We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Golden Sand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Sand Hotel
Ranked #56 of 74 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of an intrepid tour. Highlight was it's proximity to the beach and the variety of options you could choose from at breakfast. Bathrooms in rooms were disappointing - mould on roof and awful smell (think sewerage smell). Plus I was not the only tour member to comment on bathroom smells. My door would not open and I asked on numerous occasions for help and for it to be fixed just To be told that I had to pull the door towards me to open it when I told multiple staff my room number. Clearly not a new problem for room 203!! Also walls paper thin and you could hear everything going on in the corridor.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Thorpie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    120
    94
    45
    20
See reviews for
41
112
54
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Overall a good hotel, rooms ok, Nice pool and very central with an easy walk to most places, but without any noise (apart from the pool in the evening) . Good breakfast and staff very friendly. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeeDizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here as part of a group tour, the description was 'basic' but it exceeded my expectations to the max. Lovely spot, close to the beach and the beachfront lifestyle. Rooms were clean and well but also had a few lovely touches. The pool and neighbouring cafe was lovely and the few days we spent were some of the most enjoyable of the trip!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

On first glance it's a large grand hotel. I've stayed at this hotel on 2 occasions due its great location close to beach and shops. On closer inspection there is a large & welcoming pool and an impressive foyer. There is a really nice Western café next to the pool. The rooms I've stayed in were a little tired looking, and I think are somewhat overpriced. The breakfast options are great. Some interesting staff I encountered on both stays – some over zealous cleaning staff (too much knocking & interruption when moving out) & an over zealous dining staffer (double checking breakfast vouchers). The reception staff I met were all friendly & happy to provide solutions. However, I'd like to make these cautions to future guests: 1.print out & present all booking paperwork to reception staff upon checking in (my first stay here all our twin rooms became double beds); 2. Seek solutions (upon talking with reception, I was able to change my double room to twin room the next morning); 3 when a staff member promises you something, please take note of their name (chances are, they won’t be working their shift when you actually need the solution, i.e. changing rooms, late check out…); 4 be vigilant in your financial paperwork (another friend was charged for group booking rooms at this hotel on her credit card, despite these rooms having all be paid for with cash & with receipts); & 5 the hotel credit card machine may not work (bring enough cash & PLEASE keep your receipts).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaskaQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Golden sand hotel as part of a tour with other people. The staff was friendly and the hotel was very nice for the price we paid. The pool aerea was very clean and it was close to the beach. At least you could get sleep at night since the hotel is not at the beach aerea where all the partys are taking place.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Abi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel met all my requirements.

This hotel is very good for the price it has offered. Located hardly a walk of maybe 100m from the occheutel beach, it offers a wide range of facilities and services. It is very close to the Golden Lion Circle and Serendipity Beach road and yet offers peace and quiet atmosphere at night. It is close to many of the best restaurants in Sihanoukville and also close to shopping markets, bus stops, tourist centres, bars, pubs, diving school centres etc. It is a very happening location.

We had a very easy and smooth check in by a smiling, friendly staff. The room is very big. They have spacious king size beds and 2 big LED TVs and 2 well facilitated bathrooms. The room is also well facilitated with high speed Wifi. Mini bar is reasonable and tea and coffee making kettle is available. The view is not great from the first floor. I had a back facing room. Higher floors have a beach view.

The breakfast is great. Never seen a bigger buffet layout for breakfast. From continental to Asian and Cambodian, there was wide range of salads, fruits, cold meat, breads and croissants, cakes, various noodles and rice with chicken, pork, beef, fish…….. just too much and too good! They even gave us takeaway as we had to leave early last day for Phnom penh.
The leisure café of the hotel is also good for a pastry, shake, or coffee at night with good music and café ambience at the poolside.

The hotel has good services. Booking of buses, minivans and taxis to travel to Phnom Penh or Siem Reap can be done at the reception and they provide a pickup at the hotel. Local tours can also be booked. They have tuktuk drivers outside the hotel and if you take a price list from the reception, the tuktuk driver gives a discount.

In the end, had a pleasant stay at this hotel and am more than satisfied!

Room Tip: choose pool facing room or beach facing on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MohitDurge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thane
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel is near to beach(though not beach hotel), fully functional, with large reception,pool and pool side cafe open upto 11pm.Also has a restaurant.
We stayed on 5/6/7 June 2014 in the triple suite which was excellent.It had 3 large beds two bathrooms, safe, two large TVs, coat hanger, tub bath, nice wooden closets, double curtains(light and thick) mini-bar, tea-maker, mirror. The bathrooms were well stocked with ear-buds,tooth-brush with paste(daily),shampoo,bath gel,razor.,soaps.All the things like a-c,safe were in working condition.There was silence and good quality sleep.
The reception was prompt and courteous booked us our return trip to PP by van with pick up at the hotel which was very suitable for us as it was early 640am.They also arranged a packed breakfast for us and delivered it on day of travel on time-it was too good! They had given 2slices of bread(freash) butter, jam, one boiled egg and 2 bananas with plastic fork/knife and lovely pepper-salt.
The leisure cafe serves lovely sweets and shakes and drinks.We had bluberry cheese cake yum and death by choclate...Nice ambiance -good sofas to sit ,fresh coffee aroma !
The lobby was large and hugh wooden elephants at entrance-nice for taking pics.It also had plenty of maps and info booklets for browsing.
Lift was silent,Mitsubishi, always available.
There are tuk-tuks always available for you as soon as you leave the hotel and hotel got one for us on a rainy morning when we planned for scuba diving excursion.The rates of tuk-tuks are displayed as menu cards everywhere and they do not over-charge.
Area is central-plenty of good eating places around-we had 10$ for 3 at Nyam nearby.Plenty more options for food and drinks as well.Also many tour-shops, dive shops,stores ...bus booking,air tics.
This hotel has ATM at its entrance-cool !
The best breakfast in the world -simply cos has PLENTY of choice-whatever you eat,veg,chicken,ham,pork,fruits,eggs,cornflakes,milk,toast,cakes,and much more--lavish ...
We had a great stay and no problems at all.
The only issue is that its not on the beach but it did not worry us at all. Also did not check out its reataurant for meals.

Room Tip: Go for the suit-rooms.we stayed on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank observerThane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.1 mi away
OC Boutique Hotel
OC Boutique Hotel
#28 of 74 in Sihanoukville
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coolabah Hotel
Coolabah Hotel
#18 of 74 in Sihanoukville
602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bao Mai Resort
Bao Mai Resort
#33 of 74 in Sihanoukville
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Miiya Hotel
Miiya Hotel
#22 of 74 in Sihanoukville
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Villa Nataya Sihanoukville
0.4 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#17 of 74 in Sihanoukville
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sand Hotel

Property: Golden Sand Hotel
Address: St. 23 Tola, Modol 4 | Khan Mittapheap, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sand Hotel is located just a few minutes away from Ochheuteal Beach of Sihanoukville Cambodia. Recently awarded the status one of the "Most Beautiful Bays of the World." We have all of the facilities to make your stay memorable and comfortable. Our 134 elegantly appointed rooms and suites are beautifully furnished with wooden furniture and equipped with all amenities you would expect to find in a fine hotel. With a restaurant serving Khmer, Chinese and continental cuisines, a large swimming pool and function halls with the capacity to accommodate from 50 to 180 guests. Our helpful and friendly staff will pay special attention to details. We welcome you to come and spend your holidays with us and let us make your vacation a memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sand Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing