We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes yes hi !”
Review of Malibu Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Malibu Bungalows
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yes yes hi !”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I came for 1 night .i m stay 4 night. Maybe thr best l9cation gecause malibu bungalow have a private and quiet beach. It jysg amazing . Friendly staff. Near serendipity beach and 5 minutes to the center town

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cedrici001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    33
    19
    12
    16
See reviews for
10
57
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

When looking for a "short" haul [diving] vacation from Saigon, I came across Sihanoukville. I found Malibu Bungalows via TripAdvisor and Booking.com, but booked directly with the resort via email - no cc needed to secure, and took a sea-view villa.

Knowing what little I do about Cambodia, I did expect rustic - which is exactly what Malibu Bungalows offers. There are few villas on stilts up a small hillside, leading down to a private, but rocky beach. You can definitely wade in the waters just in front of the retreat, but a small walk over to Sokha Beach (maybe 200meters) gets you a big stretch of sandy beach. However, it was disappionting that the cabanas at Malibu Bungalows didn't supply beach towels (either in the room or on the beach). The lounge beds were very old and dirty.

The bungalow is small. We knew there wasn't AC, and the room had, "a fan". I was expecting a ceiling fan, but there is 1 large stand (that you can move around whever you best see fit) and 1 mounted on the wall. Visiting in early May, it was extremely HOT! We kept the balcony door open all day just to have fresh air, regardless of the temperature, and this kept it all quite comfortable. The balcony view was spectacular, and excellent sunsets every night. The bed is turned away from any windows, though, so you need to be outside to see the view - internal it is dark and a non-working light bulb was never replaced throughout our 5-night stay.

The bathroom is a wet cell. If you expect this, you're fine.

Night time sleeping is full of mosquitos. The mosquito nets don't reach all the way to the floor, so they can still creep underneath and come inside, unless you drape the edes onto the bed. I had gecko and rodent droppings on my pillowside the first night, and if you aren't used to the sounds of the jungle, then you will not sleep well. There are many holes in the rafters and ceilings, so expect tokays and geckos (and maybe more) to wander about the ceiling in the middle of the night. Personally, I found the call of the tokay one of the best parts of the stay, but it won't be that way for all.

Breakfast is just what you need, but not much of what you may want. Eggs are made to order, and there is french toast, plain crepes, and banana crepes, along with 3 selections of seasonal fruit, coffee, orange juice, tea, water, and white bread to toast. Sauces are also available. The same every day - could do with alternating bacon and/or sausage and a local option. I would avoid dining there in the evening unless you are so tired on arrival. There are excellent restaurants nearby.

Definitely rent a motorbike at US$7/day- you make up the difference of paying a tuk-tuk within 1 full day of back and forth to the beaches.

Trash was an issue-and one I am disappointed to see from Western owners. The amount of rubbish on the off-road driveway is sad, and lazy. Moreover, on Saturday they burned a very large pile of grass, leaves, and TRASH. As it was burning we saw the workers throw even more plastic bottles on top. The wind didn't carry the smell and dioxins over the bungalows, but blew it directly over the neighbors living just down the road. It was both unnecessary and shameful, forcing us to leave for the day. When we returned hours later, it was still smouldering and would continue to do so for the rest of the day. Yes, waste management is a problem throughout the country, but I really expected more.

The management was always very accommodating and flexible. For diving, we were told it was best to stay overnight on the island in order to dive 2 days. Unfortunately there was an issue with our reservation and we had to return to the mainland the same day. Aurelie was very understanding and there was no problem here (either with the early check-out, offer to store luggage for the night, or to return all in the same day when our options failed).

We drove around the region quite a bit, and I can't see any other place I would have stayed in the region. Backpacker rooms were available for not much less, and I failed to see any more up-market places that would offer such a spectacular view. For us, the rubbish was the real issue, and why we will not return to Sihanoukville. Our first impression of Malibu Bungalows was underwhelming, but we enjoyed it to the max, and it was really all we needed.

Room Tip: Choose sea view villas over beachfront villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zombiefluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AurelieMorel, Directeur général at Malibu Bungalows, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear " ZombieFluff",

Thank you for your review and details.
First, we were very happy to welcome you and your friend and keep a good memories about your stay.
We thank you to appreciate our location and beach.
About the mosquitos, unfortunately it's very difficult to keep them outside in
Cambodia, but since your coming we isolated as much as possible the rooms.
Concerning the trash, it's one of our mindest issue, knowing the only one collection company sometimes forget totally to come to us.
So we have to find solutions as we don't keep the garbage too long with a very hot weather.
We working on it, and apologize for that.

We hope to see you again
Best regards
Aurelie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We had booked a 2 nights stay via Agoda.

When we reached there after a long 6 hr bus journey, we were told that the hotel never received our reservation from Agoda. Lucky that I had taken all the payment receipts to show the manager who was did check us in and said she would contact Agoda the next day.

The lady offered us an "upgrade" for the inconvenience and when we went to our room we were just absolutely shocked.
The room smelt of mould and damp wood. The bathroom door was so tilted that it did not shut. We were given a room with twin beds that were joined together and only one of them had a mosuito net.

The bathroom had no division between the showe and toilet and was utterly old and disgusting.

There were no tea or coffee facilities, the dustbin was broken, no toiletries what so ever.

The windows did not have a shutter and only had a sheer curtain. All night the street lights were streaming into our room and 5.30am the sunlight was in my room.

By the time we came back from dinner and were more than ready for bed. We had absolutely no energy after a full day journey in the bus to go and complain so we just told ourselves not to too fussy and rest for the night.
However we both were awake all night just wondering how any if the previous guests had anything good to say about this place. I researched all night to find another decent place that we could shift to.

Early morning we went up to the manager to explain her the condition of the "VILLA" we spent our night in and to our utter surprise she informed us that it was renovated a month ago. SERIOUSLY?????

When I told her how we could not sleep all night and would like to cancel our booking for the next day, she understood and refunded part of our money for the next day.

We then had some breakfast which was decent enough and went for a walk on the beach if the hotel. To my utter disappointment the beach was full of huge rocks and there was no way one could swim there. One should have to walk upto the Sokha beach hotel's private beach area and swim.

I have to mention that the manager was understanding and genuinely listened to our problem however that does not change my opinion of the place.

We then went to Moon Julie Hotel for the next day which has similar charges to this place but I cannot even endeavor to describe the difference in the facilities, place and service.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rush911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sihanoukville hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Malibu bungalows "Paradise retreat" is an average, but fairly unique place to stay. The view is beautiful overlooking Sokha Beach and sea, but the accomodation is nothing more than average and in need of modernisation. It's about a 20 minute walk or $2USD Tuk Tuk ride to the more touristy area of Serendipity Beach. We stayed here for two nights, but if we hadn't have already paid we probably would've moved on. You have to walk up a 100m dirt track hill littered with rubbish, past geese, dogs, chickens and turkeys. On arrival we were given a glass of water and welcomed. Our bungalow was disappointing. It is dark inside, with poor lighting. Housekeeping poor, I found a bag of rubbish next to the chest, the floor was dusty and gritty, bathroom tap dripped constantly, bathroom door did not close fully, the top of the mosquito net had lots of bits on it, but the worst bit was the state of the sheets, towels and curtains - which all had stains on them! The shower only has one temperature and is not powerful. There is a lack of amenities in the room - minimal toiletries, no tea/coffee making facilities, and no air conditioning. Wifi worked most of the time. Breakfast is served from 07:00-10:00. At breakfast on our first morning at 07:05 there were platters of fruit, bread, juice, water and tea/coffee available. When another guest joined the room he was offered eggs to be cooked for him, and then pancakes and french toast arrived. This was very disappointing having missed out because no one asked us, plus there is no menu with breakfast options displayed and we had to leave quickly to go on our day trip. On our second night at approximately 22:30 there was no running water at all. When I enquired at breakfast other residents had the same issue but the staff could not give me a reason for this. We are grateful that we were allowed to keep our room until 13:00 (check out time 12:00) but when we asked if it would be possible for them to contact our bus company for confirmation of transport we were told it would be too expensive for them to use their phones!! You need to understand their bungalows are literally wooden huts (or as we called it a glorified shed) on the side of a hill, with just about enough room to live in for 2 nights. They've made every effort to block up the gaps, but inevitably there are cracks between the floorboards, and holes in the corners, and you must be prepared for unwanted visitors (we only saw mosquitos and moths, but there could've been more). There were lots of weird and wonderful sounds in the night, as well as the peaceful sound of the waves crashing onto the beach, but we slept well due to having the reassurance of the mosquito net over the bed. Overall - average for the price, I think there are better options available and I would not stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sunrise83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Having stayed here before 5 years ago I came back here again. Nothing has changed ie.it appears that maintenance has largely been neglected in the intervening period and the resort is looking run down in comparison to my previous visit. Also some of the rooms could do with a really good clean especially the bathrooms. Hopefully the new owners (from March 2014) will invest some money in addressing the issues.

However the location and serenity of the place are unbeatable. If you are looking for a quiet location with the Khmer hut experience in reasonable proximity to Serendipity Beach, this is it. There are other similar resorts in better condition however these are sometimes affected by the noise from Serendipity Beach bars uptil 5am.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakeman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AurelieMorel, General Manager at Malibu Bungalows, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Jakeman2014,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We quite agree with you and have already started the renovation of the site so that our customers can get the most of the location of Malibu Bungalows.
We hope to see you again before 5 years!

Best regards
Aurelie and Fabrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Lovely location on it's own small beach. To swim off it you have to navigate around the big rocks in the sea, but just 30 seconds away is Sokkha beach and you can swim from there. There is a short cut into town and Serendipity Beach or you can walk by road (about 15 mins) or take a $2 Tuk Tuk ride. The bungalows themselves are built up the hill and are traditional Cambodian stilted wooden structures, with a balcony looking over the sea. It is very peaceful, you can hear the waves lapping at night. There are quite a few steps down to the beach, so think twice if you have mobility issues. The staff are lovely, helpful and sweet. A good breakfast is included (but the same every day), but you can also get a very nice lunch and dinner there. The bungalows are rustic. Low pressure shower and no air conditioning, just two fans and the sea breeze. We went in February so there were not many mosquitoes (there was a bed mosquito net) but I feel the heat, so I found it hot! Also the one other negative was that there are only 3 (Lovely) sunbeds, so if you don't hotfoot it to the beach, you may have to lie on the sand. I think if they added some more sunbeds it would be perfect (they have the room). Felt very secure there - there was a safe in the room. If you want to bike ride, there is a bicycle shop on the way into town (about 5 minutes from the hotel) and they charge $2 for 24 hours. Also check out Victory Beach and Independence Beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Numansdorp
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and liked it a lot, friendly staff, good breakfast and nice private beach or a more busy beach around the corner easy to walk to or a short tuktuk drive. Rooms are clean, simple but nice with everything you need. Would stay again!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank rondjeazie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.8 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#17 of 74 in Sihanoukville
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cloud9 Bungalows
Cloud9 Bungalows
#74 of 233 in Sihanoukville
111 reviews
0.8 mi away
French Garden Resort
French Garden Resort
#6 of 233 in Sihanoukville
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
8 Elemento
8 Elemento
#56 of 143 in Sihanoukville
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows
Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalow...
#26 of 233 in Sihanoukville
157 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tranquility Guesthouse
Tranquility Guesthouse
#67 of 233 in Sihanoukville
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Bungalows

Property: Malibu Bungalows
Address: Group 14, Mondol 4, Sangkat 4, Khan Mitta Pheap | Sokha Beach Hill, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Malibu Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malibu Bungalows is a Cambodian style hotel with an extraordinary view over the Sihanoukville bay and a private direct access to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Malibu Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Bungalows Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing