We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Sand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$48
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Don Bosco Hotel School(Sihanoukville)
US$26
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sahaa Beach Resort(Sihanoukville)
US$98
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Club Resort(Sihanoukville)
US$26
US$20
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamu Hotel(Sihanoukville)
US$93
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Legacy Hotel & Resort(Sihanoukville)
US$79
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tamarind(Sihanoukville)
US$27
US$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveller rating
47
120
100
50
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
120
100
50
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsochheuteal beachbig hotelnice swimming poolserendipity beachsea view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 347 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here as part of a group tour, the description was 'basic' but it exceeded my expectations to the max. Lovely spot, close to the beach and the beachfront lifestyle. Rooms were clean and well but also had a few lovely touches. The pool and neighbouring cafe was lovely and the few days we spent were some of the most enjoyable of the trip!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Shaun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

On first glance it's a large grand hotel. I've stayed at this hotel on 2 occasions due its great location close to beach and shops. On closer inspection there is a large & welcoming pool and an impressive foyer. There is a really nice Western café next to the pool. The rooms I've stayed in were a little tired looking, and I think are somewhat overpriced. The breakfast options are great. Some interesting staff I encountered on both stays – some over zealous cleaning staff (too much knocking & interruption when moving out) & an over zealous dining staffer (double checking breakfast vouchers). The reception staff I met were all friendly & happy to provide solutions. However, I'd like to make these cautions to future guests: 1.print out & present all booking paperwork to reception staff upon checking in (my first stay here all our twin rooms became double beds); 2. Seek solutions (upon talking with reception, I was able to change my double room to twin room the next morning); 3 when a staff member promises you something, please take note of their name (chances are, they won’t be working their shift when you actually need the solution, i.e. changing rooms, late check out…); 4 be vigilant in your financial paperwork (another friend was charged for group booking rooms at this hotel on her credit card, despite these rooms having all be paid for with cash & with receipts); & 5 the hotel credit card machine may not work (bring enough cash & PLEASE keep your receipts).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaskaQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Golden sand hotel as part of a tour with other people. The staff was friendly and the hotel was very nice for the price we paid. The pool aerea was very clean and it was close to the beach. At least you could get sleep at night since the hotel is not at the beach aerea where all the partys are taking place.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Abi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel met all my requirements.

This hotel is very good for the price it has offered. Located hardly a walk of maybe 100m from the occheutel beach, it offers a wide range of facilities and services. It is very close to the Golden Lion Circle and Serendipity Beach road and yet offers peace and quiet atmosphere at night. It is close to many of the best restaurants in Sihanoukville and also close to shopping markets, bus stops, tourist centres, bars, pubs, diving school centres etc. It is a very happening location.

We had a very easy and smooth check in by a smiling, friendly staff. The room is very big. They have spacious king size beds and 2 big LED TVs and 2 well facilitated bathrooms. The room is also well facilitated with high speed Wifi. Mini bar is reasonable and tea and coffee making kettle is available. The view is not great from the first floor. I had a back facing room. Higher floors have a beach view.

The breakfast is great. Never seen a bigger buffet layout for breakfast. From continental to Asian and Cambodian, there was wide range of salads, fruits, cold meat, breads and croissants, cakes, various noodles and rice with chicken, pork, beef, fish…….. just too much and too good! They even gave us takeaway as we had to leave early last day for Phnom penh.
The leisure café of the hotel is also good for a pastry, shake, or coffee at night with good music and café ambience at the poolside.

The hotel has good services. Booking of buses, minivans and taxis to travel to Phnom Penh or Siem Reap can be done at the reception and they provide a pickup at the hotel. Local tours can also be booked. They have tuktuk drivers outside the hotel and if you take a price list from the reception, the tuktuk driver gives a discount.

In the end, had a pleasant stay at this hotel and am more than satisfied!

Room Tip: choose pool facing room or beach facing on higher floors.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MohitDurge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel is near to beach(though not beach hotel), fully functional, with large reception,pool and pool side cafe open upto 11pm.Also has a restaurant.
We stayed on 5/6/7 June 2014 in the triple suite which was excellent.It had 3 large beds two bathrooms, safe, two large TVs, coat hanger, tub bath, nice wooden closets, double curtains(light and thick) mini-bar, tea-maker, mirror. The bathrooms were well stocked with ear-buds,tooth-brush with paste(daily),shampoo,bath gel,razor.,soaps.All the things like a-c,safe were in working condition.There was silence and good quality sleep.
The reception was prompt and courteous booked us our return trip to PP by van with pick up at the hotel which was very suitable for us as it was early 640am.They also arranged a packed breakfast for us and delivered it on day of travel on time-it was too good! They had given 2slices of bread(freash) butter, jam, one boiled egg and 2 bananas with plastic fork/knife and lovely pepper-salt.
The leisure cafe serves lovely sweets and shakes and drinks.We had bluberry cheese cake yum and death by choclate...Nice ambiance -good sofas to sit ,fresh coffee aroma !
The lobby was large and hugh wooden elephants at entrance-nice for taking pics.It also had plenty of maps and info booklets for browsing.
Lift was silent,Mitsubishi, always available.
There are tuk-tuks always available for you as soon as you leave the hotel and hotel got one for us on a rainy morning when we planned for scuba diving excursion.The rates of tuk-tuks are displayed as menu cards everywhere and they do not over-charge.
Area is central-plenty of good eating places around-we had 10$ for 3 at Nyam nearby.Plenty more options for food and drinks as well.Also many tour-shops, dive shops,stores ...bus booking,air tics.
This hotel has ATM at its entrance-cool !
The best breakfast in the world -simply cos has PLENTY of choice-whatever you eat,veg,chicken,ham,pork,fruits,eggs,cornflakes,milk,toast,cakes,and much more--lavish ...
We had a great stay and no problems at all.
The only issue is that its not on the beach but it did not worry us at all. Also did not check out its reataurant for meals.

Room Tip: Go for the suit-rooms.we stayed on first floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank observerThane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews