We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Getaway”
Review of Sokha Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sokha Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Loved our chalet - private jacuzzi, nice bath, great view. Make sure you get the chalets that faces the sea. Service was excellent. Have a romantic dinner at Lemon Grass Restaurant. Enjoyed the sunset and the sounds of the waves breaking!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HappySmilesAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    549
    290
    122
    56
See reviews for
303
693
76
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed hear for 5 nights at the end of our tour of Cambodia. Everything was brilliant from the moment we arrived. The staff were without exception courteous and helpful . Breakfast was extensive and freshly cooked if we requested eggs or omelettes. The pool facilities great, the bedroom comfortable great beds and pillows. There was extensive building work in the main bar area but it never disturbed us during the stay. Some of the eating places were closed due to low season but we ate ate the Lemongrass restaurant where the food a service was exquisite. Everything we would expect and more from a five star hotel .The spa facilities were amazing with first rate treatments and reasonable costs. The gym was also well equiped. The tennis courts and raquets do need updating Thank you.
P.s. awesome laundry service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1DianaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

A true resort , the room was ok , i loved the security and the private beach for the guests . Breakfast was nice , great buffet style , served by excellent staff . The value is not so good , a little bit expensive , you need to go into the main part of town to get good food .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rafael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trilok N, General Manager at Sokha Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Rafael C,

Greetings from Sokha Beach Resort, Sihanouk Ville!

Thank you very much for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to note that you have loved the security and private beach of the resort as well as the breakfast buffet served by excellent staff.

Appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at our resort.

Yours sincerely,

Trilok Narain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed in Cambodia for the Xmas holiday with my family for 2 weeks. Sihanoukville was the last leg of the trip and were we spent the most time. What people need to realise is that a 5 star in Cambodia will not be a 5 star in Thailand or a modern country. It is still a growing nation in terms of tourism. Consider it as Thailand over 20 yrs ago!

As for the Sokha beach, the service was ok some staff were friendly and got to know us since we stayed 5 days. There were a select few members of staff who didn't want to be there serving anyone but that's just life.

The hotel was clean for the most part but it changes as you leave the resort. So in theory, the resort was clean because you must compare it to how the area was and not what you are used to. The pools were clean and beach was beautiful.

The dinners were good but pricey for a family of 5. We did eat at the dinner Xmas buffet and were very satisfied but often went to town to eat. Just made sense since you could take a Tuktuk down the road and eat a feast just as great for 1/3 of the price. People did get uneasy stomachs and needed Imodium AD no matter where they ate. If you have a weak stomach, stick to what you know and try not to be daring.

Overall our experience was good and I would recommend this hotel because it's the best hotel in the area.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Fritz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trilok N, General Manager at Sokha Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Fritz P,

Greetings from Sokha Beach Resort, Sihanouk Ville!

Thank you very much for sharing your review from your stay during XMas holidays 2013. We are glad to note that you and your family had an enjoyable experience. Thank you very much also for recommending our resort.

Appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you & your family back at our resort.

Yours sincerely,

Trilok Narain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

(shiok = dam good in the language of my country)

good place to stay
really really 5 star
room was awesome, amenities were awesome
the pool with the pool bar was freaking awesome, just need to open the back door and ta-duh, its the pool!
chill in the pool with a coconut served to u
shiok ++

will definitely return

(oh ya, and remb to rent a scooter to get around town with, indispensable!)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trilok N, General Manager at Sokha Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear awwj,

Greetings from Sokha Beach Resort, Sihanouk Ville!

Thank you very much for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. It is very heartening to note that you and your friends had a most enjoyable holiday with the pool and all other amenities that the resort offers.

Really appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at our resort.

Yours sincerely,

Trilok Narain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

After a 4 hour bus trip, Sokha Beach Resort was a welcome sight.
Our check in was swift, complete with lovely cooling towels and a fruit cocktail. We were explained the layout of the resort and taken up to our room.
We had a Ocean Wing Superior room which gave us a lovely view of the beach and pool area and was centrally located to main pool, restaurant, bar, reception and a 3 minute walk to the beach. The room was huge, with a great bathroom, a balcony with 2 chairs and a table on it and a massive kingsize bed that was heavenly. The pillows were soft, yet firm. The bathroom products were lovely to use and plentiful. The only negative was there was no dvd/cd player as stated there would be. We had to ask for that at the front counter. We thought it would be installed while we were out for the day, but were just given the unit to install ourselves. On three seperate occasions this occured, we were never given cords, just the unit. The 5th request was when we finally had enough and had words with management. The unit was ready when we arrived back to our room on the 3rd day. The wifi in the room was pretty useless, but worked by the pool and other public areas a treat.
The breakfast here is something else, so much choice. Fresh, well presented, great staff, but the big highlight was that we weren't charged for having a latte each morning, which we were at other places we stayed in Cambodia. There was one morning on the weekend when we were asked to walk to Lemongrass for our breakfast as the influx of weekend tourist had left nowhere for us te sit, we opted to wait half an hour and go back. The poolside bar was great. Staff attentive, very friendly, drinks very tasty and the snacks great. I had room service one night which was a pretty lack lustre meal, but it was to be expected. Each night we had cocktails down stairs to finish off our day, which was a bit of fun. Again, the staff were attentive, friendly and chatty.
Our holiday here was primarily a recharge. Sitting around the pool, swimming down at the beach, which was clean and well serviced, really doing nothing. Which we did. And loved.
We had dinner at Lemongrass one night which marred by a huge rain storm, nothing wecould do about that. Food was nice. Drinks ok. Rest of the nights we ate out in town. A $3US tuk tuk ride and we were at some amazing places to eat.
Overall, our stay here was great. The dvd episode was the only negative. We were here for 7 nights, and I must say, it got very busy on the weekend we were here, but that is to be expected. We had a great time, were happy with the service, loved our room and view, the pool and beach great, the experience just lovely.
A great place to unwind.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trilok N, General Manager at Sokha Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Robert E,

Greetings from Sokha Beach Resort, Sihanouk Ville!

Thank you very much for sharing a great review on Tripadvisor. We are very glad to note that you and your wife had a lovely holiday - great stay, great time, happy with the service, loved the room and the view, pool and the beach. This is really our greatest reward. We will certainly take care regarding the DVD point.

Appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at our resort.

Yours sincerely,

Trilok Narain
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

After staying in a lovely hotel in Siem Reap (Shinta Mani Club), i was not happy to end my Cambodia vacation staying at Sokha Beach Resort. The only saving grace of this resort is it's the fact that it has it's own private beach and it seems to be the best beach in the area. The resort is huge and considering we visited off peak, the service is close to terrible, with staff not looking happy to be of service, even making faces or almost refusing to grant the simplest requests (like not to put oil in my omelette - the cook in the egg station literally rolled his eyes when I asked him not to put oil in the pan). The thing that destroyed it for me are the cockroaches in the room -- I rented the Executive Suite (2 bedrooms and a living room) -- and I had 2 cockroach incidents. I absolutely hate them and could hardly sleep well those 4 nights we were there. My friends were in the lakeview deluxe rooms, and also had cockroach problems. I know it's the rainy season and probably the time for these pests to be around, but I am from the Philippines where cockroaches are plenty. But if you clean well, there won't be cockroaches. I complained about this within minutes from checking in bec I had the first incident as soon as we entered the room. But 2 days after, it happened again. The musty smell alone of the rooms already gave me the feeling that there were pests in the rooms. I heard the resort is only 10 years old. I thought it was built in the 80s the way it looked. I have to say I was not happy staying here. Even the main breakfast area was soooo musty that we opted to eat outdoors than in the airconditioned dining area. It felt like there were pests there too!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Triccie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
1.4 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 74 in Sihanoukville
645 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#2 of 74 in Sihanoukville
487 reviews
0.7 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#3 of 74 in Sihanoukville
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#1 of 74 in Sihanoukville
716 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#4 of 74 in Sihanoukville
400 reviews
4.4 mi away
White Boutique Hotel
White Boutique Hotel
#8 of 74 in Sihanoukville
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokha Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokha Beach Resort

Property: Sokha Beach Resort
Address: Street 2 Thnou, Sangkat 4, Mittapheap Dist., Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Sihanoukville
#2 Spa Hotel in Sihanoukville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sihanoukville
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sokha Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokha Beach Resort is set amidst 23.5 hectares of beautifully landscaped beachfront and garden with its own 1.5 kilometer pristine white sandy beach. Voted amongst the Best New Hotels in the World in Condé Nast Traveler Magazine's Ninth Annual Hot List 2005, this resort is certainly a top choice when vacationing in South East Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sokha Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokha Beach Hotel Sihanoukville
Sokha Beach Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing