not their native language, they try so hard, we should be patient". Wait, but English is not my native language too, but I did some effort to learn it because it's international. And the hotel staff gets paid for their job, didn't they? Well, the part of this job is to be able to talk to the customer, isn't it? So I really don't get why and when did it become acceptable to respond in such way.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Thefall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I am normally not a patron of luxury accommodations, but work stress was eating me alive and I decided to splurge for the privacy and solitude that tend to be the domain of the wealthy. Sokha delivered what I bought it for: a clean, quiet beach and big swimming pool. I made ample use of both and I loved every minute. I also enjoyed their other luxuries like the "real" mattress and the best (price included!) breakfast buffet I have had in Cambodia.

However, the hotel itself felt corporate and unfriendly with very little character distinction. I also felt keenly aware the whole time of being in the domain of Cambodia's elite; ever conscious of their disdainful gaze as I made my way around the grounds in a swimsuit and bare feet. (It was a beach vacation, after all!) Every few hours or so, the quiet was interrupted by the annoying flub-flub-flub of someone arriving or departing in a helicopter. The price of food was outrageous so I elected to eat elsewhere and quickly discovered the inconvenience of Sokha's isolated location.

Sokha was a good choice for a much-needed break from the norm, but I would not elect to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
519 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We didn't stay here but were guests of a relative who lives temporarily in Sihanoukville and is a member of the gym.
We loved the beach, it is so peaceful ...........away from the crowds and the beach vendors , it was just wonderful relaxing on the beach recliners.
The water is lovely and clean as is the sand.

The resort is a short tuk tuk ride from most things in Sihanoukville.
$2 to the market

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lyrebird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

A wonderful place to rest and relax!
We were there during the Chinese holidays. They had marvelous meals in the gardens and also around the pool, the food is great.
The beach is very nice, quiet and very relaxing.
Spa and gym if you wish.
And from there it is easy to get out in the beach town and explore the local beaches and restaurant.
Nice rest after a tour of Cambodia.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main hotel if you want to be close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
1.4 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 74 in Sihanoukville
645 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#2 of 74 in Sihanoukville
487 reviews
0.7 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#3 of 74 in Sihanoukville
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#1 of 74 in Sihanoukville
716 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#4 of 74 in Sihanoukville
400 reviews
4.4 mi away
White Boutique Hotel
White Boutique Hotel
#8 of 74 in Sihanoukville
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokha Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokha Beach Resort

Property: Sokha Beach Resort
Address: Street 2 Thnou, Sangkat 4, Mittapheap Dist., Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Sihanoukville
#2 Spa Hotel in Sihanoukville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sihanoukville
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sokha Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokha Beach Resort is set amidst 23.5 hectares of beautifully landscaped beachfront and garden with its own 1.5 kilometer pristine white sandy beach. Voted amongst the Best New Hotels in the World in Condé Nast Traveler Magazine's Ninth Annual Hot List 2005, this resort is certainly a top choice when vacationing in South East Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sokha Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokha Beach Hotel Sihanoukville
Sokha Beach Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing