We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, overpriced rooms”
Review of The New Coasters

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sihanoukville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The New Coasters
Ranked #64 of 74 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, overpriced rooms”
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We staid 3 nights at Coasters in the beginning of May. The location is superb as you are only a very short crawl away from the beach and the sea. First two nights we stayed with 3 persons in a two double bed fan only wooden cabin for 20 $. This cabin was very, very basic but it was doable because the cost would be split in three. After our friend left one day before us, we decided we wanted a cheaper room, or we would go next door to the 20$ A/C room. There was a double room available, fan only for 15 $ and we settled for that as it was for just one more night.

Room Tip: Don't go for the sea view fan cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remco123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    21
    11
    10
    19
See reviews for
6
32
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We ended up staying at Coaster's by accident. We had actually made a reservation at the Aquarium next door, but due to some confusion, we checked in here. I indicated to the staff that I had a reservation when checking in and gave my name and he simply took us to a room. I only realized we checked in the wrong hotel that evening when we had dinner next door at the Aquarium. Although we would have simply stayed at the Coaster's, we ended up checking out the next morning and moving to the Aquarium due to a number of issues with the room at Coaster's.

We got a $25.00 A/C room. To start on a positive note, the staff appeared friendly, the view is okay and the location is next to the beach. There aren't too many hotels on the beach here. Most of the beach front is used by restaurants. In addition, at first appearance the $25.00 price seemed to be good. The room contained mostly what one would need, including a sitting area in front of the tv.

The problems with the room were the A/C, the shower, the tv, the wifi and the noise. Having booked an A/C room, I expect to be given an A/C remote so I can control the temperature. After I went and asked where the A/C remote was, the staff indicated that they preset the temperature. I told him that it was too hot in the room and he simply smiled. To make matters worse, the fans in the room at their max produced barely a breeze. As a result, we simply sweat. Not being able to control the temperature is simply absurd. If I am paying for an A/C room, I should be able to set it to a temperature of my choice. Naturally, the preset temperature wasn't cool enough and I can't think of any reason why to preset except to be cheap, especially when our room the next day came with remote and worked just fine.

Next, the shower heater wasn't working properly and we had intermittent warm water as a result.

As it relates to the tv, there were a number of good channels, but it was difficult to watch them. The cable would go on and off and the picture was never very clear.

Next, for those who want wifi in their rooms, we couldn't get it in ours. After asking, we were told there was no wifi despite seeing the router outside the door and finding the password protected network. Not sure what the deal was here other than the staff simply not wanting to deal with it.

There is also a bit of noise at night. Coaster's is located one or two buildings down from a few beach bars. The bars were popular at night and as a result there was quite a bit of noise (loud screams, talking, music etc.). It was kind of surprising how much you could hear even though the bars weren't that close. In any case, if you are a light sleeper and won't be partaking in the fun, perhaps move down a few hotels.

In the end, the Coaster's was not a good choice for us. We could have dealt with some of the problems but the A/C issue was simply the deal breaker. We moved the next door where it was only $5.00 more and was a nice A/C bungalow very close to the beach, remote included.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sihanoukville hotels

Goirle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Stayed here in 2007 and was suprised that are 10 dollar room could give us so mutch joy. Rob and Don were great and the staaf was wonderfull. Wanted to stay there for 4 night but stayed 16 days. At are stay the disco was'nt playing. It was all lounge at Coasters. Pitty that i see now so many negative reviews.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petspelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2011

The service at Coasters was excellent. The staff (I believe management recently changed hands) will go above and beyond to make your stay comfy - and even do a ring around of several locals when you loose something valuble in the street (thanks again Don).

The rooms are nice a quiet but close enough to the 'night life' - just a stroll up the beach - clean and tidy with a deck to sit out on, not the latest decor but still nice. We stayed in a fan room, was just fine.

Beautiful fish amok - if they still have the apple crumble your in luck. Music won't blast during dinner - you can comfortably sit out on the beach by candlelight. 'Town' is just a walk up the hill (driveway very bumpy!! don't let it put you off!) From our experience, it was one of the more expensive places in town to stay, but well worth it when you can stroll out onto the sand 20 steps from you door.

Thanks Don, Annie, 'Scooter' and everyone at Coasters :)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We had a great time at Coaster's. The location of was definitely a selling point. It's only a minute walk to the busier Ocheteaul beach, but far enough away from the noise of the beach nightlife to get a good night's rest.

The views from the balconies can't be beat, and the food at the restaurant was delicious enough to keep us there for almost every meal during our 3 day stay. The owners were extremely attentive to all of our needs and questions as well. Definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirklebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We stayed for two nights and it was quite good right at the actual end of serindipity beach. We originally were going to stay at Cloud 9 but did not want the extra walk to get to the beach. Not cheap by cambodia standards , we payed $30 for two queen beds,aircon but the room was large quiet and clean. Food was good in restaurant. Staff was friendly and helpful. They got us motorbikes to rent. The main road to get there is tragic but that applys to all the hotels on that end. Good french restaurant nearby.We took a day trip on motor bike to otres beach and would recommend the Daiquri bar.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawaiian_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veneto, Italy
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

I chose the fan, queen size bed (they are bungolows nr. 8 and 9).
There would be hot water if only the power supply were constant (only some hours during the day).
Restaurant is good (kmer food and international), but its prices are above average.
The UK manager is kind and friendly, helping you on whatever you need.
Good spot for start snorkelling (white sand everywhere but in front Coaster begins rocks), but do not expect coral reefs (like in Thai, Indonesia or Maldives).
Laundry is not included.
Fair price for this room is 9$

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.3 mi away
Bao Mai Resort
Bao Mai Resort
#33 of 74 in Sihanoukville
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Serendipity Beach Resort
Serendipity Beach Resort
#26 of 74 in Sihanoukville
473 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jasmine Hotel
Jasmine Hotel
#62 of 74 in Sihanoukville
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#17 of 74 in Sihanoukville
116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Reef Resort
Reef Resort
#16 of 74 in Sihanoukville
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chochi Garden Guest House
Chochi Garden Guest House
#8 of 233 in Sihanoukville
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Coasters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Coasters

Property: The New Coasters
Address: | Serendipity Beach, Sihanoukville, Cambodia (Formerly Coaster's)
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 74 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unfortunately guesthouse now repairing and opening will take place in August 2015. But the restaurant is open and is pleased to offer you a variety of dishes of Central European cuisine. Also our restaurant has the best wi-fi on the coast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coaster`s Hotel Sihanoukville
Coasters Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing