We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money, nice location”
Review of Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Reef Resort
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value for money, nice location”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We were very happy with this hotel/resort. Very good value for the price (we paid approx $40 per night for a standard room)
Pool area is nice, nothing special but good to get out of the heat. Bar area at the front is quite cool, cheap beer and yummy food although a menu limited to meat and americana type food.
Location is brilliant, we barely left the street with all the cool bars around and beach was just a 5-10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    137
    76
    28
    10
See reviews for
51
185
72
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA/Cambodia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My family vacations regularly in Sihanoukville, this is always our first choice to stay. The owner Tim Balfour meticulously maintains his resort so it's clean, friendly, and comfortable. Their included breakfast is great (try the French toast), it has a sunny and pleasant pool area, nicest possible staff, great Value, this hotel has it all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike__R0ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Brilliant breakfast, free pool table, nice pool, free snacks at the bar when you buy drinks. Not too far from beach about a 5min walk. Was nice and quiet but next door has a more livelier atmosphere so best of both worlds

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I have stayed here for one week and I've decided to extend my stay by another week. The hotel is very clean, the rooms are a very good size with a safe, TV, DVD player, fridge (including minibar!) and kettle in each room. I am very happy with everything about the hotel. The pool is very clean and well kept and there are about eight lounge chairs scattered around it (as per the main picture). It's long enough and deep enough to be a lap pool, if that's your thing, or you can just hang out in the connecting hot tub. It's also literally in the middle of town. There isn't much you can't walk to from here.

The food in the restaurant is some of the best in town. I don't know what the other reviewer was talking about being a "mexican" restaurant because they aren't (used to be, but that was a few years back). True, they also don't serve Khmer food, but they don't advertise themselves as such so that's a silly point to make.

If you like steak, baby back ribs and wings then the restaurant is the best in town. Period. There is a pool table and two large televisions in the bar/restaurant area that show everything from rugby to American football and real football. The girls who work behind the bar, Khmer during the day and US and Australian (I think- girls don't hate me if I'm wrong!) are outstanding. Customer service is the best I have had anywhere in town. The beer is cold, the bar is very well stocked, especially with tequila, and they make an outstanding margarita.

The owner, Tim, is a former US Marine and has lived in Cambodia for roughly 25 years. He is incredibly friendly, ready to give you recommendations on anywhere you'd care to go in town and where not to go. Talking to him over beers at the bar has been a highlight of my trip. Pretty much everyone in town knows him and with good reason - one of the nicest, most genuine people I have ever met, in Sihanoukville or anywhere else.

If you want great service, clean rooms and an overall outstanding experience stay here. Families, single travelers, couples etc. doesn't matter. It's wonderful for anyone. Can you find nicer hotels? Yes, but you'll pay three or four times the price. Can you find cheaper? Yes, but you get what you pay for. At roughly $30 a night you cannot beat the combination of service and amenities. Having stayed at the Soukha hotel last time I was here I would not stay anywhere else except the Reef on future trips.

Bravo, Tim and Da, keep up the good work!!

Room Tip: There's no bad room. It's worth a little extra if you want to stay on the first (or ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliottnavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

recommended by friends , I stayed 3 nites and loved my stay there , right near the beach , beautiful breakfast , also dined there one night , top food . my room was clean and a reasonable size , good air conditioning , great value , reccommended .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefin i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hue, Vietnam
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

A decent hotel - clean rooms, good pool, friendly staff and great location. The beach is just five minutes down the road with restaurants everywhere and for everyone.
We were a bit irritated about the restaurant as it was serving only American-style food, which wasn't really outstanding. It's trying to be a Mexican restaurant, but it doesn't really reach that goal (two or three starters were Mexican-ish, nothing else). Still, clean and cosy place for a relaxing cool beer, a game of billiards and a snack.
Americans will feel very welcome here, especially if they're homesick.
The price is really ok for the service the hotel provides - 30 USD for a double room per with breakfast. Anyone who likes to have a soft mattress will however be dissapointed here.

Room Tip: The pool-side rooms do not differ from the ones upstairs. Paying the extra dollars gets you direct a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene1112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
137 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Reef resort is a pretty cool place.

It has a great bar and friendly staff and a super pool.

Our room, right next to the pool had a stale smell, but we left the AC on for 24 hours and most of it was gone. We also had the towels and bed covers changed, one of them also had the wet and humid smell.

The room is pretty well sized and the bathroom is average. It takes a little while to figure out the electric heater.

Location is good, right next to a lot of restaurants. But please, do not go to Bad Panda (see separate review).

Breakfast is good, but nothing special. There is a free pool table which is an absolute asset when it rains. The Wifi works well and has good coverage. There are huge security cameras everywhere which I think is a good idea. Not that the area or surroundings are dangerous in any way though.

I dont really have anything bad to say about this place. I would say the price is right, we paid 50 USD for a family room for 5. And the longer you stay here, the longer you start to appreciate it. Not all hotels can claim this.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.3 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#1 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coolabah Hotel
Coolabah Hotel
#18 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#10 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Sok Sabay Resort
Sok Sabay Resort
#7 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa Zentao
Villa Zentao
#19 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
3.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel & Resort
Legacy Hotel & Resort
#15 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Resort

Property: Reef Resort
Address: Serendipity Beach Road | Near the Golden Lions, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef Resort is in the heart of Sihanoukvilles beach district. With 15 En-Suite Rooms surrounding a large open top swimming pool. With 24 hour security, Live Seafood restaurant open from 7am to midnight, pool table and bar and daily cleaning of rooms. We are the perfect option for those who want a little luxury whilst travelling through south east Asia! Visit us online or F.B for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing