We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Certificate of Excellence
Siem Reap, Takev, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Memorable Experience”
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Sihanouk Ville, is a unique great experience for relaxation and harmony . The cool fresh air plus the greenery atmosphere over there make me feel very romantic like in the heaven of tranquility. Furthermore I always feel that i am being pampered by the nature whenever i am standing at the beach. Thank you so much Independence Hotel for this memorable experience during my attending the Annual Strategic Review done by Borei Angkor Resort & Spa. I will stay there again soon for my personal holiday.

Room Tip: Experience with the new Villas, they are fantastic for the harmony accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vitou Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    240
    115
    32
    20
See reviews for
135
283
50
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

I booked a studio in the new section via Booking.com because I got no response from the Independence hotel when I emailed them directly. The hotel has a prime site and wonderful stretch of private beach. It has a lot of potential, but I have rated it average because of the following:
Check in was slow, staff friendly, but seemed inexperienced
We were shown to our studio, but given no information about facilities, access to the beach, Internet access etc
No senior management overseeing reception and attending to guests - language was a stumbling block, particularly when we tried to get information about activities, going to Koh Rong, getting to Kampot and restaurant / local recommendations.
Air conditioning unit badly positioned so it blows onto bed.
No hooks in room / bathroom to hang towels, therefore, every towel is washed unnecessarily
No shade or seating on balcony area, making it totally useless.
Extensive breakfast, but with the exception of fruit and yoghurt, not great, particularly the coffee.
No Wi-Fi for two of our three nights - 1st night our room only, second night entire hotel.
Infrequent free shuttle service to town and then expensive tuk-tuks to and from hotel - $5 per trip if through hotel, I think they may get commission because if you deal direct rate is negotiable.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PreahSihanouk, General Manager at Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Independence Hotel. We certainly have a lot to work on in preparation for your next visit.
My inquiries throughout the hotel reveal that our check-in procedure could be more efficient, there should be more in-room information about our location, services and facilities, which is currently being worked on to offer a seamless service to ensure guests get the most and best of our unique location.
There is little we can do to improve our WiFi service other than request again to our service provider. Although we offer a secluded and tranquil location, we also recognise that people need to communicate with the outside world, friends and family.
The new facilities currently being finished at the hotel obviously require more bedding-in and we guarantee that on your next visit you will enjoy the Independence Experience.

Sincerely yours,

Yin Yin Aye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We stayed for two nights at The Independence Hotel with our 8 months old daughter. We really liked the hotel.

Positives
- Nice and spacious rooms with a view. We stayed in the old wing and our 5th floor room had a great Sea View. There was enough space in the room for our daughter to crawl around!
- Beach! The private beach is a great great plus. It was a nice and clean beach with clear water. Hotel has a very long frontage towards the Sea and we enjoyed our walks on the beach and on the walking trail hotel has along the coast.
-Nice restaurants. The Sunset Terrace was great where one could enjoy the evening drinks sitting next to the water. History Lounge Bar had a Live performance by an enthusiastic band. There were hardly anyone in the lounge but it did not stop the band to enjoy themselves and entertain the few patrons immensely. Nice breakfast spread as well.
-Over-all facilities were nice and hotel was well maintained.
-Value for money for the kind of hotel it is. Do not compare the prices with B&Bs or small Inns. Compare it with the big hotels and resorts and one will realise how competitively priced it is.

Negative
-A bit away from Serendipity Beach and all shacks, cafes, restaurants etc. Hotel has a free shuttle to Serendipity beach. However, timings are such that most of the times you would be able to take it only one way. A tuk-tuk ride costs about $4-5 and takes 8-10 minutes. There are a few shacks next to the private beach of the hotel as well, in case one wants to go.

Verdict
Its a great place to spend few days. Recommended.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank himanshu08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I had a great time and stay at the Independence in Sihanoukville. White sand beaches and comfortable accomodations made for a great and relaxing time. Breakfast was very good along with the service and offerings at the bar. I will stay here again on my return trip to Cambodia.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We stayed here 4 nights, we went once with the hotel shuttle to Serendipity Beach and were glad to return. Room rates are indeed above average but you get value for the money?
The Sea Pavillions are a very nice place to stay with a lot of privacy. I could practice my clarinette lessons without disturbing anybody. There was some noise at the beach because of the construction of a lift to the beach but it was to be finished soon. Food and drinks in the restaurant are very good and not overpriced , so no need to look for alternatives elsewhere.
The sea is perfect for swimming or for children.
The hotel concierge arranged our 7$ bus ticket to Pnom Penh.

Room Tip: As I did not see te rooms in the main building I cannot judge them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbb05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We stayed here 5 nights at the end of our tour through Laos & Cambodia. The rooms are spacious, well equiped, TV, hairdryer; have fantastic views, servise is good, Breakfast buffet has good selection, beach & pool fantastic. Seafood buffet 2x a week excellent

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We've stayed here at the end of a three week trip through Laos and Cambodia to simply relax and lay back and the Independence hotel is just the perfect choice for this. The hotel itself is about 50 years old but the Sea Pavillon buildings are more recent with nice and large rooms, comnfortable beds and a beautiful bathroom. The highlight of the hotel though is definitely its beach with wihte sand and clear waters. Be aware that it is quite far out of town, so you'll have to catch a tuktuk (4USD). The hotel also provides a shuttle service but it runs only a couple of times a day and was not very reliable once delayed and once they didn't turn up). Breakfast presents a vast choice of Asian and Western food, otherwise the food in the hotel is ok but definitely too expensive compared to what you can find arount the area. There were some construction activities going but our room was far enough away for us not to be bothered, but we've heard several other guests complain about it. So make sure you get a room away from the noise.

Room Tip: Sea Pavillon
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daebischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
1.4 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#9 of 74 in Sihanoukville
1,479 reviews
1.9 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#2 of 74 in Sihanoukville
368 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#1 of 74 in Sihanoukville
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#3 of 74 in Sihanoukville
706 reviews
5.7 mi away
White Boutique Hotel
White Boutique Hotel
#7 of 74 in Sihanoukville
171 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#4 of 74 in Sihanoukville
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa

Property: Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Address: Street 2 Thnou, Sangkat No: 03 | Khan Mittapheap, Sihanoukville 855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sihanoukville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sihanoukville
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independence Hotel Resort & Spa is an oasis of calm and luxury in Sihanouk Ville, Kingdom of Cambodia - one of the finest locations in South East Asia. Unspoiled sands backed by lush vegetation encircle the hotel. The full delights of the resort, spa and private beach are ready for you to enjoy. Set in the charming tropical beauty of Cambodia's premier beach destination, with 35 hectares landscape and 300 meters of private beach, Independence Hotel Resort & Spa provides you a luxurious refuge that opens out onto breath taking panoramas. Provided 8 differences categories of 128 units, with 3 function rooms, 2 Restaurants and 2 bars. The Volley ball, sunset cruises and kids play-ground are available on the beach. Home of Jouvence Spa: Cambodia's Premier Spa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Independence Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing