We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A amazing stay at Hoshinoya Karuizawa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HOSHINOYA Karuizawa
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A amazing stay at Hoshinoya Karuizawa”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in Hoshinoya Karuizawa where the room is exactly as the photos posted in their websites. The premise is quiet and clean especially when it was not crowded with people. I extremely like to spend some time @ their library where u feel relax to enjoy cups of complimentary drinks and snacks. We joined the nature watching and enjoyed it very much. With an mountain and forest so close, we definitely enjoyed the peaceful environment very much. All the staff are young and cheerful, but some lack of experience and could not provide information. We stayed within the premise during our stay there, so no problem with the non frequent bus to train station.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyLeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    83
    28
    13
    17
See reviews for
119
106
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Arcadia, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

What you'd expect of an old school Japanese resort. Clean, tranquil, but kind of blah. The food was excellent.

Like all Japanese hotels, you get top notch service at Yoshinoya. It's actually not that far from Tokyo, but getting to it (taxi to Shinkasen, the train ride, then shuttle to the resort) is kind of tiring.

Room Tip: Visit the small onsen in the back....there's a completely dark onsen and that was pretty cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsaoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This is the place. Sure, the price is steep. But Hoshinoya has become one of my most memorable and cherished stays. We went in early summer and the weather was perfect for us. Early morning walks around the extensive property were rewarded with the gentle tweeting of a multitude of birds, along with sightings of ducks, butterflies, dragonflies, frogs, fish and beautiful flowers. When you wake up and walk out onto the deck overlooking the water, fresh cup of tea in hand, and you breathe in the crisp, clean country air, you'll understand. Utter tranquility and beauty await.

The restaurant on the property was first-class. Exquisite dining in kaiseki style with fresh local ingredients - to die for! With large panoramic windows overlooking the beautifully manicured grounds and water features, you're sure to enjoy breakfast and dinner here. Upstairs there is a library, featuring the same wonderful views, with books, newspapers and magazines in English and Japanese (perhaps some others too), along with super comfy sitting areas. Free coffee, tea and snacks are available 24/7 here as well.

Next to the property is a park with some nice hiking available. We took a rather short, 40 minute hike, but longer courses are available. There is some moderate elevation gain, but the trails are well marked and easy to follow. Lots of birds again, and a nice open field with views of Mt. Asama in the distance. Highly recommended.

The onsen here is quite nice, and interesting. The 'Meditation Spa' is reserved for guests only, and features a sauna, cold plunge, and two baths, one of which (at night at least) is utterly dark. A bit spooky, but once your eyes adjust to the dark, you'll see that it's quite relaxing. I didn't try this bath during the day, so I'm not sure how dark it is then. There is also a relaxation area and the spa is adjacent to this. We didn't try any spa treatments.

The other, open to the public bath, called Tonbou no Yu, was very beautiful. The public can enter (for a fee) after 10AM, so it's advisable to get there before then. There are very large outdoor baths here, and of course an ample indoor one as well. Another sauna and cold bath are available here as well, and with dragonflies and birds (again) zipping around, it makes for another excellent, relaxing experience. N.B. if there is a line of people (the public) waiting to get into the spa, you can just show your room key and go right in (or in my case, go to the front of the line and get a towel first).

This is the place to come and relax, to enjoy Japanese culture and food, and to reconnect with nature. Highly recommended for couples- I think children may not appreciate the ambiance!


Tips:

Get a unit which is on the water. This will make your stay complete.

Mt. Asama is nearby, and there is an amazing shrine, viewpoint, and walking course there.

Shiraito waterfall is close too, A short walk from the local concessions (peddling delicious farm fresh fruits and vegetables, along with a dose of river-fish Ayu) you'll be rewarded with a very interesting geographic feature

Room Tip: Get a room on the water. Splurge. There's nothing like waking up and shuffling out to the deck o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCKankyoukyaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We spent 2 nights at this hotel.
The reception was good but the check in took time since we needed to take a car to travel between the reception and the hotel.
The room was spacious and clean with a nice view. However, it was not as clean as you would expect for this hotel standard and compared with other ryokan we stayed at (dust on some furnitures, walls were not immaculate). The wooden bathtub and terrace were really enjoyable and relaxing.
The strong point of the hotel are the surroundings: the hotel is in the middle of a forest next to a lake and offers many activities (yoga in the morning, traditional japanese toys and activities for children, bar on the patio in the evening, fireworks, nice shopping center in the middle of the forest within walking distance, SPA and onsen of course). No way to get bored.
The dinner was very good using fresh ingredients from the region.
Also there is a playroom with babysitter that can look after your children while you are having dinner (the hotel even offers have children meal+baby sitter service plan).
The overall service was OK but everything takes time since the staff needs to take a car to bring you anything you might need.
Overall this hotel is a very nice getaway but is not worth the high price. For the same price range, you can find much nicer ryokan in Japan with much better service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jgk_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

One of my most memorable hotel stays.

Accomodation:
Villa style with private balcony, some facing a lake. Futons to fit a family of 4. Well equipped room with boiler, TV, sound system, slippers and yukata.

Hotel:
Great onsen, with a pitch black section, great lounge area with complimentary tea.

Setting:
In a forest. By a stream and villas surrounding a man-made lake.

Onsen:
Great public onsen next door with indoor and outdoor pools.

Shopping:
Small village of shops and restaurants / cafe next door beside a stream.

Transport:
Has hotel minivan or a shuttle bus to the train station.

Drawback:
No wifi in villas. Only in lobby area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank japanlover1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The design of the hotel is just as fabulous as other designs in Japan today. The hotel is very modernized with traditional Japanese aesthetics in the details. I know that the resort area is powered by sustainable energy, which is really nice to enjoy luxury without hurting the environment. We stayed in the Niwaroji (庭路地)room. Although the photos on the official website showed that it got a zen garden in the room, don't know why we only got a barbeque place in Room 108. But still, the whole resort area is beautifully designed. There were two onsen in the resort area. I only tried one, which was the meditation bath with a room of light and a room of darkness. It was a very special onsen experience that you can never have at other places. The library provided complementary traditional Japanese snacks and drinks that you can spend your evening there after dinner. I tried the hot pot dinner at Harunire Terrace which tasted good and reasonably priced. The terrace also got other shops but didn't have time to explore. Staff were helpful, especially Ms. Lisa who took care of us. She spoke very fluent mandarin even better than me. Even though I could not speak mandarin, she made the conversation much smoother. Hoshinoya is a luxurious Japanese experience not to be missed for everybody, especially the Japan travel beginners who cannot make themselves easy at the first time in the really traditional Japan ryokan or people who simply love modern Japanese design.

Room Tip: Room 108 does not have the zen garden but a barbeque place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacklyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights here.

Whether one likes or dislike this property really depends on your preference. And I can understand why there are mixed reviews.

The property appeared vast when I arrived and you can feel slightly lost as the hotel staff tried to explain to you the different facilities in the car (yes...they drive you from the reception to your "villa"). But after spending a day here, you would feel much more at home. Check-in could take sometime as they transport each guest from the reception to the room by car.

I stayed in one of the river view rooms. It offers a nice view (and sound of river flowing) but the downside is that there is less privacy as people on the pathways can see inside the room. I also found the shape of the room slightly awkward as it is long rectangular shape. It is comfortable nonetheless.

We ate at Kasuke on first night and at the Yukawatan on the second night. Both were fabulous and the service top notch. Highly recommend.

At this time of the year (early April) the scenery is a bit stark, trees have shedded their leaves the new flowers haven't yet blossomed. I sure winter, autumn and summer would be more picturesque. If I do come back, I should choose a different time of the year.

I also took the free bicycles and cycled to the nearby shops. A bakery serves good croissant and coffee.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karuizawa-machi hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Harvest Kyu Karuizawa
Hotel Harvest Kyu Karuizawa
#1 of 61 in Karuizawa-machi
319 reviews
3.0 mi away
Karuizawa Prince Hotel East
Karuizawa Prince Hotel East
#5 of 61 in Karuizawa-machi
335 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Prince Karuizawa
The Prince Karuizawa
#8 of 61 in Karuizawa-machi
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Mampei Hotel
Mampei Hotel
#3 of 61 in Karuizawa-machi
234 reviews
1.5 mi away
Karuizawa Marriott Hotel
Karuizawa Marriott Hotel
#7 of 61 in Karuizawa-machi
50 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cypress Karuizawa
Cypress Karuizawa
#10 of 61 in Karuizawa-machi
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOSHINOYA Karuizawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOSHINOYA Karuizawa

Property: HOSHINOYA Karuizawa
Address: Hoshino, Kitasaku-gun, Karuizawa-machi 389-0194, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitasaku-gun > Karuizawa-machi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Karuizawa-machi
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Karuizawa-machi
#2 Spa Hotel in Karuizawa-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — HOSHINOYA Karuizawa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a richly forested mountain setting 90 minutes and a world away from Tokyo, our showcase retreat provides the ultimate fresh-air escape with award-winning ecotours, acclaimed birdwatching, and healing hot springs. After a day on woodland trails, relax further with seasonal cuisine, spa treatments inspired by Zen precepts, and a cypress-bath soak in the privacy of your spacious guestroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your HOSHINOYA Karuizawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoshinoya Karuizawa Hotel Karuizawa-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing