We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
202
140
78
28
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
140
78
28
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsair conlots of bars and restaurantspool areafamily roomgreat poolstayed longerother placescambodiaminibar
Filter
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Brilliant breakfast, free pool table, nice pool, free snacks at the bar when you buy drinks. Not too far from beach about a 5min walk. Was nice and quiet but next door has a more livelier atmosphere so best of both worlds

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gemma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I have stayed here for one week and I've decided to extend my stay by another week. The hotel is very clean, the rooms are a very good size with a safe, TV, DVD player, fridge (including minibar!) and kettle in each room. I am very happy with everything about the hotel. The pool is very clean and well kept and there are about eight lounge chairs scattered around it (as per the main picture). It's long enough and deep enough to be a lap pool, if that's your thing, or you can just hang out in the connecting hot tub. It's also literally in the middle of town. There isn't much you can't walk to from here.

The food in the restaurant is some of the best in town. I don't know what the other reviewer was talking about being a "mexican" restaurant because they aren't (used to be, but that was a few years back). True, they also don't serve Khmer food, but they don't advertise themselves as such so that's a silly point to make.

If you like steak, baby back ribs and wings then the restaurant is the best in town. Period. There is a pool table and two large televisions in the bar/restaurant area that show everything from rugby to American football and real football. The girls who work behind the bar, Khmer during the day and US and Australian (I think- girls don't hate me if I'm wrong!) are outstanding. Customer service is the best I have had anywhere in town. The beer is cold, the bar is very well stocked, especially with tequila, and they make an outstanding margarita.

The owner, Tim, is a former US Marine and has lived in Cambodia for roughly 25 years. He is incredibly friendly, ready to give you recommendations on anywhere you'd care to go in town and where not to go. Talking to him over beers at the bar has been a highlight of my trip. Pretty much everyone in town knows him and with good reason - one of the nicest, most genuine people I have ever met, in Sihanoukville or anywhere else.

If you want great service, clean rooms and an overall outstanding experience stay here. Families, single travelers, couples etc. doesn't matter. It's wonderful for anyone. Can you find nicer hotels? Yes, but you'll pay three or four times the price. Can you find cheaper? Yes, but you get what you pay for. At roughly $30 a night you cannot beat the combination of service and amenities. Having stayed at the Soukha hotel last time I was here I would not stay anywhere else except the Reef on future trips.

Bravo, Tim and Da, keep up the good work!!

Room Tip: There's no bad room. It's worth a little extra if you want to stay on the first (or ground floor) next to the pool. You can walk out of your room and dive right in.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elliottnavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

recommended by friends , I stayed 3 nites and loved my stay there , right near the beach , beautiful breakfast , also dined there one night , top food . my room was clean and a reasonable size , good air conditioning , great value , reccommended .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefin i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

A decent hotel - clean rooms, good pool, friendly staff and great location. The beach is just five minutes down the road with restaurants everywhere and for everyone.
We were a bit irritated about the restaurant as it was serving only American-style food, which wasn't really outstanding. It's trying to be a Mexican restaurant, but it doesn't really reach that goal (two or three starters were Mexican-ish, nothing else). Still, clean and cosy place for a relaxing cool beer, a game of billiards and a snack.
Americans will feel very welcome here, especially if they're homesick.
The price is really ok for the service the hotel provides - 30 USD for a double room per with breakfast. Anyone who likes to have a soft mattress will however be dissapointed here.

Room Tip: The pool-side rooms do not differ from the ones upstairs. Paying the extra dollars gets you direct access to the pool, without having to climb 10 single stairs down. Not worth it.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene1112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Reef resort is a pretty cool place.

It has a great bar and friendly staff and a super pool.

Our room, right next to the pool had a stale smell, but we left the AC on for 24 hours and most of it was gone. We also had the towels and bed covers changed, one of them also had the wet and humid smell.

The room is pretty well sized and the bathroom is average. It takes a little while to figure out the electric heater.

Location is good, right next to a lot of restaurants. But please, do not go to Bad Panda (see separate review).

Breakfast is good, but nothing special. There is a free pool table which is an absolute asset when it rains. The Wifi works well and has good coverage. There are huge security cameras everywhere which I think is a good idea. Not that the area or surroundings are dangerous in any way though.

I dont really have anything bad to say about this place. I would say the price is right, we paid 50 USD for a family room for 5. And the longer you stay here, the longer you start to appreciate it. Not all hotels can claim this.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews