We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming guesthouse very well located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dejuyuan Folk-style Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dejuyuan Folk-style Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 373 Pingyao County B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Charming guesthouse very well located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Located in the centre of the old town Pingyao, this charming guesthouse is an authentic old Chinese house. It has a nice courtyard where you can relax and enjoy your dinner. Our room was "basic" but confortable with all you need. You can quite easily communinicate in English with the staff who is kind and helpful. There is also a restaurant with traditional Chinese food which is good and not pricy at all.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    34
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
34
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

We had a lovely two-day (took the overnight train from Beijing which arrives at 7:30 a.m.), one-night stay at this courtyard hotel recently. The food was very good, probably easy to say the best we had while in Ping Yao, and it was not overpriced. The staff are very accommodating, very friendly, even meeting us at the train station to bring us to Ping Yao which was nice (it would have been a looonngg walk). What I liked best about this location is that it's not on the main (center) street in the middle of the city but still where the action is (without the noise, still in the pedestrian-only area of town). The only thing we didn't like about Ping Yao is that you have to buy a 150 (adult)/75 rmb (student) ticket to see anything in the city. And just be careful—once you've done something you can't go back. Really all we wanted to do was explore the wonderful intact city walls but we didn't realize we couldn't do that more than once; had we known we would have stayed up a lot longer. So just beware when you go that you can't see anything without the ticket and you can't do anything more than once. (We passed on the temples—we've seen a lot of temples while living in China and with most temples if you've seen one you've seen them all.....) I only give it 4 stars because it was expensive ($50+) for what you got—a basic room and basic bathroom; yes there's hot water but everything in the room is wet after your shower. There's nothing in the room so it seemed expensive for what we got. And the pillows are made of some kind of bean, so since I had my own pillowcase I just put one of the fluffy pillows from the chair on top of the bean pillow within my pillowcase & enjoyed a great night's sleep!

Room Tip: Our girls enjoyed the two-story style room; all are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllenRZ61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level Contributor
168 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

We arrived in Pingyao on the overnight train from Xi'an at 6 in the morning. We walked to the guesthouse, enjoying the quiet of the city. Of course I didn't expect our room to be ready at that early hour (and it wasn't), but thought we would drop off our bags anyhow.

Upon entering, the lovely young attendant offered us a temporary room where we could wash up and rest a bit, and said that breakfast would be offered a bit later on. Our room, with two big beds and some other furniture, located on the second floor, was available at noon.

The friendliness of the owners and staff at this guesthouse and their genuine care for their visitors was so apparent. The whole place just had such a nice, warm cozy feel to it. Our air conditioned room was very comfy and quiet and we slept well and enjoyed nice hot showers. The food served was amazingly good, we had two of our best meals in China there and wished that we were staying for more days so that we could try more of their choices. They have an awesome expresso bar with great coffee.

On our walk down South Street we noticed a De Ju Yuan restaurant, and when asking the guesthouse owner about this, she said yes it was her sister's restaurant. So I am sure that the cooking there would be just as tasty.

Highly recommended. I booked a superior room, using Agoda.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pumpermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed 3 nights here during a visit to Pingyao and found it to be exactly what we had hoped for in Pingyao. An authentic courtyard house that has been tastefully converted into a guesthouse with clean, comfortable and well-maintained rooms. The family who owns and runs this guesthose are extremely nice and helpful and really helped make our stay great. They went out of their way to help us with some tricky ticket issue we had with the trains. Overall service was top-notch and personal. We ate at the restaurant several times and the food was good and the wait staff very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Central location in old Pingyao along one of the main streets. The guesthouse is clean and the rooms are cosy. There is a very nice courtyard that is also used for the inhouse restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeppeJ_SWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
232 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We just came back from Pingyao and enjoyed our stay at Dejuyuan. We went with our 3 kids and had 2 of the smaller room in the first courtyard, though we could have easily fit into one of the big rooms with the wall to wall bed. The room was small but clean and the linens were nice and crisp. the pillows are of the 'beanie' kind...not the best! We only had breakfast there and it was fine, though the omelettes were pretty greasy. coffee is 25rmb...pricey but the average in this town. The staff was nice and some spoke English. they organized a driver for us on 2 occasions. Overall, a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Room 1 and 2 are small but on the main/front courtyard. You can fit 3 people or families in the bigg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IlariaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We enjoyed our two day stay in this ancient Guesthouse. The room was located on the quiet rear courtyard and we found it was clean, comfortable and furnished with traditional furniture. Some of the front staff spoke English and were very helpful with writing directions in Chinese to assist us getting around. The Guesthouse is right in the middle of the busiest part of the walled City. There are plenty of restaurants near the Guesthouse however there is no need to leave the premises as the food is very good and reasonable value. Try our favourite meal Chicken and Coriander.

Room Tip: A room fronting onto the rear courtyard is a bit quieter than the front courtyard area because of it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pingyao County hotels
Pingyao Cheng Jia Hotel
#2 of 110 in Pingyao County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Yunjincheng Mansion
#1 of 110 in Pingyao County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Pingyao Yide Hotel
#1 of 373 in Pingyao County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian Yuan Kui Hostel
#3 of 16 in Pingyao County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Jing's Residence
#1 of 16 in Pingyao County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
inner old cith
Fly by Knight Pingyao Courtyard
Fly by Knight Pingyao Courtyard
#2 of 16 in Pingyao County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dejuyuan Folk-style Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dejuyuan Folk-style Guesthouse

Property: Dejuyuan Folk-style Guesthouse
Address: No.43 West Street, Pingyao County 031100, China
Region: China > Shanxi > Pingyao County
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 373 B&Bs / Inns in Pingyao County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dejuyuan Folk-style Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dejuyuan Folk-style Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing