We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you hope luxury and great time on the beach Don't go there!!!”
Review of Sokha Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sokha Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying in sokha beach hotel. This is our second day and we are thinking about checking inn to different hotel. We've booked it thinking that it will be a luxurious week for our honeymoon. Far from it! Their private beach is packed with screaming people, not a hope to get any umbrella or any kind if a shade as they provide very few umbrellas, hence that there is no availability to rent any. So instead of enjoying ourselves on the beach we are staying in the room. So please be aware before you make your booking hoping that you will treat yourself. There is plenty hotels in town offering you better value for money with great beach not even 5 mins away,

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kasia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

663 - 669 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

We enjoyed the pool and beach, but otherwise, we would not return to this hotel.

The rooms had a strong moldy odor. The staff showed us another room, but it was worse, so we stayed with the original room and left the sliding glass door open and lights off for several hours to air it out. (Something that housekeeping should address if rooms are vacant for a long time). Another minor annoyance is the safe didn't work and batteries kept falling out. Housekeeping replaced the batteries and we just had to fiddle a bit with them until the next time they fell out. Maintenance and attention to details-zero.

We had dinner at the hotel both nights and the service and food at the terrace cafe were fine. Breakfast selection was good, but service was poor especially on the weekend. We had to ask the receptionist about getting some coffee because the waiters were just focused on a tour group and it was impossible to get their attention. When we finally stopped one and inquired if we could place an order for coffee, he was quite rude and told us to ask one of the cooks. This was the first time on our month long trip to Laos and Cambodia that we encountered unfriendly and rude staff.

When I asked a member of the staff around the pool if we could get towels and order drinks he pointed to the far side of the pool area and told us to go to the bar to get the drinks and to get towels at a stand where an employee with nothing else to do, handed out towels after recording our room number. There were about 3 employees standing around the towel stand and bar, and maybe 2 other guests, so it was not like they were busy. This is the kind of service (or non-service) one would expect at a Motel 6 in the US, not at a 'luxury' hotel.

We didn't visit Independence Beach or Independence Hotel, which perhaps, would have been better than the Sokha Beach Resort. I had no desire to return to Sihanoukville after our drive from the airport through town--we just decided to make the most of the pool and beach for R & R for a few days after our wonderful, but hectic days in Siem Reap. We did hire a taxi to take us around town so we could pick up a few things at the market and also see the Otres/Serendipity beach area. My initial impressions of Sihanoukville were confirmed: it was a tired, run-down place lacking any charm. Perhaps at one time it lived up to the moniker "French Riveria," but we saw no evidence of that. We had flown in to Sihanoukville from Siem Reap, but in hindsight, we should have just gone directly to Phnom Penh and then hired a taxi to take us to Kep and Kampot. We did enjoy the private taxi ride we arranged from Sihanoukville to Bokor hill station. From there we went to Kampot and stopped for snacks and drinks at the RikiTivi (nice place, friendly staff) and continued on to Kep (lots of road construction from Kampot to Kep) . Next time I visit Cambodia, I will bypass Sihanoukville and spend more time in Kampot (lovely town) and Kep. The drive to Phnom Penh was fine, roads were good. Hire a taxi from Phnom Penh to the coast, and skip Sihanoukville. You won't be missing much.

Room Tip: Ask to see several rooms if you are sensitive to mold and strong musty odors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tahoeblue99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

when you book the sokha beach you buy yourself the best beach in sihanoukville....not crowded..cleaned every day...plenty of loungers and nice bars. The service was excellent in all departments..and all the staff smiled! We stayed in one of the garden villas...they look a little utilitarian, but have lovely bedroom and a not so luxurious bathroom. They are also set away from the main hotel so there are not so many people on the beach. They are also close to the Deck restaurant which was excellent

i wanted to give 5 stars, because all the staff were so charming...but the hotel fabric is just not quite there...I would definately return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukrandomtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

this spot is good great staff, a little over priced may be. but over all very good bit out of the way from town free mine bus runs last one 6,30 thro ,beach very good . good air con, over all this hotel is good , if you need to exchange any money use town its 9% 10% better there .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevsueYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is the only Hotel with a decent private Sand beach in Sihanoukville (apart from the Independence Hotel), UI come regularly for Business to Phnom Penh and Sihanoukville and I prefer the Sokha. The rooms are spacious with great wooden Floors, Casino right in the complex, nice swimming pool and access to the private beach just a couple of steps away.
Breakfast leaves room for improvements especially for western taste. They cater more and more for Asian.
All in All 3.5

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mdit1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were travelling around Vietnam and Cambodia and after staying in a lot of hostels, beach shacks and guesthouses, we decided to treat ourselves to staying at the Sokha. It was beautiful, very large and pools and private beach, everything felt like luxury to us. (Especially, the huge comfy bed and hot shower!!) They say it is a 5-star, but in reality it's probably a 4-star at best. The staff couldn't be more helpful. They were great. We went out in the evenings for our meals as we like to eat local food, and the menu at the Sokha didn't really have a lot of choice of Cambodian food. Tuk Tuk's are lined up outside hotel and when you want to go into town, a member of hotel staff waves them in to take you, typically we were paying $3-4 each way. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who was visiting Sihanoukville.

Stayed: January 2013
1  Thank T0mmydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of our trip. We had booked a lakeview room but unfortunately there was work being carried out in that area so we were given a room near to the main pool and main area.
The room itself was very comfortable, clean, good air con and small balcony overlooking the gardens. The usual amenities in a hotel of this standard. Nightly turndown service with clean towels and bottles of water.
Good sized bathroom but a slightly disappointing shower.
The pool was lovely, large and clean with plenty of sunloungers and parasols.Pool /beach towels as well. There was pool bar and swim up bar prices were high but to expected in a large 4 star hotel!
The Sokha beach itself is private and loads of loungers set back again with palapas. The beach was clean and the sea also very clear. No hawkers so quite peaceful too.
Breakfast was included and of a very good standard, plenty of choice with an egg station.
The staff were excellent, warm and welcoming and very helpful at all times.
We were there slightly out of season so we got a good deal and the hotel was not too busy.
The hotel is slightly out of the main area(a good thing) Hotel staff were happy to call a tuk tuk for you and cost no more than $2 to the main restaurant area. Tuk tuk driver would happily wait or return to pick you up.
Very relaxing stay to finish off our Cambodia trip

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
1.4 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 75 in Sihanoukville
659 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#1 of 75 in Sihanoukville
501 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#2 of 75 in Sihanoukville
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#3 of 75 in Sihanoukville
386 reviews
4.4 mi away
White Boutique Hotel
White Boutique Hotel
#8 of 75 in Sihanoukville
190 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#4 of 75 in Sihanoukville
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokha Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokha Beach Resort

Address: Street 2 Thnou, Sangkat 4, Mittapheap Dist., Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Sihanoukville
#2 Spa Hotel in Sihanoukville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sihanoukville
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range: £62 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sokha Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokha Beach Resort is set amidst 23.5 hectares of beautifully landscaped beachfront and garden with its own 1.5 kilometer pristine white sandy beach. Voted amongst the Best New Hotels in the World in Condé Nast Traveler Magazine's Ninth Annual Hot List 2005, this resort is certainly a top choice when vacationing in South East Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sokha Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokha Beach Hotel Sihanoukville
Sokha Beach Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing