We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place great management, food,rooms & atmosphere”
Review of The Gypsies - CLOSED

The Gypsies
Price range: US$2 - US$3
Cuisines: European, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I stayed at the Gypsies for almost a week (it was supposed to be just two nights). The Gypsies is run by a lovely couple who have really put their stamp on the place. It's been beautifully decorated and had a real high end boutique feel but very reasonably priced. Many room looked gorgous all very light walls massive high ceilings and the owners have decorated to a high standard.

They make many fresh cakes and treats throughout the day so always something tempting to eat :) they really have a great menu and they make everything themselves and with love.

The rooftop is beautiful and the owner even let me practice my yoga up there in the mornings.

I found The Gypsies by chance and so glad I did the owners were so friendly and helpful it really felt like a little home.

I'd strongly recommend it's very cheap for what you get & I wish them well for the future and think they have a really great business :)

Kate, 29 England

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank KMWillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasco R, General Manager at The Gypsies, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Kate,

Thank You very much for staying with us ! It was a pleasure to host you, we are happy to know that you like out little guesthouse. Step by step we make our place more beautiful, I hope that by your next visit our garden on the roof top will be ready and we can practice yoga together.
We wish you all the best & you are always WELCOME by The Gypsies.
Namaste :)

Dagmara & Vasco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Very good place for hangup with friends,the food is amazing,the staff friendly and the beer tasty :)!!!!! They have a great rooftop where you can hang around with friends.

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tommy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasco R, Owner at The Gypsies, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Hello Tomy,
Thank you for sharing your opinion with us! We are happy that you enjoy our place and our food!
You are now part of the Gypsies family!
See you soon!
Vasco & Daga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We went to the "Gypsies" for breakfast, the yellow building is just few steps from the Serendipity beach and opposite side of our guesthouse.
It's take little time until the food is coming on the table, but the omelet I order was really the BEST you can get around (try the signature Omelet)..BRILLANT with grill chicken and veggies!!
On our way back from the beach we decide to back there for lunch, I get a nice fresh Greek salad and ask to add some grill chicken in it...WOW super tasty and my friend try the chicken burger with homemade french fries... You not gone believe that they will peel the potatoes to make your french fries!!!
The time you wait is not the problem, because you will definitely gets some fresh food!!
Even the banana & cinnamon cake are bake on the spot and this the best way to finish your meal!! We made few other meals there for breakfast and dinner there all were delicious!
At evening you can get a 3 courses menu for less then 10 dollars great value for money!
The young couple whose managing the place are really friendly!
BIG UP!!
The Gypsies is the place to be!

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TIGRESH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasco R, Owner at The Gypsies, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Hello Marcus,
Thank you for your nice review. We was really happy to get you here with your friends!
We glad you enjoy our food and staying on our balcony upstairs. You are always welcome back if your travel bring you back to Cambodia!! We wish you a good travel to Vietnam!
Take Care!
Vasco & Daga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We eat several times at The Gypsies always delicious!!! First time trayed on the way to Koh Rong , sandwiches and REAL ice coffee to take away... Chicken hummus & grilled vegetables with feta sandwich it was our best meal in Cambodia. By the second visit we discover that the Gypsies it's not just a restaurant, they have also a nice comfortable and clean rooms which we really appreciate after few days on the island. You must to try evening menu serve in romantic candle light atmosphere!!! Definitely recomended and we will definitely come back.
Thanks for Daga& Vasco ( great job guys!)

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasco R, Owner at The Gypsies, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Hello Marie,
Thank you for your review. We really enjoy to meet you and Dave!
We are happy that you enjoy our hospitality and food. You are always welcome to spend your holidays by the Gypsies!
We wish you all the best!
Vasco & Daga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We were warmly welcomed by one of the owners, the place is right next to the pier and it had a really relaxed vibe. Especially the music playlist was fantastic.
Since the bar had just opened, we had to wait for the food quite a while ( only 20min) But we were informed by the delay in beforehand. We weren't in any rush and since the service was so amazing we didn't mind at all. When we got our food, the wait was totally worth it. The sandwiches were definitely one of the tastiest we had while traveling asia.

We also had a really nice chat with one of the owners and gladly replies to all our questions asked! We really wish all the best for the future!

4  Thank SonjaT687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasco R, Owner at The Gypsies, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Hello Sonja,
Thank you for your nice words, we are very happy that you visit us & enjoy our food!
We still working on faster service, hopefully soon our gypsies team will be bigger ...
Thank you for sharing your opinion about The Gypsies, we would love to see you soon.Have nice time traveling across Asia, all the best Vasco & Daga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gypsies also viewed

Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing