We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy Great Chips @ Midget”
Review of The Purple Midget Bar - CLOSED

The Purple Midget Bar
Cuisines: Asian, Pub
Restaurant details
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Crazy Great Chips @ Midget”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stopped by Purple Midget last night to try out the special: Curry Chicken Burger and Chips. I’m not a fan of burger buns so I asked to substitute a floor tortilla for the bun; no hay problema or as they say in Khmer: ah pan ha.
When the order arrived it was a humungous plateful – a log sized wrap of curry chicken with extra spicy sauce and a mountain of golden brown fries. Those big ol’ chip things are what the Brits and their former colonies prefer- large, husky slices of potato. Normally I gravitate to the lither kind – the slim ones popular in the States.
Well, if there is such a thing as culinary epiphany I sure had one with those chubby chips. Talk about scrumptious – they were divine. The wife and kid and I were fighting over them. Those delicious babies were gobbled down in record time. Houdini would have been impressed how fast they disappeared.
From now on lithe fries are second best, Purple Midget’s chips are a technical knockout- they be the heavyweight champ of fries in SHV.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DiceyEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Blink and you'll miss it, but don't blink and you can stumble across (and often stumble out of later) one of the friendliest little bars in Sihanoukville.
What makes this place special is the partnership of Brian and Marady. Brian runs front of house; espousing his often dubious brand of Kiwi wisdom on one and all. Friendly and good company too, Brian likes to experiment with cocktails, so there's a good chance you end up as a guinea pig should you visit.
But the real magic comes from Marady in the kitchen. A whole range of dishes from several points around the globe, I've been lucky enough to try most of her delicious menu.
First up is the chilli or the chilli bread or the chilli fries. Definitely among the best chillis to be found in this corner of Cambodia, Marady hits that perfect blend of consistency and spiciness. Either served in a bowl with fresh bread, or pizza style on 2 half baguettes or her amazing chilli fries (and her chips/fries also rank high in the Sihanoukville league table), whatever you choose, you are guaranteed a high level of culinary delight.
Next up the 'fush and chups' (as the Kiwi boss pronounces it). Utterly fantastic; fish in beer batter and those wonderful chunky chips that many places struggle to achieve.
Lots of other great dishes on the menu; from Marady's Hot and Spicy to fantastic wraps and a special mention to those scrumptious desserts; pineapple or banana fritters served with chocolate sauce, syrup and optional ice cream.
Prices are more than reasonable too; fish and chips will set you back $4 while one of those desserts (with the ice cream) will only cost you $1.50. Great for your wallet, but sadly, not so great for my waistline ;)

proud to say I'm a Midget regular now :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IainDonnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great little bar”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

What a great bar. Ice cold Cambodia beer on tap, an extremely affable bar manager, Delicious food at very reasonable prices.A great pace to take a weight off and watch the world go by. Brian will also happily screen any of the big sporting events if you ask him. Also have a dart competition on ( I think) Thursday nights, all welcome to join in.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coral_Resortkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hosts”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My partner and I had a lovely meal at Purple Midget. The chicken fried rice and chicken fried noodles are wonderful. Marady and Brian are very friendly and welcoming to all their customers. We will defiantly be back !

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank EmeraldTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brazen Burritos @ The Midget”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Kiwi Brian of Purple Midget fame has gone all eclectic with his menu items. He has Brit dishes, American stuff, Malaysian curry, Chinese food and now has a sampling of Mexican fare available for the adventurous diner. Ya got a hankering for nachos smothered in melted cheese, refried beans, sour cream and peppers it’s there; looking for a spicy chicken burrito on a homemade flour tortilla, the cute-as-a-button Chef Marady prepares a killer one.
This afternoon after work my sister Cowgirl and I stopped by to see what was cooking. The nachos already bit the dust, guess they are a popular item and sold out rapidly, so I ended with Chef Marady’s spicy chicken burrito. For a Khmer chick she sure has a way with Chicano cuisine. Like my favorite Mexican restaurant in San Francisco’s Mission barrio, La Taqueria, the burritos are made sans rice. Spicy as all get out; a savory delight for those with a bold palate.
After a couple of mouthfuls you’ll be have the urge to hop up and dance the Tango or impulsively start singing the chorus to Ritchie Valens “La Bamba". Anyways, good Mexican vittles have that effect on me. If you’re not into singing a meal’s praises, it’s certainly good for a half dozen yummy-yummies.
Now if Marady would go the fusion route and combine some her caliente chicken with some of her not-so caliente chili, she’d have one mighty pungent concoction from culinary heaven.
Just the thought of it gets me salivating like one of Pavlov’s canines.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LorenaBye_bye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Purple Midget Bar also viewed

Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing