We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place, really good value”
Review of Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Reef Resort
Ranked #15 of 75 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I cannot find anything to fault this place. I've stayed in many of the Sihanoukville hotels and I am sorry I never tried this place sooner. The rooms are comfortable and extremely clean (no dust, mold, or mildew), wifi is fast, I liked the flat screen LCD TV's. Location is perfect in happening part of Serendipity Beach section but rooms are set back off the road and very quiet. The salt water pool was clean and well-maintained (its obvious a previous very negative review was false and bogus), service was helpful and friendly. I didn't try the restaurant but the menu looked OK and reasonably priced, perhaps very slightly pricey, but I'm guessing they deliver a nice quality meal. My compliments to the owner/manager for providing a very nice hotel experience. I'll definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mike__R0ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

À fantastic place, our home away from home. Nice pool, nice staff and good Food.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gunillalandvetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Oh dear. So it's rated No 2 in the area. Admittedly Sihanoukville overall is like a cheap British seaside town, but still. Apart from the lovely, lovely British lady at reception, I seriously struggled to find one redeeming feature at this place. Couldn't bring myself to use the pool, even after the 8am cleaning round. Didn't feel inclined to use the shower, so didn't. I couldn't even credit it with being 'just a bed for the night', as I sat on the terrace from 5am, unable to sleep. This did however mean that I got to witness the 'sunrise crowd' still partying on the beach. Extraordinary. Perhaps it was just Sihanoukville that wasn't for me. Either way, someone has managed to get this place up the rankings, and I'm not sure it's the guests.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Damian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I chose this hotel for a recent stay because of the great reviews in Trip Advisor. I probably stayed in a different hotel than all the other reviewers because I really did not think it was anything more than plain average. The service is of course very friendly as it is all over in Cambodia but apart from that it did not impress me. The bathroom is probably the worst part. There is no shower cubicle or bath tub and whenever you shower the whole bathroom floor fills with water that stays there the rest of the day. The large poolside suite is hardly a suite. The room is large and there is a big TV but apart from that just average. Breakfast includes one item, so if you want eggs, you cannot get fruits or pancake unless you pay separately. The cleaning seemed to include just making the bed, as the floor was still full of sand after cleaning and the bathroom looked the same as before (unclean).

It is cheap and probably good for people who do not expect much but I was disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nelzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

A quiet hotel, away from the buzz outside. A few minute walk from the beach. The arhcitecture is unpretentious and nice. The room was nicely furnished and very comfortable. The bathroom first looks like it was badly designed, with no borders to the shower area, but then you find out that shower water is quickly drained. Also the many (towel) hangers in it was appreciated, as it allowed swimsuits and washed T-shirts to quickly dry up. Wifi connection was also very good.

Only the breakfast could have been more generous.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diala K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This was my third stay since 2009 and it is still the best place to stay in town.Stayed in a family room with two double beds,lovely & clean with fridge,t,v & dvd player for $60 a night.
Stayed 8 days and then came back for 4 days and enjoyed it once again!
The swimming pool is also a big draw after a day out

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank garywilcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

stayed here for 2 nights Feb2012 pool view room $85 for 2 nights, friendly staff, good location plenty of bars around short stroll to Serendepity beach and all the restaurants, fair sized pool,b/fast ok first one we had tried that offered bacon besides the usual egg and bread anyway you want, a bit expensive for Sihanoukville, lots of cheaper options, but it was our last 2 nights so....
good spa a couple of doors down towards the monkey republic bar ,best massage i ever had for around $12 , Anna travel over the road booked us a taxi to Phnom Phen airport for $50,

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perthstevePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.1 mi away
Coolabah Hotel
Coolabah Hotel
#17 of 75 in Sihanoukville
614 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#3 of 75 in Sihanoukville
386 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#20 of 75 in Sihanoukville
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#9 of 75 in Sihanoukville
1,514 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#16 of 75 in Sihanoukville
122 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sok Sabay Resort
Sok Sabay Resort
#6 of 75 in Sihanoukville
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Resort

Address: Serendipity Beach Road | Near the Golden Lions, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range: £27 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef Resort is in the heart of Sihanoukvilles beach district. With 15 En-Suite Rooms surrounding a large open top swimming pool. With 24 hour security, Live Seafood restaurant open from 7am to midnight, pool table and bar and daily cleaning of rooms. We are the perfect option for those who want a little luxury whilst travelling through south east Asia! Visit us online or F.B for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing