We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orchidee Guest House
Ranked #25 of 74 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Noosa, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value, friendly staff”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in the double room with a balcony. Great service and hospitable staff. The room was spotless, comfortable bed and great shower. Nice big pool, with deck chairs all around. The buffet breakfast was average, lacking a variety of fresh fruit and juices.
Just a short walk to the beach, overall i would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ruth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jannarat, Owner at Orchidee Guest House, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Ruth,

it was our pleasure meeting you and your remarks are well noted.

We are offering orange juice and ice tea and some fresh fruit. If you have any suggestion what kind of fruit and juice to offer in addition I am more than willing to keep it in mind.

Whenever you are visiting Cambodia again do not forget to pay us a visit.

Brgds.

Jan de Jongh (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    150
    71
    30
    20
See reviews for
34
146
48
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 565 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights in April, 2014 with my wife and friend. At first we had the deluxe top floor room #27. $50 per nite for 3 nites including good breakfast. Beautiful room with large balcony overlooking the water and a white behemoth of a building next door. Great bathroom. Good storage and WIFI. Flat screen TV but it is in an aclove area and not viewable from the entire room. Desk and adequate electrical outlets.

We decided to stay longer but we could not keep the room. My mistake for not reserving longer. We went to room #24 in the bungalow area. $35 per nite. Motel 6 feel. Average bath. Three beds. 1 double and 2 singles. OK but not great. Common areas are a little grungy. Ash trays in outside areas not cleaned up. Trash cans not emptied. I would definitely stay again. In room #27.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jannarat, Owner at Orchidee Guest House, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your review and it was our pleasure meeting you again.

Your comments about the new area well noted and I will take care of the ashtrays and trash cans.

I am looking forward to meeting you again and try room number 28 next time.

Brgds.

Jan de Jongh (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

In general, nice place with ordinary rooms,pool and breakfast which I liked but my boyfriend hated mostly because of the staff !!! Firstly, we came to hotel to check in none said even hi to us, they sent us 3 times to wrong room and they were laughing at us every single time we came back. In breakfast area they didn't even mention that we can order eggs and meanwhile you had breakfast, staff was talking between each other and staring at you all the time ! In 3 days not one member of the staff said seriously hello and everyone just ignored us. We felt massively unwelcome !!! We haven't met such an unfriendly staff in all Cambodia!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dadka Š
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jannarat, Owner at Orchidee Guest House, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review which is highly appreciated but not possible to check about who and what because it says "A Tripadvisor Member" so probably a member without a name.

Anyway I am happy to read that you enjoyed our guesthouse and I apologize for the staff giving you a wrong impression.

I can not check if you had a reservation or just checking rooms. If just checking rooms it is normal that the staff is showing you a few rooms.

Smiling staff is just a way of being friendly without giving you second thoughts.

We will give new and better instructions to the restaurant staff in order to inform our guests about eggs.

Please come back one day and see the changes.

Brgds.

Jan de Jongh (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Our group (30 adults, 8 kids) held a 5 night retreat at Orchidee - the service could not have been better! Staff were attentive, our folks commented on their friendliness and overall helpfulness. The range of rooms available gave our people plenty of choice. The food prepared for our group was excellent. The meeting room facilities worked well for our purposes. Jan, please thank all your staff for making our time together so easy.

Room Tip: My wife and I enjoyed Room 27 for some time out after our retreat - the extra space and facilities m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilbert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed 5 nights in the Orchidee. I had a huge deluxe room, my cousin a standard room (first partially facing the pool, then changed without problems to land-view which was very cozy and quiet). The rooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly & helpful all the time. The prices are very good for what you get.

One remarkable thing (for Cambodia): if i had a request / issue - it was solved immediately (= within 1-2hrs). E.g. the drain of my shower was clogged, i was already thinking of moving my room, but it was solved instantly. Some smaller issues on my motorbike were repaired quickly. They even kept a room reserved for us, in case we want to stay a couple of days longer, cause it was a national Holiday weekend and therefore hard to get a room elsewhere in town. I was impressed. This is really uncommon for Cambodia, but happy to see that even here it is going in this direction.

Therefore 5 Points. Well done Orchidee.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalluckytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tugun, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in March 2014 with two friends. We had the room directly behind reception (a triple room, a bed to ourselves yay...) and we had a small concern that it would be noisy but no. Not at all. The pool was great we used that a lot and the swim up bar with beer on tap was awesome. The pool was exceptionally clean compared to some others we had seen. Our room price included buffet breakfast which was great. The room was large, clean and comfortable.
Would highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone but especially families as it is away from the noise and party scene of town but only one street back from the beach.
Awesome, would stay there again in a heart beat. Staff were super helpful and very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gr8place2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishoej, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had visited Orchidee Hotel Again, where quality and price are still linked ..
since there have been increases in 1 ½ years.
We had a nice room with a balcony, which is highly recommended because it's great to sit outside in the evening and enjoy the peace.
We had one minor complaint that quickly and elegantly solved by the manager, to our satisfaction.
The staff is still friendly and service in the restaurant and reception is ok.
Cleaning of the room is also ok, so nothing to complain on that.
The hotel is within walking distance from the beach and town center and market (about 1.2 km).
There is new construction in the area, but there was no discomfort at this.
Excellent friendly service and would highly recommend the hotel to others.
This hotel has a pool, but we did not use this, but it was lovely and inviting to look at.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kro90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.2 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#17 of 74 in Sihanoukville
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bao Mai Resort
Bao Mai Resort
#33 of 74 in Sihanoukville
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#20 of 74 in Sihanoukville
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coolabah Hotel
Coolabah Hotel
#18 of 74 in Sihanoukville
602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reef Resort
Reef Resort
#15 of 74 in Sihanoukville
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moon Julie Hotel
Moon Julie Hotel
#31 of 74 in Sihanoukville
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchidee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchidee Guest House

Property: Orchidee Guest House
Address: Ochheuteal No 23 Tola Street, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Orchidee Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family guesthouse. All rooms with aircon, tv, fridge, wifi, safe and a shower with hot water. The higher floors in the main building can be reached with our elevator. The top floor luxury double rooms have a nice bathtub and 3 of them a nice sea view. Our electric tuktuk can and will pick you up from the bus station free of charge if busdetails are known. Our pool is open for guests only between 08.00 Hours and 22.00 Hours. Up till 150 persons can use our meeting hal and if staying in our guesthouse the usage of the hall is free of charge. Catering can be offered too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Orchidee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchidee Guest House Hotel Sihanoukville
Orchidee Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing