We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still our favourite boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Still our favourite boutique hotel”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This was our third stay with Independence Hotel over Christmas and New Year and the place just gets better. So rather than repeat my previous reviews and risk boring you I'll focus on how it has got better.

They have installed a lift from the hotel on top of the hill to the beach. Yeah, I know. Like climbing 200 odd steps from a paradise beach is a major chore? Of course it isn't. But the lift is handy when you discover you have left your kindle / sun hat / whatever in your room. For people with small children or the elderly it is a major boon. The beach itself is raked most mornings and truly deserves the description 'paradise beach' with natural shade from trees and thatched sun shades. Beach bar and restaurant are both excellent.

They have built a pier from the beach with a couple of thatched sitting areas making it a great place to sit and watch the sunset with a cold drink from the bar.

The walkway around the bottom of the cliffs from beach to the bungalows has been landscaped at the bungalows end and makes a nice walk up through jungle paths back to the hotel. And best of all, it is a private beach. Outres beach is still a favourite destination of ours (especially since they have finished the tarmac road and closed Suicide Hill) but there are some days you just want peace and quiet without constant attempts to sell you fruit, sunglasses, manicure, massage etc. If you want a massage the girls from the hotel spa are around.

Management and staffs are first class and people who predicted disaster when the Independence moved from Western to Khmer management a few years ago couldn't have been more wrong. Nothing is too much hassle and you are smiled at all day long. Rooms and public areas are spotless with exotic fresh cut flowers that fascinated my wife. I have read reviewers say some staff lack good English. I would first ask "How's your Khmer?" Then state we have never had a problem. General staff have enough English to get the job done and reception staff effortlessly switch from English to any one of a dozen other languages. All supervisors / managers speak excellent English and are on hand if there is a problem.

Top tip - One of the advantages of the Independence is it is a few miles from town and so is set in huge grounds and very peaceful. There is a regular free shuttle bus or Tuk Tuks are always available. We hire an automatic moped for 4USD a day which allows us to visit other beaches and explore temples and markets.

Room Tip: The bungalows are lovely but we stay in the 1960's tower block. All rooms have a sea view and if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauleaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    240
    115
    32
    20
See reviews for
135
283
50
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We really loved this hotel. The beach is fantastic: white sand, lots of sun chairs and a great view. Unfortunately, when we we there in the end of March, it was so hot we could hardly be on the beach, and the water in the sea was too warm. But hey, you can't blame the hotel for that. They have just installed an elevator that bring you from the hotel down to the beach. The view from that elevator is astonishing!

We stayed in the seapavillion in a nice, clean and big room with a balcony (but because of the heat we did not use it.) The buildings are some minutes walk from the main building and the pool and it was a bit irritating sometimes when you had forgotten something or one of the children wanted to go to the room. They have small cars to take you between the room and the main building (great!) but still: if we come back I think we will stay in old building.

The staff was very kind and helpful and smiling.

So, what could be better? To start with: the information. There is no map over the hotel and it is really big! There was no information in our hotel room about things like: When does the breakfast start, laundry and what activities there is. (Our last day we found a tennis court.) There were not many signs so it took us some time to find our way from the beach to the pool.

The food was tasty but it took almost an hour to get our lunch, and everything was really expensive. The second day we found a lot of good restaurangs by the Independence beach, just south of the hotel. I suggest you go there.

But all in all, we will probably come back and we can recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enemalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

they have a great beach for themselves, and a clean one.
somehow i didn't feel very comfortable staying solo here, there was a spooky kind of feeling, probably because of the age.
location is a bit far away from everything, so make sure that you stock up on food and snack before coming here.

i do very much appreciate the beach (indepedence beach) after seeing occheuteal & otres beach, both are a filthy dirty beaches.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sooke, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We stayed here for 1 week in the new building. Checking in was no problem at all and were delivered to our room in a golf cart. Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was big and clean , a little worn, the cushions on the all the seats were stained as well as the room service menu . No table or chairs on the balcony , so can not really sit out and enjoy the view. Bathroom is nice except the half wall and shower curtain in the tub/shower does not keep the water in so the floor would get soaked. Plus there is a window from the shower to the main room that has a pull down blind, seems like an after thought. Housekeeping was very good. My husband was sick most of the time we were here , so even if we were not getting the room made up they still gave us water. Nice pool area , but we stayed at the beach. The grounds of hotel are very nice and the walk way along to the beach is a nice touch. The beach really is nice , the hotel does a great job of keeping the beach clean of garbage. Just walk to down the private beach and you will see the difference. What a shame ! The beach bar was good and drinks yummy. Most of the time they would come around and ask if you wanted something to eat or drink , or just had to go to the bar to order but they would bring it to your seat. The breakfast was good with a selection of fruit , an egg station and usual breakfast things. Breakfast is till 10 , we found if we were later then 9:30 the fruit was not replenished. Only had dinner at beach restaurant once. Service was good , my husband had the pork chop it was very good . I had Khmer rice dish with chicken leg - not so good. The papaya salad had too many dried shrimp which made it taste fishy. Room service was quick , you can order anything from regular menu, not sure why the whole menu is not in the room. Chicken club and burger were a good break from the Khmer food . We also had some nice meals at the huts down the beach, cheap too. The shuttle service is great , lots of times to choose from. The downtown area is not very nice so unless you need groceries , I would go to the strip down to Serendipity beach, shops and resturants . You will appreciate the beach back at the hotel once you see Serendipity beach full of garbage , we picked up a ton of glass. At the hotel there are little monkeys that are in the driveway in late afternoon. Very cute , I wouldn't feed them though, they carry diseases. Check out was fast with no issues . Overall we had a great stay , and enjoyed the clean beach .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaLa0516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

In the 60's the Kennedy's stayed in this hotel and the age of the place tells.
In a nutshell:
- great beach very close by
- breakfast is decent
- wifi did not work for my entire stay
- credit card payment do not work but instead I had to fill some manual form
- rooms are spacious but interior is from the time of the Kennedy's

all in all, i wouldn't stay there again but the surounding nature is stunning. so if you don't mind to pay such high price for an old hotel with poor management and not very helpful staff you may still want to go for it.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heini12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We enjoyed our 4-day stay at the Independence Hotel. The beach and pool area are very nice. We were disappointed that they charge $5/hour to use their sea kayak; we felt that whatever beach amenities they have should be included in the price of the room. It was a bit of a trek to our room in one of the new buildings, but our room was comfortable and our AC worked great! We ordered the delicious fresh pineapple juice at the pool and made our own mixed drinks. Breakfast buffet had many choices, both western and Khmer, and we were served our hot drinks as soon as we sat down. I wanted to get a massage, but at $40 at the hotel versus $5 in town it didn't seem quite worth the price! Overall, we would stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JulieM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The beachis the best in sihanoukville and you get value for your money! We stayed there for three nights first but then booked three nights more. We got a room in the main building at the sixth floor with a veeery nice view. The breakfast is good and the service ok, the only problem is that the staff doesn't speak much english a d they do not know much of the area.. The hotel has a shittle bus that takes you to the "main" beach about five times a day and backfor free. Over all we wouldn't stay anuwhere elsd if we would return to sihanoukville.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as high up as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hellu_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
1.4 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#9 of 74 in Sihanoukville
1,481 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#1 of 74 in Sihanoukville
473 reviews
1.9 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#2 of 74 in Sihanoukville
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#3 of 74 in Sihanoukville
706 reviews
5.7 mi away
White Boutique Hotel
White Boutique Hotel
#7 of 74 in Sihanoukville
172 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#4 of 74 in Sihanoukville
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa

Property: Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Address: Street 2 Thnou, Sangkat No: 03 | Khan Mittapheap, Sihanoukville 855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sihanoukville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sihanoukville
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independence Hotel Resort & Spa is an oasis of calm and luxury in Sihanouk Ville, Kingdom of Cambodia - one of the finest locations in South East Asia. Unspoiled sands backed by lush vegetation encircle the hotel. The full delights of the resort, spa and private beach are ready for you to enjoy. Set in the charming tropical beauty of Cambodia's premier beach destination, with 35 hectares landscape and 300 meters of private beach, Independence Hotel Resort & Spa provides you a luxurious refuge that opens out onto breath taking panoramas. Provided 8 differences categories of 128 units, with 3 function rooms, 2 Restaurants and 2 bars. The Volley ball, sunset cruises and kids play-ground are available on the beach. Home of Jouvence Spa: Cambodia's Premier Spa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Independence Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing