We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy place with great private beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 72 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Classy place with great private beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We spent one night here on our honeymoon. A really special hotel, big but full of 60s glamour. Expensive but your money gets you a great room and 5* service. Our room was huge, with an amazing wet room, bath inside and outside! The beach was also lovely, clean, quiet and easy to swim, very different from the main beaches in sihanoukville. Also a knock out breakfast buffet and a good dinner of fish amok too. Not close to town, but a place to linger.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CressF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    232
    111
    31
    20
See reviews for
132
274
49
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambodia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

I have been using this hotel for some time and over the last year it has declined in its cleanliness the rooms are in much need of a re-refurbishment this is due I am sure to poor cheep construction and finishes away from the main building...On a positive note the restaurant served well prepared food and breakfast catered for everyone.
I also found that its hard to get a mobile signal even in the business center...

Room Tip: The rooms are tired and they need to train their cleaning staff.... so for me until I see an improve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kit148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BKIHGM4, General Manager at Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Madam / Sir, (Kitya_11)

First we would like to thank you for staying with us and for taking time to write to us your comments.

Naturally we are deeply sorry to hear that your experience was not good as you expected.

We value your comments with great interest because it is the best way to improve our services.
Our teams and concerned department have been briefed. Appropriate actions have been taken and our associates have been trained again.

We do hope that you will give us another chance when you will be back again in Sihanouk Ville for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact me in person at gm@independencehotel.net

Thank you for your attention.

With our sincerest regards,

Boun Kean EAP
General Manager
Independence Hotel, Sihanouk Ville, Cambodia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We loved this retreat on the beach.
Floor to ceiling windows in the hotel rooms overlook the beach.
Rooms are spacious and modern.
The resort facilities are great. Our teenagers loved the pool, snooker, games room, tennis court and of course walking along a private beach.
The sunset restaurant is a perfect location to watch the sunset over drinks.
Staff are very friendly and the breakfasts are great.
The walks in the gardens around the property are very interesting and it is a nice touch to have information about some of the local plants.

Room Tip: All rooms in the main building have floor to ceiilng windows overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

As I approached this hotel by road, there was nothing in what I saw that suggested this was a great place to spend a night in. But first impressions can be delightfully wrong.

I loved the fact that the management has maintained this hotel to a similar, if not, the same level of five star service and attention. The landscaping was pleasant, the rooms clean, and the service was nothing to complain about. We didn't want a double room and our request for a twin was met speedily without any fuss.

I liked the private and uncrowded beach. The lift down to it was a brilliant idea and tasteful. The outdoor section of the restaurant was perfect for a very memorable breakfast.

When I checked out, I told the Front Desk Manager how much I enjoyed my stay. It was a sincere compliment, and I'm definitely coming back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bornean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sverige
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

To be honest, it is the best hotel at Sihanoukville: private beach, extremely clean rooms and great food. The staff is helpful and professional. Even if the hotel is further away from the city they have a shuttle free of charge running frequently to the centre. We enjoyed our stay a lot after coming from Otres beach.
We definitely recommend this hotel if you stay around Sihanoukville due to the service, clean rooms, private beach and the staff fix everything you require
We tried massage at the spa and it was fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OxanaPe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
187 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

I spent one night at the Independence Hotel just outside Sihanoukville. The property is gorgeous - rooms are spacious and nicely decorated, views of the beach from the big picture windows, large western-style bathrooms, all the modern conveniences including cable TV is many languages. The bed was comfy and sleep quality was good. Spacious and well-landscaped grounds right on one of the most beautiful beaches in Cambodia, a large pool and patio area, several restaurant and bar choices, The breakfast buffet was included in the price and was an impressive spread of meats, cheeses, breads, fruits, hot dishes - mostly western favorites but a few Asian specialties tossed in. However this was the only good meal (read on).

Unfortunately my stay here was marred by service which was either non-existent or frustratingly slow. This began with the drop-off by my airport shuttle at gate and waiting while a small golf cart made two trips to bring the six of us dropped off and our luggage to the reception. We were all seated in the lobby and our passports collected for check-in. A fresh fruit drink was offered and then the wait began. Dispite the fact that there was no other activity at the desk and there were about four people working the desk, it took 30 minutes to get a key.
My next set of frustrations involved trying to get some information about the ferries to Koh Rong and the schedule. No one could give me any information and this seems like a pretty common questions.
My next set of frustration occured at the Sunset beach restaurant. I entered, waited and finally seated myself. I was not offered a menu so after 10 minutes I went and found a menu, No there were only two other diners in the restaurant at the time so you cannot say that the stay was spread too thin, they were just not doing their jobs. I finally ordered the shrimp and green papaya salad. I could not finish it because the shrimp and the dressing tasted off. I was joined by a friend who ordered the house special fish dish. She complained it had no taste at all.
The next morning, I asked again at the desk for info on the ferries to the island and this time got some information which later proved to be incorrect. I also asked about the possibility of extending my stay one day and was told to take a seat and wait. I waited and waited while the crew at the desk looked for a manager who might be able to answer my question. I finally left in frustration.
For the price you pay for this place ($130 a night for my room), I expected better. At the other end of the beach is the Holiday Palace Hotel which has equally gorgeous rooms and better service for $30-$40 a night. My advice is not to stay at the Independence.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expat326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BKIHGM4, General Manager at Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir, (expat326)

Once again thank you very much for staying with us and also for taking time to give us your valuable comments.

And we are deeply sorry to hear that your experience was not as good as you expected.

Your feedback and comments have been communicated to all our managers and all departments for immediate actions and train again our staff.
Our aim and ambition are to always exceed the expectation of our valued guests.

We do hope that you will give us another chance when you will be back again in Sihanouk Ville for your next visit.
Please do not hesitate to contact me in person at gm@independencehotel.net

Best regards,


Boun Kean EAP
General Manager - Independence Hotel
Sihanouk Ville, Cambodia
Email: GM@independencehotel.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sverige
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

The great thing about this place is the beautiful rooms and the nice private beach. Unfortunately it ends there. Don't let the friendly smiles and hand palms put together fool you, the service is really bad. When we arrived our room wasn't ready although it was after checkin-time. We had to remind them to clean the room several times. Once we were out of the room from 8 in the morning to 4 pm with the "please clean" sign on the door nob and the room was not cleaned when we came back. When going to the reception to complain I was asked to sit down and wait for the room to be cleaned immediately. After half an hour it wasn't made up yet. At the quite expensive restaurant at the beach we didn't get all the things we asked for even once. We had to remind them of everything. Our daughter got her (undercooked) tenderloin steak 20 minutes after all other food had arrived (including her fries...). Despite all previous comments here on tripadvisor the bed sheets were too small. Two out of three machines in the gym did not function or functioned poorly, and the spa is very expensive 3 times as expensive as e.g its equivalent at our (4 star) hotel in Phnom Penh. But the most annoying thing was that at the nice beach there were not enough sunbeads. If we came down to the beach at 9 am they were all taken. I wonder what the hotel management's priorities are when e.g. the cutlery at the beach restaurant is quite expensive german stainless steel but they can't invest in some more plastic sunbeds? So to conclude, if you go here, don't pay too much and don't expect 4-star service

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sicily_lover_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BKIHGM4, General Manager at Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir, (Sicily_lover_13)

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.

Naturally, we are deeply regretful to hear about the experience you had with our services throughout your stay.
We completely understand your frustration due to the lack of communication and immediate responses with our staff and for the quality of our services.

Your feedback and comments have been communicated to our Restaurant, Front Office, Housekeeping, Spa & Recreation managers and all departments for immediate actions and training.

Once again, we are most thankful that you have taken the time to give us constructive feedback about your stay, as it helps us to constantly improve.

We truly hope that you will return to us during your next visit to Sihanouk Ville, for which I will personally see to that you experience the highest quality of services in our resort.

Yours sincerely,


Boun Kean EAP
General Manager - Independence Hotel
Sihanouk Ville, Cambodia
Email: GM@independencehotel.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
1.4 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#7 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
1.9 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#2 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#3 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#1 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sahaa Beach Resort
Sahaa Beach Resort
#4 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mary Beach Hotel & Resort
Mary Beach Hotel & Resort
#12 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa

Property: Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Address: Street 2 Thnou, Sangkat No: 03 | Khan Mittapheap, Sihanoukville 855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sihanoukville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sihanoukville
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independence Hotel Resort & Spa is an oasis of calm and luxury in Sihanouk Ville, Kingdom of Cambodia - one of the finest locations in South East Asia. Unspoiled sands backed by lush vegetation encircle the hotel. The full delights of the resort, spa and private beach are ready for you to enjoy. Set in the charming tropical beauty of Cambodia's premier beach destination, with 35 hectares landscape and 300 meters of private beach, Independence Hotel Resort & Spa provides you a luxurious refuge that opens out onto breath taking panoramas. Provided 8 differences categories of 128 units, with 3 function rooms, 2 Restaurants and 2 bars. The Volley ball, sunset cruises and kids play-ground are available on the beach. Home of Jouvence Spa: Cambodia's Premier Spa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Independence Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing