We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
53
34
13
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
34
13
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews local cuisine old city ming dynasty ancient building boutique hotel noodles mod cons train station beautiful hotel nice experience deluxe room old style kang bed chinese style chinese breakfast period cereal
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

A family trip and first visit to Pingyao.

We loved it. The hotel and city.

A traditional “mansion” converted to a hotel. A very Chinese experience.

We only wish we had more time here.

Excellent location for wandering the market. Quiet at night despite the hustle and bustle on the street.

Discrete, but present security watching the entrance and property.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank kelleher01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

Yunjincheng hotel is an ancient building converted hotel. It’s a unique and yet exciting experience staying there and exploring the ancient city pingyao. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful though can’t converse in English. Breakfast is also very good. Overall it’s a comfortable stay in yunjincheng.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Swee0913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

The hotel is inside the city wall close to the West and North gates. Transportation from and to the HSR station is included in the price which is a plus given the distance to the station.

The hotel is a compound that includes two old houses with courtyards on both sides of the street. The street itself is the main West-East artery of the city which is very lively at all times. Both houses belonged to a rich family and now they are converted into a boutique hotel. The rooms are layed out around courtyards. The whole place including the rooms, courtyards, lobby, etc. maintain the atmosphere of the old times when the houses were built. Being in this hotel is like living in a museum or to be transported to the Tang period.

The room we were was spacious with all the modern facilities to be comfortable, including free minibar and coffee/tea offerings. The bathroom which had only shower but no bath tub was also quite well equipped and comfortable.

The breakfast which was mainly Chinese style was served in a big buffet restaurant with a cooking zone for eggs and noodles. The food was well assorted and good.

The whole place was very nice and quiet, especially at night. The only inconvenience we had was when a group of people were in the tables of the courtyard by our room and chatted very loudly one day early in the morning. There were signs around asking for people to be quiet but it all depends on how respectful people are.

We had dinner one night at the hotel lobby. Sitting on the benches by the window and looking people go by while having dinner was actually a quite nice experience. The food was very good and you could enjoy a discount being guest of the hotel.

The staff was very nice and the manager Ms Wong also gave us a short tour of the hotel explaining us some history of the houses the day we checked out. Quite a good memorable experience indeed.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HOKito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

A great boutique hotel in the center of the old city . Rooms are excellent, beautifully decorated with all amenities. Bed is traditional Shanxi bed on a high platform with small table in the middle of it ....grounds are beautiful, with inner patios all decorated with flowers . Old style lobby very nicely furnished. Good breakfast, mainly Chinese food but also some western dishes . Great place to enjoy this remarkable old city . Transportation only by electric cars from outside of the old city .

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Gidons51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It's magical to stay in a mansion. Breakfast is 07:30-09:30, and there is a wide choice of food and drinks. We were in room 242 and it was spacious and perfect.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews