We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1960's style Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 72 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Certificate of Excellence
Holte, Denmark
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“1960's style Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

A very charming boutique hotel with a diverse history. Jaqueline Kennedy and other celebreties stayed here in the 1960'ties together with the Khmer incrowd. The Khmer Rouge used is as a prison, why some Khmers believe it to be haunted. The 9 story high white building feature prominently on a rocky outcrop on a secluded spot along the very busy Sihanoukville coastline.

This was our second stay at Independence, which we choose over Sokha beach resort - mainly because of the difference in price. A nice and well designed family room with a sea view is 94 USD on Agoda - Sokha charges twice that. The beach at Sokha may be better, as is the food, but Independence has that quirky charm (and a better price). There is a nice fitness centre and a beautifull Spa (Jouvence).

If you choose the quietness and seclusion of Indepence, you will need a car. It is tiresome going into town for evening meals in a Tuk-Tuk. Furthermore, the Tuk-Tuks are quite well organised and overpriced compared to the rest of Cambodia.

If you are more couples or a large family, then go for one of the pool villas. The offical price is a ridicolous 1200 USD, but they would probably sell at around 300 USD. A family of 4 fits nicely in the family villas, which all have a plunge pool on the balcony. The better ones are # 135, 137, 149 which all have an unobscured seaview.

Do visit the Seaview Restaurant for lunch. The food is pretty average, but the seaview from within the shady trees is spectacular. If you go there for sundowners or an evening meal, do not forget mosquito repellent!

Room Tip: Go for the newer family villas or suites in the lower section of the Hotel. The Pool Villas in 128 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    233
    112
    31
    20
See reviews for
132
275
49
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

I stayed at the Independence hotel last weekend (October 2012) and was very happy with my stay. The hotel was chosen for me by people based in Cambodia and I think they made a great choice. The hotel has an original block which has been updated well as well as newer accommodation options. I liked the old photos of the hotel in the 1960's that are on the wall, shots of guests swimming in the old hotel pool (which is now a pond with fish and lotus in it) adorned my room.

The rooms were large, clean and well appointed. The staff were helpful and efficient.

Breakfast was good, well cooked food, and prompt service. There could have been more local breakfast options though as it was a very western menu.

The hotel itself is away from town so a tuk tuk is required to get into town. These are easily arranged though. I noticed on our return from town in the evening that security were pretty observant and keeping tabs on things.

Really good wifi in my room, faster connectivity than I get at home.

The beach is great, if narrow, white sand and warm water. There are huts further along the beach from the hotel so you can set up there and get cheap food and beers if that is your thing.

Room Tip: Get one on a higher floor so you have as sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kiwi_acct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

The location is nice and peaceful but a long way from the main town with infrequent bus services. the room was terrible for this price with no balcony and no charm. The pool is OK and the beach is very nice. The food is overpriced and not that good really. When we were there other customers also were not happy about the place. If you can get a cheap price on Agoda this may be a good option, but do not become a "walk in" customer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PreahSihanouk, General Manager at Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking time to give us your comments. It is important that guests help us to improve our service. We have always been thankful for our secluded location but also recognise that guests may want to visit Sihanouk Ville to do some shopping and sightseeing. That’s why we provide a free, round trip service five times a day to the city. We are sorry you thought our food was overpriced. We pride ourselves in the service and amenities we offer and will pay particular attention to your comments. We also look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel so that you can experience the difference.

Sincerely yours,

Yin Yin Aye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

The perfect place for a few days of rest. Excellent service. However,in my room was seen the needs to exchange a few curtains, furniture Hotel is located quite far from the center of nightlife and seaside pubs.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexminov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Secluded resort close to Independence Beach. Nice standard Villa with jacuzzi. The day i arrived there was no water in the villa, this was fixed after 1,5 hours. The wifi did not work in my villa and I was offered to move to another villa witch I accepted. During thes experiences the staff acted exemplary trying their best to make my stay as nice as posible. They were all very helpfull and friendly. The hotel offered free transport to and back from town,several times, everey day.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We had an executive room - in one of the new buildings overlooking the gardens to the sea. Just fantastic with a small balcony, very flash bathroom with a courtyard shower, comfy bed and a small sitting area. The grounds are extensive and lovely to wander through and the private beach is just that - private so nobody bothers you selling stuff. There is also a great broad walk along the sea-front which takes you to the beach past the rock areas where you can stroll and stop for coffee or a drink at the other restaurant.

They have golf buggies to take guests around if needed.

The staff are friendly and very helpful - we've been in Cambodia for months and the staff here are the best we have come across - and the restaurant is first class. The swimming pool and gym are also really good.

Room Tip: I don't think there are balconies in the old "high rise" building, but there are in al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KerryCleary_1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Lovely room in new buildings. The original hotel is a fairly tasteless 60s block but the new buildings are beautifully positioned in the wonderful extensive grounds bordering the rocky coast. Quiet and comfortable with sounds of cicadas and the sea. Sunset restaurant should be great but lacked any atmosphere in the rainy season. The same applies to the bar and main restaurant. Beach small and beach furniture a little shabby. Food only average. Jouvence Spa interesting if you are used to western treatments. Efficient tuk tuk shuttle into Sihanoukville. Recommend eating at New Sea View Villa by Serendipity beach. Superb cuisine moderately priced.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janett64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
1.4 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#7 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
1.9 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#2 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
6.0 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#1 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#3 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sahaa Beach Resort
Sahaa Beach Resort
#5 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mary Beach Hotel & Resort
Mary Beach Hotel & Resort
#12 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa

Property: Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Address: Street 2 Thnou, Sangkat No: 03 | Khan Mittapheap, Sihanoukville 855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sihanoukville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sihanoukville
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independence Hotel Resort & Spa is an oasis of calm and luxury in Sihanouk Ville, Kingdom of Cambodia - one of the finest locations in South East Asia. Unspoiled sands backed by lush vegetation encircle the hotel. The full delights of the resort, spa and private beach are ready for you to enjoy. Set in the charming tropical beauty of Cambodia's premier beach destination, with 35 hectares landscape and 300 meters of private beach, Independence Hotel Resort & Spa provides you a luxurious refuge that opens out onto breath taking panoramas. Provided 8 differences categories of 128 units, with 3 function rooms, 2 Restaurants and 2 bars. The Volley ball, sunset cruises and kids play-ground are available on the beach. Home of Jouvence Spa: Cambodia's Premier Spa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Independence Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing