We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am a Serial Visitor to the Reef”
Review of Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Reef Resort
Ranked #14 of 76 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I usually get to Sihanoukville every year for a few days and after my first stay years ago have not really looked for an alternative as the reef ticks all the boxes for me to have a pleasant time with family starting with a great pool. The management is a little selective on the guests that stay and that has meant I have never experienced a disturbance from drunken yobo's that abound in Sihanoukville. This year I noticed that some extra work has been done to make the property even more attractive. I would imagine that some of the rooms on the pool end may be affected by the noise coming from surrounding nightclubs so I avoid that area.
During your stay at least have one meal and experience the great Tex/Mex food. The baby backribs are to die for.

Room Tip: Go for the poolside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, and were very glad we found it! Friendly staff to say the least. The owner, an american guy and his wife were friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. Food was delicious, khmer menu but mostly traditional American bbq and he even has his own smoker. Not good on the waist but very good food! Short walk to everything meaning no need for tuk tuks, short stumble up the road after partying on the beach. Pool was amazing, clean and very well maintained. Air con was fantastic. All round great place to stay for families, singles and groups!

Room Tip: Pool view room was great, we were on level 1. Ground would be better, straight out the door into the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BishardsMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We loved the location , it is a well run hotel with very nice rooms . The staff were all smiles and very helpful . The whole place was very clean and well maintained , western run . The food at the restaurant is very good and cheap , reccommended .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This establishment is very clean, has nice well thought out rooms and a great pool. My experience was colored by the fact that it is near Serendipity Beach which I can describe as nothing other that a hell hole. But if you do want to stay someplace near Serendipity Beach, this would be a good choice. I have only two beefs with the hotel. 1.) it would be nice to have someone on staff to help guests with their luggage - ESPECIALLY if they're staying on the second or third story. 2.) I requested a two hour late checkout (their in-room brochures assure you they are happy to accomodate if they can); however, they charged me a $15 fee (considering the daily rate was $45, that seemed a little ridiculous especially at "low season.")
Anyways, my advice is don't go to Serendipity Beach, but this place is ok to stay if you do.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aguthrie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We were very happy with this hotel/resort. Very good value for the price (we paid approx $40 per night for a standard room)
Pool area is nice, nothing special but good to get out of the heat. Bar area at the front is quite cool, cheap beer and yummy food although a menu limited to meat and americana type food.
Location is brilliant, we barely left the street with all the cool bars around and beach was just a 5-10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashleigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My family vacations regularly in Sihanoukville, this is always our first choice to stay. The owner Tim Balfour meticulously maintains his resort so it's clean, friendly, and comfortable. Their included breakfast is great (try the French toast), it has a sunny and pleasant pool area, nicest possible staff, great Value, this hotel has it all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike__R0ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Brilliant breakfast, free pool table, nice pool, free snacks at the bar when you buy drinks. Not too far from beach about a 5min walk. Was nice and quiet but next door has a more livelier atmosphere so best of both worlds

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gemma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#21 of 76 in Sihanoukville
354 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sok Sabay Resort
Sok Sabay Resort
#5 of 76 in Sihanoukville
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coolabah Hotel
Coolabah Hotel
#17 of 76 in Sihanoukville
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#15 of 76 in Sihanoukville
127 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#9 of 76 in Sihanoukville
1,530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#2 of 76 in Sihanoukville
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Resort

Address: Serendipity Beach Road | Near the Golden Lions, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range: £26 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef Resort is in the heart of Sihanoukvilles beach district. With 15 En-Suite Rooms surrounding a large open top swimming pool. With 24 hour security, Live Seafood restaurant open from 7am to midnight, pool table and bar and daily cleaning of rooms. We are the perfect option for those who want a little luxury whilst travelling through south east Asia! Visit us online or F.B for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing