We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is like hell!!!”
Review of Yuchengyuan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yuchengyuan Inn
Ranked #38 of 412 Pingyao County B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

When you get there, impossible to find the "hotel" (beware: it's a hostel). The street number doesn't match and the name is not obvious nor consistent --it's misspelled in several ways. Then, our room wasn't ready, at 10:00pm!! We had to wait. The staff is said to be English speaking but they're not! The room was small, no window, some unsafe sliding door to keep us from the nonstop surrounding noise. The bathroom is all in one: you shower on the toilet --literally. Air conditioning water residue leaks from a tube in the bathroom. No water pressure from the tap (which doubles as a shower). On the second day, no more water. Rooms are npt cleaned. Towels are not changed. This was just a nightmare. Plus, the staff tries to cheat you where possible, for instance when buying water: sometimes 2, sometimes 3 yuan. Terrible. Just terrible. I wouldn't advice anyone going there, even if on a budget. There are definitely better hostels out there.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel is conveniently located in the centre of Pingyao. The Rooms are a small although well appointed, if there is no much room for luggage. The courtyard is beautiful and servers s a dinning area for the restaurant. The rooms can do with some TLC and the beds are the thin mattress type (which I find comfortable but it's not everybody's fav). I was most impressed with how quiet and peaceful the hotel is (even when it was busy) and the fact that the staff asks you politely when the room should be cleaned and what you need. Very pleasant experience in a gorgeous place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monstita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed at the Yuchengyuan Inn for 2 nights on our way from Beijing to Xian and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Hostel is a short taxi from the train station (20 Yuan) and easy walking distance to the main streets and the city wall. Our train was delayed so we didn't arrive until 1am, but there was a member of staff there to meet us and show us to our room.
One lady speaks English and was really helpful.

It was quite difficult to find the name off the Inn as it only appears in small writing on a gold plaque.

We didn't eat there, but food is available all around. Beer was 15 Yuan (as opposed to 10 Yuan elsewhere). A kettle was provided in the room.

Our room was right at the end of the courtyards which made WiFi a bit weak, but okay for emails etc. The room itself was amazing - like stepping back in time, the bed was traditional - which means hard! Not much space for baggage and a bit eclectic, too many ornaments and dust-traps for our liking, but it did create a nice atmosphere.
The shower was good, but we did lose hot water one morning - soon rectified by staff.

Overall we enjoyed our stay, and they did provide a complimentary taxi back to the train station.
I would definitely recommend this hostel to others ...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Staff was extremely helpful, considerate and friendly. We speak Mandarin, so that may have helped somewhat in communicating our needs. With a language barrier, things may not go as smoothly, but I do believe that they truly want to make all their guests comfortable and happy. Some of the things they did that made our stay special:

- Free pickup from the train station
- Free drop off at the train station
- Let us use their computer with internet access so we could resolve a serious train ticket problem. Thank goodness this was available, otherwise our trip would have been a disaster!
- We arrived very early (6am-ish) so our rooms were not avail. They stored our bags while we had breakfast and took a short stroll. Came back around 9-10am and could check into our rooms.
- Had a line strung up in the courtyard which they let us use to dry our wash
- We had a very late train departure (midnight), coupled with the normal Noon checkout, that meant 12 hours of not really having a place to rest a bit which is a bit tough with kids (9, 12, 14). The staff was practically apologetic about not having an unbooked room for us to use in the afternoon, so they let us rest for a couple of hours in another house they had down the street. Extremely kind and thoughtful!
- We were there when the proprietress was celebrating her birthday and she even brought over to our table a huge slab of her bday cake to share :-)

The rooms were as others described. Basic, but totally sufficient. I personally liked the firmer beds in China, so the kang bed was quite comfortable. We could have easily slept 2 adults and a child in the bed. The kids loved the courtyard. Sunny, bright and a place to run around a bit and work off the wigglies.

One of our favorite places we stayed at during our 3 weeks in China, largely because of the kind staff and the relaxing atmosphere. Would definitely stay again at the Yuchengyuan Inn!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pearl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Bookable on Booking.com with free cancellation up to 24 hrs before. Guaranteed by credit card but had to pay cash on arrival.

One lady speaks reasonable English, others are a bit hit and miss but friendly.
Arrived at 07:00, allowed to drop luggage. Returned at 09:00, allowed to move into room, so a real bonus.

Room is basic, nice Katang bed which was comfortable, strange setup with shower in the toilet (see attached picture) Water pressure not great but hot water in the afternoon at least. Huge TV which has only Chinese channels, kettle and real tea in a tin.
Power seems to go off at about 22:00 until 08:00 nightly for some reason-Take a torch!

Free Wi-fi is good and some sockets in the room take English plugs.

Courtyard location means noise from tourists or other guests if you are in the room in the day. There's also a water feature which can be an annoying background noise until it gets turned off.

Location is good, just off the main thoroughfares, though "taxis" may not be able to get you to the door as it is inside the pedestrianised area (road is blocked at several points).
Our Taxi did manage though as it was 07:00 AM-Wanted 3RMB -I haggled for 2RMB from the train station. All part of the fun.

Free return to station was offered by host without prompting. Nice gesture as was the late check out of 3PM due to train being at 8PM.Taxi came as promised and was free. Had to carry my bag through a very small alleyway to get to the taxi about 400 yards away. At least the driver did carry my partners bag.
Luggage was "stored" after 3PM(in a corner in front of the bar!) whilst we waited for the later train.
The bar\restaurant area was quiet during this time though.
Did not eat here as menu seemed expensive relative to the other plentiful locations.
Overall a very pleasant stay and I would recommend this to other English travellers.
Visited April 2013

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near the water feature!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ourunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

One of the guesthouses located in an old courtyard house in Pingyao. The staff was friendly and tried to accommodate requests and complaints, some English spoken. Location very central in the main street in Pingyao, but rooms were quiet. Hotel arranged transfer from train station for free when we arrived early in the morning. We could check into our room, but unfortunately this was not clean. Cleaned only later in the day upon request. The shower had to run for quite a while before the water became hot. Breakfast for 30 kuai pp was nice, included eggs and pancake.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Conveniently located on one of the main streets in Pingyao. Very beautiful building and courtyards.The rooms are very beautifully decorated in the old chinese style.The courtyard room we had was very cramped , space taken up mainly by the king size old style chinese bed (very hard as per usual in China) . The bathroom was small but everything worked okay.The staff were very friendly and welcoming ,with some English spoken. The food was good and reasonably priced.
If you want the experience of staying in an old fashioned courtyard inn, and can manage in a very confined space, then this inn is as good as any in town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwl321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pingyao County hotels
Jing's Residence
#1 of 129 in Pingyao County
268 reviews
Pingyao Cheng Jia Hotel
#3 of 129 in Pingyao County
145 reviews
Pingyao Yide Hotel
#1 of 412 in Pingyao County
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yu Feng Heng Hotel
#15 of 129 in Pingyao County
26 reviews
inner old cith
Fly by Knight Pingyao Courtyard
Fly by Knight Pingyao Courtyard
#2 of 16 in Pingyao County
80 reviews
Pingyao Huiguan
#33 of 129 in Pingyao County
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yuchengyuan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yuchengyuan Inn

Address: No.41 Yamen Street, Pingyao County 031100, China
Region: China > Shanxi > Pingyao County
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 412 B&Bs / Inns in Pingyao County
Price Range: £16 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yuchengyuan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Yuchengyuan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing