We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delivers admirable food, fine service”
Review of The Gypsies - CLOSED

The Gypsies
Price range: US$2 - US$3
Cuisines: European, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 5 July 2015

The yellow chicken curry is superior to most I had while in Cambodia--fresh tasting, care put into the appearance, and quickly served. The sandwiches also well done, with a typically good baguette and some interesting combinations. Noodle soup flavorful and fresh. It's a backpacker type setting, with many young folks tuned into their social media on their phones and lounging about, and nothing special about the decor or furniture, but it is more than adequate. Good location in Serendipity. With the quality of the food, the speed and competence of the service, and extremely reasonable prices, I highly recommend.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ukaspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

We have been to Sihanoukville many times.
The Gypsies was new to us. We had many evening meals and breakfasts once we had discovered them. Small menu good food great owners and staff! See you all again in December!!
Anita and Michael uk

Date of visit: December 2014
Thank Marcia1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2015

Gypsies is about 20m up the road from the ferries to Koh Rong and if you walk past this place you're missing out on a fantastic lunch! We came here before heading off to Koh Rong and a few days later upon our return we came back because it was so good the first time. The food tastes fantastic and is made fresh, the serves are very generous so you won't leave here feeling empty that's for sure. I'd recommend the club sandwich and a smoothie made out of whatever fruit is in season when you're visiting! Staff are really friendly and you might wait a little bit for your food to come out, but it's certainly worth the wait.

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ricardo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2015

The best chicken salad I had during my travels and their gelatos were super good too. Also the pasta was heavenful. The staff was so friendly and there was a great atmosphere in the restaurant.

Date of visit: May 2015
Thank Sannisofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2015 via mobile

We ordered two grilled chicken and hummus sandwiches to take with us on our bus ride to Kampot, and they were absolutely delicious - not to mention big and filling! The chicken was beautifully grilled, the hummus freshly made (we saw them blend up the chickpeas just after we ordered!) and the bread was toasted beautifully.

Thank JulieKTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gypsies also viewed

Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing